On Practicing Discomfort - A Guide to the Good Life: The Ancient Art of Stoic Joy - Book Club #22

in #reading6 years ago

In my last post on this book I reviewed the stoic strategy known as negative visualization, in this post we will explore an extension of this technique that was popularized by the philosopher Seneca. Seneca’s extension of this technique is to not only contemplate bad things happening, but also to periodically “practice” those bad things.

One of the famous things that Seneca utilized this for was “practicing poverty”:

“We should, that is, content ourselves with “the scantiest and cheapest fare” and with “coarse and rough dress.”


Current Book & Quotes From: A Guide to the Good Life: The Ancient Art of Stoic Joy by William Irvine

 
 



Another philosopher, Musonius, takes this practice a step further. He thinks that we should sometimes actually cause bad things to happen. I’ll preface this by saying that “causing bad things to happen” doesn’t mean causing extreme bad events to happen, it might mean causing a much smaller “bad thing” like allowing yourself to be hungry for a few hours before eating.

“In particular, we should periodically cause ourselves to experience discomfort that we could easily have avoided. We might accomplish this by underdressing for cold weather or going shoeless. Or we might periodically allow ourselves to become thirsty or hungry, even though water and food are at hand, and we might sleep on a hard bed, even though a soft one is available.”

By allowing ourselves to experience little discomfort, we harden ourselves and prepare for that situation to happen for real. Another benefit to practicing discomfort is one that is an immediate reward: as soon as you practice discomfort by say, sleeping on a hard bed, you will immediately appreciate your soft bed. Similarly, if you wait to eat until you have been hungry for a few hours, you will enjoy your next meal much more than if you had eaten it when you were simply getting the urge to eat.

Many people have said that this “practicing discomfort” by inflicting small amounts of pain on yourself is a way of self-punishment and is thus, unhealthy for the mind. The argument of the Stoics is that they do not practice the uncomfortable in order to punish themselves, but rather, they practice it so that they can increase their enjoyment of life and to greater appreciate those small things that many of us take for granted - like food, clean water, or a soft bed to sleep on.

“What the Stoics were advocating, then, is more appropriately described as a program of voluntary discomfort than as a program of self-inflicted discomfort.”

Voluntary Discomfort as a “Vaccine”

“If all we know is comfort, we might be traumatized when we are forced to experience pain or discomfort, as we someday almost surely will. In other words, voluntary discomfort can be thought of as a kind of vaccine: By exposing ourselves to a small amount of a weakened virus now, we create in ourselves an immunity that will protect us from a debilitating illness in the future”

An ever more prevalent issue in our society is comfortability - with technology, medicine, food etc. at rapid availability, our comfort zones have shifted to be extremely high. Many of us no longer experience much discomfort in our daily lives which can make us weak when we inevitably face a little discomfort.

I think a great example of this shift is the saying “First-World Problems.” I hear it a lot, especially when I hear people talking about their children. A child may complain that their phone died and they may say “it’s the end of the world”. They have become so comfortable with their lives that one of the biggest issues they face is their phone dying when just a few hundred years ago people were dying in the streets because they didn’t have any food to eat or clean water to drink.

Who’s to Blame?

Many people like to try and point fingers and push the blame onto children or their parents for how they were raised. I do think that a major source of the issue is that parents themselves don’t know how to teach their children to appreciate what they have. I think another source is that parents inherently want their children to “have it better than they did”.

“Musonius would argue, to the contrary, that someone who tries to avoid all discomfort is less likely to be comfortable than someone who periodically embraces discomfort. The latter individual is likely to have a much wider “comfort zone” than the former and will therefore feel comfortable under circumstances that would cause the former individual considerable distress. It would be one thing if we could take steps to ensure that we will never experience discomfort, but since we can’t, the strategy of avoiding discomfort at all costs is counterproductive.”

And this leads me to the question of the day… If we as a society continually try to make it easier for people to live, then won’t we cause these “first-world dilemmas” to become ever more prevalent? Do you think we should make practicing discomfort a regular occurrence in our lives?

-

Sort:  

Well first of that I welcome to you again on this platform, because I think you are so busy in your life nowadays, whatever but we really miss you day by day, because your every post really helpful for us and we learn most of things related about our life from your posts, so I welcome you again, by the way nice post and nice article again,Thanks a lot.

Haha thank you, I miss being on here as well!! Posting is a lot of work but feels great and I love these conversations in the comments!! See you on more posts in the future!!

Séneca: no es que, el haya utilizado la "practica" de la pobreza o de cosas negativas o malas... El, lo que hizo fue exhortar a SOPORTAR las situaciones producto de las fallas y miserias propias y de los demás... No es lo mismo soportar que practicar. Feliz noche.

