What is you biggest fear as a Steem investor?

in #rambling5 years ago

Over the time I bought quite a bit of Steem.

Why?

Good question, I am happy you asked!

In my time hear, I made decisions driven by greed, the need to change the world, hope, stupidity and many other things.

This shows in the times, I had everything delegated to other users, tried to post 2 times a day or was sitting in the corner cursing.

Now, I would call myself a veteran in the steem-world.

The rise of dapps we have seen in the last couples of months, was new to me, too. Well...it was new to everyone.

I don t want to go into too much detail because I think this deserves a post of its own, but I feel screwed by some of those dapps.

The headline asks what is your biggest fear as a Steem inverstor.

Mine is we got screwed too often.

I think with delegations we have a strong tool for startups.

We can support them with our Steempower. But also we control them with our Steempower.

If you invested into a "tradional" ICO, you are often stuck with their decisions, as long as the token is not listed, then of course you can just sell if you dont agree.

No exchange=no chance to cash out

Your ETH is stuck there

With delegations however, you are always free to withdraw/undelegate.

The problem is you just using the reward pool to fund the project but still, it gives the investors a lot of security.

Not happy how the projects develops?

Undelagate

Not enough updates?

Undelagate

The project decides to have kind of a coin split without splitting early investors coins?

Undelagate

It gives the investors much more of a voice as you are not funding the project once but it is an ongoing funding, so it is in their best intrest to not fuck their investors over.

As mentioned for the project this can be bad if they have to make unpopular decisions but is it not similar in the stock market?

Communication, what and why you do x and not z because really important and as an investor I like that.

Well...I got a bit carried away from my actual topic but I feel this is shitty post is too long already and I can write here what I want anyway so....not changing anything.

Enjoy your weekend and cu on the other side

Sort:  

Great post to start da weekend. As you eluded to, Steem affords great investor freedom with wide ranging flexibility unseen in other ICOs and even publicly traded stocks. Going back to your initial thought before appropriately tangenting (is that a word?); I'm not as plugged in as others, or as I would like, but my concern or hope is for the need for greater transparency, communications, dissemination of information from the witnesses, Steemit, etc. This makes us legit, differentiates us from other coins, etc… I think you hit on some of these issues before. Yes crypto is unregulated, however as with large shareholders or stakeholders, there is a certain level of inured responsibility on behalf of the rest of the stakeholders, for the common good, for whatever upside, which should be mutually beneficial. Back to my drinks... have a great weekend @flipstar.

I came from my drinks when I wrote this :-)

Somehow crypto seems more complicated sober

I supported many projects, delegated, upvoted, gambled, you name it. I have a big bag of useless coins and dead or scammy projects. I can't even keep track of all.
I'm thinking about abandon all activities except posting and upvoting on steemit.
Just collecting steem.
But I'm afraid that at the end steemit will do the same as every project until now. Change rules or bail out.

I think I will try to hold my horses a bit more as well. If those projects succeed then steem will do as well.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think before using any dapps we must investigate who created it so that we can get awareness if that will be useful or just a scam @flipstar
I have no fear as a steem investor because I think steem will going to outlive me.

I think we are so early that almost every dapp is a good one.

Kind of... of course total scams are always bad

My fear is that steem becomes overlooked by investors due to relative low market cap. So far we move up and down with markets but it would be better if we somehow get near the top 20 again.

"We can support them with our Steempower. But also we control them with our Steempower.

If you invested into a "tradional" ICO, you are often stuck with their decisions, as long as the token is not listed, then of course you can just sell if you dont agree."

As plane as day, but never really thought about. Found your article very interesting and always appreciate the share. As an investor with major steem power, I can imagine you must feel some ownership of the platform and project besides just ownership of the coin.

I'm now in Bali. Canggu. Rated number one digital nomad spot in the world and so far I'm loving it. Surrounded by my kind of people. Only thing is it's bit rainy here compared to Koh Phagnan where I spent the last couple months. However they say the rainy season is ending right around now. Also the traffic is horrendous.

Have you been to Bali? if so how do you like it? Wait wasn't this the first thing you asked me almost two years ago. Thailand or Bali?

Hope you have been well and thanks for supporting my efforts here as always! Have a great day! -Dan

I was in canggu as well. Trained at bali mma. Good place to live life for sure

Posted using Partiko Android

That is so cool you know all about this place. Very good for living indeed! Have a great day! -Dan

I’ll be sure to meet ya on the other side 😉😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Should be fun there

Posted using Partiko Android

Biggest fear is that everyone thinks steem is steemit and we don't hit mass adoption.

I think that is the Status we are in atm.

Hopefully not foever

Posted using Partiko Android

I have to admit that I am most annoyed by scammy games.
That is why I di not jump on drug wars and the whole dice industry.
Hopefully all will turn out well.
Resteemed :-)

I am fearful of compete collapse and that is about all. Yesterday Steemit was unreachable for the entire morning and while it did come back (I confirmed it wasn't just me on isitdown.com - presuming that actually works) and it kind of opened my eyes to ... "what would happen if it simply didn't come back online?"

I think the ddos attack showed also the Power of steem as only steemit was down but one could still access through partiko or eSteem fe.

That everything goes to Zero is a concern of me as well but I think it is very unlikely

Posted using Partiko Android

this is true. I posted that morning from Partiko - and that is the only time I have ever done that. I quite like their interface with the formatting much better than in here tbh. However, I hate typing with my thumbs so I am unlikely to use it for that in the future.

Check out eSteem. They also have an Desktop client. I am not really a Fan of writting on my phone also

Posted using Partiko Android

Biggest fear for me has to be the infighting ruins the platform. There can be so much drama on here at times.

Posted using Partiko Android

I am sure this will never go away

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88