How does that help?

in #rant6 years ago (edited)
I'm all about discussing the issues, engaging in debates if you will, but I'm still baffled as to some people's crass way of approaching conflict. Meaning, that yes, I understand why they are frustrated or upset, but I don't understand how their "technique" is going to fix it in the slightest.



img src

Bear with me for a second, OK? Let's talk about conflict in general, let's not be exclusive to the cryptosphere which is of course what has most people frustrated at the moment. If I was to have a fight with someone that I cared about, lets say, the boss lady of this house, and I needed to address how I'm feeling hurt, abandoned or what have you. What would be a better way of doing so?

A) Well, you are always acting like a b.... and that's why I'm not happy
B) I feel like you've been ignoring my wishes lately

It does not take a rocket surgeon or a brain scientist to know which one is the right choice. I know it's a lot easier to think of these things, to think of conflict resolution when we boil it down to human relationships but, is it really that different? - Thinking about the emotional dynamics at play, the desired outcomes, the personal needs not met.

I for one have a deep emotional need, hence why I write so much, to express myself. If I did not have this blog, I would be writing things on a napkin, a random piece of paper, building a piece of furniture out of recycled material, a guitar with unusual woods, writing a song with a new instrument, etc. It's my need, if I don't satiate the need I feel lost, depressed and confused.

So, in the world of @meno having an outlet is priority #1, the thing I need to focus on at all times in order to not drive myself insane. With that in mind I do what I can to be effective at it, balanced (not forsake responsibilities), and also work towards the health of my peculiar emotional outlet. I express frustration, I engage in disagreements but always keeping in the back of my mind that I'm looking for the win here, I'm not looking to be right.

Now, if someone believes that being right = winning all the time, then that means that the person making the claim has not hit a wall at 100MPH just yet and requires more life experience. Yes, like that, I'm sorry. Because, I know that anyone who has walked this earth a little longer understands that being right, protecting the ego, talking from a self righteous podium, has absolutely no award ceremony afterwards.

Ok, before you think I'm on @meano mode today a little too much (I am but, I ask forgiveness), let me just say I realize that some of the people reacting in anger have valid reasons to be upset. Meaning that, they could be going through some rough times and they are dealing with it in the best way that they can. Yes, I understand that, I can be sympathetic to it too. What I don't understand is how they have logically worked it through their minds, meaning, how they think the whole thing is supposed to work out in the end.

I trust that most if not all (unless they are a little coco for coco puffs) want cryptocurrencies to succeed, want this little experiment of ours to make it and what not. So, with that in mind, everything they do, or at least most, should be acted upon with that in mind. Or, is that too much for me to expect?

Strawman example.-
Hey listen... I know we need to cross the dessert and what not, and I know all we got is this here water jug, so I put some dirt in it and made it taste like crap. Why? Because f... the dessert, this whole dessert thing is BS and you guys trying to cross it with your expensive shoes not thinking about all of us with cheap ones is BS.. so I'll poison all of our water supply!!!

Ok, back to reality, forget about the sun and the dessert and the shoes. I'm just trying out ridiculousness again. If you are a regular reader of my crazy blog you might be aware with that tendency.

Anyways my friends, don't let the negativity beat you down, don't let anything rob you from smiling, putting your best forth and all. Because when it's time to kick the bucket, the only freaking thing you get to keep are memories, and you wanna make sure you collect only the best ones.

Btw... Happy Monday... Can I say that? Is that allowed? Did I break a rule?

• Open Mic Week 97 - Top 5 Selection and Honorable Mentions
• A story about a Fisherman
• If you had an opportunity to talk to an investor about STEEM, would you?
• if only I had some monies...
• Bitcoin Dominance is Cray Cray
Sort:  

spilt water is hard to save.
being right, is the most important thing that there is. sometimes people argue just cos they want to be right when they are not. they think they win in the process.. but in reality they cant but escalate the conflict further and just reveal their illogical thinking habits.
not long ago, i talked with someone... and he just exploded for no reason. its good to back off at those times when people come at you for no apparent reason other than their crooked logic.

