If you ever wondered about the indian head bobble

in #random5 years ago (edited)

Interesting interview lol. Video by Asian Boss.

Sort:  

My mom an American former school teacher had an Indian student back in the day who was top of the class, but when it was time for the parent teacher conference my mom told her mom that her daughter is super smart but seems to be unsure or give body language that says no. The students mom then had to school my mom on the bobble and that she has been saying “yes, can, confirm” all this time 😂

I now naturally do it being mainly around Indians at all times.

Let’s go deeper tho and discuss all the different forms of “ah” different different inflections mean subtlety different levels of yes or can even be a question. This is an Asian wide form of communication at least in Malaysia 🇲🇾

I don’t know Tamil or mandarin or hokkien but I do know manglish in its various stylings. Can ahh? It goes up its a question but rhetorical due to contextual clues. So pandai one

Posted using Partiko iOS

Growing up in klg, it's almost second nature now haha. I think the versions of ahh is quite commonplace across languages.. just not "ahh" lol.

I think the only proper reply is "yezzah"

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61645.58
ETH 3013.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71