Rap Thursday - Backseat by Lil Simz

in #rapthursday6 years ago

Lil Simz is easily one of the most promising MCs to grace my ears over the past few years. For this #rapthursday I'm showcasing one of her more recent tunes that showcases her talents on the mic. A hazy low slung beat paves sets the tone for some lyrics that upon multiple listens has significantly more depth than I initially thought. It's actually a rather personal story of dealing the mental health issues that come along with touring and offers an explanation to the state of her health. It's the type of personal storytelling at the heart of rap that I love and I look forward to her star growing bigger over the years.

Sort:  

Yea Simz is fly ... Her music is full of feeling!

I'll admit, I found out about her when Kendrick praised her a few years ago and I'm such a Kendrick fanboy that I had to give her a shot. She's onto something special and her album A Curious Tale of Trials + Persons was full of emotional depth that doesn't get displayed often. I'm not sure if she'll ever break in America since the accent seems to be a turn off to people solely consumed with American hip hop, but I would say with the recent success of people like Stormzy and Big Shaq as well as her feature on recent Gorillaz and Kahlid singles that she stands a shot at crossing over here. Not like it matter though, dope music is dope music to me.

Great post!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71