Random Japan #52 :: Here Comes the Suns (& win 1 SBD—details inside)

in #randomjapan6 years ago

Welcome, beautiful and amazing human beings. We are up to issue 52 of Random Japan, that random look at the real side of Japan, the good and the bad and the ugly or daily life in this country.

The standard contest rules apply today as everyday: gimme an upvote, a resteem, and a quality comment about your favorite photo from this post and you will be entered in the drawing for 1 SBD.

Ready for the photos? Let’s go. Let’s jump into another entry in…

Random Japan

Here Come the Suns
Here Come the Suns

Nothing says flowers like daisies.

Wide_Head.jpg
Wide_Head.jpg

Another face for my Faces project.

Down the Narrow Street
Down the Narrow Street

Yes, it’s a street and not an alley. Streets in Japan tend to be narrow as a rule. Even the smaller Japanese cars often have trouble getting down the road. When another car is coming from the opposite direction, both cars have to get as far over as possible and do a small dance to get by each other.


That’s all folks. Thank you for reading. Remember, if you want to be entered in the drawing for 1 SBD, leave a quality comment, upvote, and resteem this post. Drawing will be in 7 days when this post pays out.

Be sure to come back again tomorrow when, if prosperity allows, I shall return for another entry in Random Japan. See you then.

If you like this random photo from Japan, be sure to check out @kaliju’s great Random Korea series. The latest entry there is Random Korea #27 - Presentation of the Fermentation

Also be sure to follow @kafkanarchy84, @maxinpower, @boxcarblue, and @wllmdnnd for even more random Japan fun! @jrvacation has the occasional randomjapan post too. Also, be sure to follow the #randomjapan tag for more from Japan and #randomasia for random shots from the entire area.

Are you a Japan-based or Asia-based photographer who posts somewhat random photos from the country? If so, use the tag #randomasia, and #randomjapan (or randomASIANCOUNTRYYOUAREIN) on your posts. Also, join our Discord group. DM me on Discord for a link to the server.

Do you want to use this photo in one of your projects?
You can! See here for details.

Missed a past Random Japan? I’ve got you covered!

Index Posts
Recent Posts

37. Float On
38. God Likes Clean Hands
39. The Thunder Rolls
40. Buddha’s Noodles
41. The Old Sea Dog
42. Through the Eyes of a Child
43. In The Shadow of Fujisan
44. Boys Day is Expensive
45. Strange Names
46. R is for Rice Ball—That’s Good Enough for Me!
47. The Train of Sun City
48. Sake Hair
49. You Must Choose Wisely

Hi there David LaSpina is an American photographer lost in Japan, trying to capture the beauty of this country one photo at a time.
Sort:  

If not for the clay tile roof, that third pic could be anywhere in the USA. (do those clay tiles have a name? are they the same as the Spanish tiles that some southern/Mexican style homes have in USA or other countries?)

I do wish we could outlaw chainlink fence. I've yet to see it look beautiful unless covered in vines.

They aren't exactly the same as the Spanish-style ones, but close enough. There are several different styles. The basic one is called kawara, which I guess would just be translated as "roof tile". Other styles add various prefixes to that basic name.

Agreed about chainlink fences. Actually they don't seem to be very common here these days, but you still do find them here and there, such as in the above photo.

I’ve been advised stop resteeming! Anyway, you won me over on the daisies, and a cheerful splash on my blog is always nice. :)

Hi @linnyplant ! Is there a post discussing this? could you elaborate why you have come to this conclusion? Doesn't re-steeming help others find quality content? But I can see how, if you find something interesting and re-steemit, your followers may get annoyed if it doesn't fit their interests as well.

@booster, First one is my favorite! I usually prefer color as it expresses life more naturally. B&W photo's are good to create old photo looks or portraits, to my taste - which both of your B&W shots show. But in this case the color is just too juicy to not like it :D These days people go for that foggy matte look (you Know what I'm talking about?) and it's overdone, so I prefer the full color vividness of slightly up-saturated photos.

@kaliju I used to get that vibe from monochrome photos too, but the more I studied photography and the more I took monochrome shots myself, the more I developed a love for it. Color is distracting. That isn't good or bad, and it might be beautiful good in some cases, but it is still distracting. When we remove it we are left with more true seeing. It is absolutely shoshin (beginners mind) in many ways. But anyway, it is a look you have to get used to. But occasionally I want the full saturated experience, so I go full color. I think those flowers called for that.

Hey @kaliju , resteeming is great, but maybe not when you’re me who doesn’t post much and drown out my very few posts. :) I came to steemit to showcase my writing, to have somewhere to point people to. Someone reminded me not to resteem too much, and I have to agree. Even I can’t be bothered scrolling my own blog to find my own stuff.

Also, it’s not just me who doesn’t like that people I follow to resteem so much that it’s about people I didn’t choose to follow. Some people are curator-types and that’s okay, I followed with that understanding. So it’s just finding a balance that works for me.

I can see that point. I try to limit my resteeming to a few posts a day, but even then it does tend to crowd out what I am posting. Oh well. Steemit is very poorly designed in that regard. They need to add a button to filter out resteems and also a way for us to better showcase our own posts. I try to limit my resteems to posts that are similar to what I post myself—so japan/asia, haiku, poetry, steem, etc.

So it’s just finding a balance that works for me.

Yes, exactly.

BTW, thank you for the resteem :)

If steem ever goes anywhere or I win the lottery, I will have to take my son to Japan. Or who knows when he gets a little older, I will go the teaching route again. It has been awhile. Miss the clean and the closeness of everything and of course the spectacular natural beauty. I do not miss the summer ... too hot. I arrived at the end of July.

Yes, summers here are not fun. Then again, I am from Indiana and summers there are the same... around 100 (30) and very humid. So it's all very familiar to me. Still.... too hot, quite uncomfortable, and not much fun.

That's a good idea. I'm all about untraditional life paths, so the idea of coming to Japan and teaching with your son in tow sounds good to me. My untraditional idea: I would love to buy an RV and just travel around the country with my kids, homeschooling them, seeing the country, and doing Steemit/my photography remotely. Of course I'd love to do that in any country, not just Japan. US or Canada would also be good candidates.

That is a good dream:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30