do you stand for peace?

in #rage6 years ago (edited)

9dc21b85-de31-45a9-b88d-3f68682b6dec.jpeg


She raged through my apartment complex, broke windows, BIT, and gave the gardener a bloody nose before being apprehended by the police. She BIT the gardener!!!

Look at my pretty window and my pretty view.

Moments before this photo was taken, the woman raging through my building, breaking glass and screaming obscenities, had pulled my screen off and tore my window open. She had been running through the different floors for a half hour, threatening to shoot, while banging a fire extinguisher against doors. She was fraught with anger.

I was afraid to be near my window. I didn't record a video. I didn't arm myself with a bat, a gun nor a frying pan. Did she really have a gun to shoot? I was too frightened to confirm. Her voice filled the air and was hard to discern her exact location. By the time she was kicking at my door and pulling down tree planters protecting a bedroom window, all I could is hold my breath while I sat still on my couch.

The thought of harming another human was unthinkable to me. I wished I had more training to diffuse dangerous situations. She pushed my window open. A large fan that was standing against my window for extra privacy was grabbed. She folded it and chucked it into my living room.

"DO YOU STAND FOR PEACE?!?!?" She yelled. Her eyes were glassy and angry. She saw I was alone and unarmed.

JNET: "Yes, I stand for peace."

At that moment, she realized I only had my words for her. I was empty-handed.

Her eyes changed. She backed away from my window muttering apologies then turned around to continue her mad tirade against invisible foes. The police came 15 minutes later. The sudden silence had doors slowly opening. A neighbor came to my door with a bike lock for protection.

C: "Are you okay?"

We picked up broken pieces of pottery and went to survey the damages. We were shocked at the strength the woman had to muster to drag all the pool furniture into the pool. She had lifted heavy planters. They were sitting at the bottom of the deep end.

I never thought I would experience a stranger wrecking such havoc in my quiet building. We were all taken by surprise. It was frustrating that it took the police over an hour to show up. None of us knew what to do with the unstable woman. No one wanted to fight a person who was fighting inner demons.

I hope you are enjoying a calm week. And should harm come towards you, I hope they see your peace, apologize, and turn away.

JNET


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

That must have been so frightening for you. Amazing that your energy acted as a shield to her madness.

It was frightening and surreal. My neighbor noted how calm I was though I remember my heart was racing at one point. It saddens me that people are driven to anger and despair to the point of losing themselves into a walking nightmare. Life is spinning out of control for a lot of people....and they are going to clash at an uptick.

I was fortunate to be unharmed. I was told that I followed my instincts wisely to diffuse the situation. At the moment, I didn't know if I was being wise or unwise. I only knew I didn't want to be adversarial. She was a mad woman looking for an enemy.

Life is spinning out of control for a lot of people

It seems as a society we should stop and rethink all of this progress (as they call it) society is doing. It has a feel of losing its humanity in its demands, especially as people are more viewed as resources to be exploited. This with the breakdown in communities (which was predicted as early as 1970 in the book Future Shock) has left many in a position unlike anything i have read about in history.

She was a mad woman looking for an enemy.

Very perceptive way of seeing this. Many would have obliged her once the window was broken.

I hope she is able to discover her place and find the peace she is desperate to know. Perhaps you shocked her enough with your response she will be able to reflect on this and do so.

I need to check out Future Shock. Sadly, I think the machinery of making humans cogs in wheels has grown strong and powerful. We are more human doings than humans being human. My hope is that there are enough people thinking.

Thinking seems like a novel way to live nowadays. It feels like a lot of people are living by the seat of their pants and winging it each day.

The homeless issue is bursting out the seams in my neighborhood. It's no longer a problem concentrated in the city. Encampments are in the suburbs....next to million dollar properties.

And someone had the foresight to see this day coming almost 50 years ago? I need to check out Future Shock.

The book was actually written based on a premise first introduced in the early 1960's. Here is a link from Wikipedia on it.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Future_Shock

The part that stood out to me as a child when I read it was the disconnect between communities as workers became nomads, essentially turning neighborhoods into dwellings of strangers that had no connections with one another. The technological part escaped me at the time due to my limited life experience to compare what was available before me. Now that I have half a century to view I understand that side of their equation as well.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by JNET from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11