Reading Makes you!

in #reading6 years ago
Back in my Senior High School days I remember one day during a church services there was a black out and the whole place was so hot. Everyone was sweating and I decided to leave the church house in order to have some air.

Sweating shaman (Reuters).jpg
||Man sweating profusely, taken from Reuters
On my way out one of the senior members stopped me asking, "where do you think you are going ? Without any bit of hesitation I replied " Cant you see I'm sweating profusely?"

As if there was some power in what I said, he didn't say anything further, he just allowed me leave. Then I started asking myself, what the hell does 'profusely' mean? Well, I am not sure I knew what it meant or where the hell I had heard it being used.

4305902086_cdb54c2579_b.jpg
After the service I rushed back to my Longman dictionary and realized I had not committed any malapropism. In deed, I was surprised for I couldn't remember under any circumstance that I ever came across it.

Then weeks later I was reading one story for when I saw it the exact same phrase "sweat profusely" being used and it struck me that this was the source of that vocabulary I had used.

The point I want to put forward today is that you need to master communication if you want to succeed greatly in any field. Whiles there are several ways we communicate with each other, it should be noted that the verbal one is almost the only means of communication we are responsible for. When I say verbal I do include writing.

If you cannot communicate your ideas properly in this very competitive world of today, you will always find yourself wanting.

One of the best ways to improve your language is by acquiring as much vocabulary as possible and there is no better way of doing this than reading. While you can peak vocabulary from movies and other media, reading is irreplaceable if you intend to leave a mark in any field.

Reading does not only improve your language, it also widens your horizon and scope of thinking. Have you ever doubted yourself until you start a writing project and realizing how much you were wrong about yoursef?

Sometimes it might not seem like the book, journal or the article you just read had an impact until one day when you need to apply a piece of it somewhere, you might not remember the source of the idea but trust me, it works.

All the great personalities of the world have/had reading as a habit and even though so much is written of them not going through formal education or having a college degree, nothing is said that they never read. Most of these successful people have their homes turned into libraries. Bill Gate, Mark Zurkerberg, Larry Allison, need I say more?

Thanks for your attention. I encourage you to read your way to greatness, have a nice day and cheers!

Sort:  

Have you ever doubted yourself until you start a writing project and realizing how much you were wrong about yoursef?

Sometimes, it takes some level of courage and trial to realize your worth..... You may never know how perfect you are untill you take a step into realizing it; reading is knowledge and communication even more essential; fail to communicate, and then you see a grat opportunity slip through your fingers

And here she concludes, my newly found crush(lol)...
Communication is everything!

😊 sure it is..... You shouldn't forget to keep an eye on me

I sure will not......

Thumbs up

Your name depicts your attitude, you spread joy...😀👍

Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27