Most welcome sir...

Thank you for reading. What was your opinion on the QOTD?

QQTD? No entiendo, no estoy familiarizado en pleno con el vocabulario entero y me disculpa mi ignorancia, pero así nacimos... Lo importante es que cada día aprendemos algo nuevo . Saludos

Seneca was a great Stoic! A man to aspire to in my opinion!

First of all, apologies for missing your blog for so long! I took a bit of a step back from steemit for a while to try and get a new direction. How are things?

On the article:

“In particular, we should periodically cause ourselves to experience discomfort that we could easily have avoided. We might accomplish this by underdressing for cold weather or going shoeless. Or we might periodically allow ourselves to become thirsty or hungry, even though water and food are at hand, and we might sleep on a hard bed, even though a soft one is available.”

I think this can also really help by showing us that our "normal" if we are always comfortable, is not all that's possible. We can be hot or cold, full or hungry, happy or sad, and understanding each state is helpful in understanding ourselves.

So the vaccine for discomfort or pain is appropriate, in some ways, but I think seeking them out just to prepare ourselves for more of them isn't really necessary more than once or twice, seeking them out to understand ourselves and our pain and discomfort instead of shying away is something I've done with cold therapy and things like that.

Nice write up, I like to see the stoic perspective

Hey @jakeybrown! Hope you've been well!! I've also taken a bit of a step back as well and have been thinking, traveling and just enjoying myself as cryptos been its lull for a while now. I think it's a great thing to take some time for yourself!

I totally agree with you! I love to think of my comfort zone as a sort of needle on a meter, if I continue to push myself out of comfortability then I can feel that needle moving in the right direction to a higher and higher threshhold.

Thank you, I will keep sharing from this book, it's a great read and I hope to find other books on Stoicism that are fascinating as well!

First world problem: My cell phone charger cannot reach my bed.

Third world problem: obvious... no power, no bed.

At first Musonius sounds excessive. Who would create situations of discomfort? But this is what you do when you fast.

I get so used to comfort that if circumstances change unfavorable I find myself complaining. This is even more serious with my children. I want to set a humble example so they can be prepared for the next storm of life.

Situations that shake us up build inner character and test what is there.

I'm really glad to see you put this philosophy into practice. When we hear the words, "deny yourself" we think we cannot exist... but when we practice "deny yourself" we find out who we really are. There are great examples in history but they seem too great. The way I start is to look for things that I really don't need and live without. It is amazing how much you can downsize. I spent all Saturday getting rid of "stuff" I don't need. I have a lot more to get rid of. Maybe I just need my notebook and a few pairs of clothes.

This philosophy can also apply to our blog. I like to watch the numbers go up but I realize I became spoiled in February. This would be a good opportunity to deny myself while Steem is low and find ways to help others.

Exactly! The problems and "upsets" that we see throughout the day are entirely dependant on our reaction to them. If we condition ourselves to be ok with a little discomfort, these first-world problems will be no problem at all. Stoics would argue the same for third world problems as well - every situation could be worse and we should take solace in that.

Fasting is a great example and something that he eludes to as well - to my knowledge he didn't have a fasting schedule, but would simply hold off on eating until he had been hungry for a few hours at times.

but when we practice "deny yourself" we find out who we really are.
^100%

Yeah it's very applicable to Steem. When the price goes down, so do our numbers, but we should recognize that the numbers could in fact be even lower or not exist at all in the first place!!

Thanks for your thoughts @mineopoly, great to hear from you!

Since you are reviewing this book over the course of many posts, I guess that you can suggest reading this book.

Would you say that the things it teaches have been helpful to you? I am super skeptical when it comes to these kind of books, but I do like the theme of getting comfortable with things you are uncomfortable with.

I definitely would suggest reading it @paparodin! It's a really great read!

Yes I know your skepticism and I can truly say that there is a lot of valuable info in this book. Between the practices that you can actually apply into your life and then the broader philosophical content, you will definitely find something to take away from reading it!

I will put it on the list then. I will write about it when I have read it. I will remember to mention you when I do, but it might take a bit of time.

Thanks for the suggestion. That aside, how are you doing, is life treating you well this week?

Glad to hear it, do let me know when you do!! I'd love to hear how you like it.

Life is great this week! Been really busy lately, but I'm the happiest I've ever been! And yourself?

Also have been rather busy, still am, but Steemit-wise, it has been great. Yesterday really went beyond all my expectations!

I'm so happy to read your post,
Your post content is very good ..

Thank you! I appreciate the kind words!

This is great book man i am glad to see it on your blog

I agree, the book is phenomenal and I highly recommend it! I'm working on more posts about it as we speak!

Mr.khaleelkazi your image super location thankyou

What did you think of the QOTD?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05