Happy Ramadan – My first time fasting as an interracial couple

in #ramadan6 years ago (edited)


source


There are only few hours more and the holy month of Ramadan will finally start. I and my wife have been knowing each other for several years, and every time in the Ramadan, I spent few days to fast as a experienment as well as to support her and show her my love.

But this time it got serious as I officially converted to Islam, following her religion so I have to properly practice in entire the holy month.

I questioned her about the purposes of fasting during Ramadan, and learnt that this is the time we learn to control ourself, respect each other, feel to the poor, and when I digged deeper in study, I have found that there are many health benefits of fasting such as:

"• Boost your brain.
• Ditch bad habits.
• Lower cholesterol.
• Lasting appetite reduction.
• Detoxify.
• Absorb more nutrients."

Photo and quotes credit to “7 Surprising Health Benefits Of Ramadan” byRealbuzz

Ramadan is not only the month people fast and pray more than usual, but also the month of festivals. There will be many activities, sales promotion, dining offers…

Surprisingly, people who fast doesn’t lose weight but many of them gain a lot more. Because they eat more than usual too before and after fasting. The fast begins around 4am and ends around 7pm. So I guess, my wife will feed me like a haloof ( Moroccan word for Pig )

Iftar : A meal after people finish fasting
Suhoor: A meal before people start fasting

But most of people which is not familiar with Ramadan mostly heard of Iftar
In Ramadan, we greet each other similarly what we say in Tet Holiday in Vietnam, common ones are: “ Ramadan Kareem!” or “Ramadan Mubarak!” which mean “ wish you a blessed and generous Ramadan”

I have been celebrating many times the Ramadan, but this year would be specially different with a different role, a husband. Althought I haven’t got any chance to visit Morocco which is my wife’s place, but hopefully next ones will be there.

So I wish everyone who are Muslim, expats living in Muslim countries a happy Ramadan!
Ramadan Kareem!



I would like to invite you to join the Dynamic Steemians Discord. There are great loads of tutorials to learn and grow on Steemit. My invitation link: https://discord.gg/TKqEpuy Footer credit to @baa.steemit


Credit to @andynguyen

Sort:  

You got a 20.00% Upvote and Resteem from @ebargains, as well as upvotes from our curation trail followers!

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @ebargains by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 80% of the voting service's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the service's SP pool daily! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

We are also a very profitable curation trail leader on https://steemauto.com/. Follow @ebargains today and earn more on curation rewards!

You got a 3.13% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @adam.tran!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 1.71% upvote!
I was summoned by @adam.tran. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Congratulations @adam.tran! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

This a beautiful thing to see take place! You must fully support your wife and god and this is a very amazing thing to do and it serves god/Allah. I call it god😋 but respect other names given to this benevolent and all encompassing force.

Thank you for your beautiful words :)

Pray for peace in the world

Not sure if you fast, but happy holiday to you and your family too :)

i dont fast but am wishing all my the muslim faithfuls all the best in this holy months. i even made a post today on Ramadan. you can visits my blog to see

It’s beautiful. Thanks!

I did not know how this worked, so thank you for the explanation.
I wish you and your wife a blessed, holy month.

_PYPT-ThanksForSharing.png

I was pleased to be a part of Pimp your post Thursday this week. Thank you too!

Thank you my friend! Wish the same to you!

Thank you so much for sharing about this. Ramadan mubarak!! 💖

Lovely! Thank you too for encouraging!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70463.21
ETH 3549.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.87