An Average Persons Prospective about Steem, The Blockchain

in #ramble5 years ago (edited)



Make a new specialized front end for the Steem Blockchain and they will come.

SMT's will save the day!

Tokens! Tokens will make everything better.

Investors! We need big investors. They will surely save the day.



Average person: I want to write, make videos and do my hodgepodge of posts on Steem(it). I want to meet interesting people that I can relate to from reading /watching their posts. I don't want to be put in a nitch and made to stay there.

If I try out a new game, I don't want to spend my hard earned money/Steem to see if I like it. I don't want to feel I need to take a college course in order to feel like I belong on Steem and am heard.



Who do you think you are? You are asking the world of Steem/crypto to cater to your measly needs. Think again.

I'm just an average person. One of the billions from around the world.

You didn't answer my question! Why are you important?



I am a drop of water in an ocean.

I am a blade of grass in a field.

I am one star in the universe.



There are MORE average people in the world than not.

The average user, me, if they came here now, would read how dysfunctional Steem is from its own users and leave. Why learn something new when they don't understand about Crypto or know what it is? Here lies the discrepancy.

Steem needs billions of average people to grow. All the wonderful projects being built on top of the Steem Blockchain will slowly go away if they don't start catering to the billions of average users.



Let's look at how Facebook grew into what it is today.

They made it mainstream once average people, the parents of the kids that were already on Facebook, started using it. Facebook became an easy way to keep track of family members. Microblogging one could say.

Facebook, in the next phase, had addicting games that you could play for free. The gaming companies started charging for 'extras'. The extras didn't make or break the game. They made your game look better or saved you time.

Gaming companies, Indie, and Corporate were making millions. Average people like cool looking things and don't have a lot of time.

Facebook saw all the money the gaming companies were making and got greedy wanted their piece of the profits. They started charging the game companies outrageous amounts of money to stay on their site. Many wonderful Indie games left. The companies that stayed had to charge the consumer. The first down tread of Facebook. People started leaving in droves after they received their first credit card bill.

It should be noted that Facebook was preset to make everything you did on their site public knowledge. In order to make your page private, you had to spend more than a few hours reading and learning. Those that cared to, took the time to learn. Those that didn't care, could still use Facebook and shout to the world that they played FarmVille eighteen hours a day.

Facebook didn't care either way. They had millions joining their web site and spending money. Why would you look down at those that are buying you homes that are worth hundreds of millions of dollars? You wouldn't.



The Steemian @Nonameslefttouse wrote a great post about marketing Steem(it) called How Much Have You Spent on Entertainment in Your Lifetime? in response to @berniesanders post Voting on Others Will NOT Save Steem. Nonameslefttouse's post is well worth the read. It will get your brain thinking beyond your front door.



Final thoughts.


The average person is more important than the elite of Steem seems to realize.
Very short-sighted if you ask me, the average user.



Make someone smile today. It can not hurt you.


Love,

Snook



All photos can be found here



Steem Witness's I support

Enginewitty!, Steemgigs!, Jackmiller!, Guiltyparties!, C0ff33a / Deranged!

The STEEM Engine

NUEVO.gif

Sweet footer made by @enginewitty!

Sort:  

Two thumbs up!!

Common sense. Rare as hen's teeth. Either this place listens -- or it's dead.

Thank You!!
let's hope someone hears.....

LOUDER FOR THE PEOPLE AT THE BACK!

actually the people at the front need to read this.

This is golden, thank you for sharing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank You!!!
at least now I know it was worth writing LOLL
HUGS

I defintely want more applications, more niches, the tokenization of the internet. To me its like facebook groups - these are just corners of the very same facebook. Steemit is where you go to see everyone shouting that they are playing farmville drugwars too much, but another front end will not show those. I know you made two more facebook accounts for a reason ;p

There is a lot of work to do with the user interfaces, which is where the users come in, but getting applications built on steem is for the users. We choose where we log in, what we want to see, and with what we want to be rewarded. Soon, by using special tags, we will be getting special tokens (its already true on weedcash and actnearn).