@meno, in your opinion, would STEEM's problems be easy to solve for someone who decided to "take it private," like companies sometimes do.

Imagine that someone bought up all $300 million worth of STEEM/SBD and handed you complete control of the network. Would you know what changes need to be made to create a healthy social network?

Forgive me for butting in on your post to ask hypothetical questions about STEEM.

To me the "health" would only come from creating an educational system built into the communities themselves. Meaning, that a different initiatives focused on teaching people about cryptocurrencies, governance and personal finance would go hand in hand with the success of this new ecosystem.

So if you ask me what I would do with said money. Probably scale up helpie into something akin to a school of like, hire teachers, create incentives to learning and spawn community leaders from there that in turn would take care of their localized communities and continue the message forward.

Granted, sounds like world peace, but that's just because in many ways it can be.

Now, if the question comes from.. How would a company make the most money? then... well, that is kind of already happening with some of the behaviors on the platform, and it would not be that hard to imagine it at a gargantuan scale.

I'm of the idealistic thought that we can't solve the problems of the world unless we have enough critical thinkers in positions of leadership.

If someone took STEEM private and handed you the keys, you would have a lot more than money at your disposal. You would have all the voting power, too. That means that you could, if you wanted to, start by hand picking your favorite witnesses and developers to write the code for the next hard fork.

You could rework the whole system from the ground up. All you have to do is decide what the new rules will be.

Pretend that you have a eager and competent team of developers who can roll out your ideas in an orderly fashion. Assuming that your goal is a self-sustaining social network, what would you have them do?

Ok, professor, this is becoming a post!!! challenge accepted!!

Ok, professor,
This is becoming a post!!!
Challenge accepted!!

                 - meno


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Not just accepted, but accepted with style.

I'm going to put your haiku up on my refrigerator.

Hello Mr Meano. Being courteous doesn't cost one anything. We all know you can't be right all the time with the missus even when we know we are always right.

I was just suggested I should purchase that account... I think its a good move.. hahahha

each individual has a limit of patience, but if possible to fight anger is better. means that if you have passed the normal patience of someone to be angry. @meno

Posted using Partiko Android

You totally need to register Meano for the rants :)
sometimes momentarily negativity can take a toll on us...
I don't usually get angry but I cry a silent tear in frustration because of my super strict fair-code
Sometimes letting of a little bit of steam (NOT STEEM) is good not to build the pressure.

No, we are not never right... we are constantly learning, and making mistakes time and time again... still what I do is to hold my truth without lecturing. So in case I'm wrong on something, I don't try to impose it at least. XD I'm responsible and accountable for my own choices (and mistakes)

a wall at 100MPH

Here we go ..another yank not able to see this world outside of his confines...

Hey Meano..why can't we go 100KMPH...why must you impose your yankee ways on the rest of us...

Furthermore , I would like to note for the record that , you are always acting like a meano...

BRB...gotta take my meds

Hi @meno, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I noticed that @meano doesn't exist on Steem. Did you mean to write @meno ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

checky, I would flag you, but you are not programmed to understand satire... so forgiveness has been granted.

These bots are killing me sometimes. lol.

I think maybe what you might not be considering is that emotions are not logical, that sometimes one persons 'rational' thought does not make one jot of sense to someone brought up with a different perspective on an issue. Neither are wrong. They just do not agree. People from the same culture may have been brought up with incredibly different values, so money might have a vastly different color to it than happiness or common sense. We are each brought up with different skill sets, so its a given that we each have unique coping mechanisms and communication skills that clash or seem totally irrational to another person in a particular situation. What might make perfect sense to one person makes none to another. To believe that peoples definitions of things like "logical", or "kindness" are similar is, to me, incredibly naive. When people have self interest at heart, many things will be seen from a tribal perspective.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73