The tale of Flipstar´s dummy day

in #rambling6 years ago

I spend the last 2 hours trying to recover my account.

5957662.jpg

Suddenly the password did not work anymore. I am not 100% sure why this was the case though. But what I think what happened is that I updatet my password manager with a wrong password.

Kind of an scary experience if you loose control over your account and your steem.

The control over my steem I got back through Vessel, so that was a big relief that my steem will not be lost.

I would have to power down and make a new account.

Wow...that would suck as well!

Like a lot

I have a txt file were I save all my passwords. I keep the old ones as well...not really sure why but you never know.

So I get my USB stick were I save the file and the password does not work.

"Maybe another one"

"This one?"

Well.....shit!"

I remember I have another copy of this stick and check this out were I find the same file but with 1 password more. And of course this is the correct one.

I feel super relieved and like a dummy

A friendly reminder

What we embrace, to really hold our money/value not by a third party but by ourselves brings responsability.

Take care of your shit

After that, I know I will keep my backups updatet and a bit more extra care. It would not be the first time you read from someone loosing access to his steemit account or sending funds to the wrong adress because of a lack of attention.

Sort:  

but they won't tell you 😔 @peekbit

That is a nightmare scenario!
I probably would have had a heart attack and or stroke.
Super glad all is good now.
Comence bonding:

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

I had a scare the other day too. The number of ex passwords I have is getting a bit uncomfortable...

yeah time to clean up

that would suck sooooooo bad to have to start over.

also with the steem gone

Losing your password is like losing the key of your house. I think there is a site out there that can keep track of all your passwords for you. But then again the NSA does a good job as well. That's quite a story thank you for sharing

yeah kind of the same, except I can crush a window at my house. cant crush my lapotop to get access again

Ultimate stress dude!!

We have all been there in one way or another, glad you found it back though. the best thing will be keeping it organized in 10 places in the end I guess hahahha

Yeah, was defenitly a learning experience

Oh boy. I am glad you got it back 🔥

Wow. Stressful. My computer crashed hardcore when I was in Uruguay earlier this year. I was lucky to reinstall windows with out losing any data. Took me days to get things straight. I broke out in a rash from the stress and it all but ruined my time in Uruguay. Happy you got things sorted brother.

You going to be in Thailand again this winter. My new girl and I made an abrupt change of plans and decided South East Asia over South America for the winter. Maybe we can meet up this time.

Dame...I was lucky it were only 2 hours.

I am pretty sure I will be there in winter. Always enjoy meeting steemians.

scary shit right there!

luckily got sorted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73