I do agree we need like a glossary. STEEM is infrastructure, and steemit was built on it. Steemit team seems like they are working really hard lately on steemit (and also still doing steem stuff). Our crazy, kooky community is still here, even if some of them choose to hide in their own 'niche'.

I don't see a way around it, building and development is what happens with infrastructure (if there is no building and development, your infrastructure has lost its purpose). But I do agree with you, personally, that I want the everything drawer - I like to see and try everything.

Loading...

i feel that steem should first be a place for people that don't know a lot about crypto but want to learn and try (and ofcourse they are not traders or crypto whatever so they also have a community of whatever they are into)
It is early here so i don't want to search but i think i joined FB around 2006-2007 and i found 1 person that i knew. So i had an acc for i think at least 3 more years and it was just there. And they started 2004. so 6-7 years they were just another website.
But all the Average Person things that you wrote are on the spot.

Thank you for your great comment and stopping to read my post.
Yes, it will take time but if we stay too quiet about how we feel then how will anyone know.

Have a wonderful day!

Finally LOVE 💙 ♩♬

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank You!!! <3

Most welcome ! :) @snook 💙

Posted using Partiko Android

곰돌이가 @bluengel님의 소중한 댓글에 시세변동을 감안하여 $0.003을 보팅해서 $0.020을 지켜드리고 가요. 곰돌이가 지금까지 총 5149번 $57.597을 보팅해서 $65.513을 구했습니다. @gomdory 곰도뤼~

고마운 곰도뤼~💙

Posted using Partiko Android

I think it comes across that way because they have no idea what the vision is and what will bring value.

They know code, so that is what they play with.

Really if it is going to have a social media side, it takes more than code, that is a hard pill for some of our code knowledgable stakeholders to swallow.

So, this is what we are likely to continue to receive.

sadly, I agree with you.

Average but surely unique 😘 YOU!

I'm average and I might not do what all people love abs might not have the best payouts or be the most popular one.

But I found my place and what I'm passionate about... And THAT is what keeps me going and still being here after almost 2 years.

The people I've met here... Like YOU ❤️ have made my life much richer... I've grown, learned lot about myself and I've found my way of writing.... No planning just let the heart write... Lol

I'm happy when people like what I do, why n they can relate.. Or just makes them smile.... No payout can replace that feeling... Lol

I might be a small fart bubble in this Big ocean... But OHH what a loud Bubble that is 😂😂😂 hahaha

As always great thoughts and I LOOOVE who you are ❤️🤗❤️

Posted using Partiko Android

You know how proud I am of you and how far you have come!!!
You don't ever change. Please.
HUGS

This is one AWESOME blog post! I really liked your comparison of Facebook... I see the same pattern in popular mobile games that kids are playing these days... They are free, but skins, upgrades cost money... And there are only TAKING the money... But, I think that that will change very soon... Steem Monsters is the first step on STEEM, we just need others to follow...
And... average person on STEEM now has a lot of possibilities what to do on the blockchain... and those possibilities grow every day more and more..

Thanks again for this great post!
Cheers!

They are free, but skins, upgrades cost money...

yes and they make tons of money LOLL

and you are very welcome!! Thank you for stopping by and your great comment!!

My feeling is that in a few hardware generations you should be easily able to run your own Condenser on your Desktop, with settings available to have the blockchain displayed to you as you, so, desire. Flag wars don't interest you? Turn off Flag Recognition. You get the idea....

You get the idea....

waiting, waiting, waiting for the hardware upgrades :D

:D

I can hear the voice of the rising class. Isn’t about each one on it’s own. Not about you. It’s about them. Together we are the entire ocean in a drop. DCorporation is a communal hive. I can feel uplifting power in your post. Thank you for sharing.

Thank YOU for reading and your great comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89