My Reading Log: Interesting Stuff From the Past Few Days (2018-06-06)

in #readinglog6 years ago

I keep track of any posts on the Steem blockchain which I've found worth reading. Here's the stuff I've enjoyed over the last few days.

logo_v1.png

Happy reading!

Homesteading

♥ ♥ ♥ Baby Goaties have arrived!! ♥ ♥ ♥

by @squishysquid

thumb

"You all may already know I raise Nigerian Dwarf goats. It's just a small operation, enough for milk for my family. Here are some of my past goatie posts: Should I register? Hoof Trimming Goat birth Control?! Fun Facts My Favorite Livestock Preparing to Tattoo Baby Goatie Pics You're welcome! Feel…"


Freestyle Garden... Glorious Garlic

by @borrowedearth

thumb

"Shining with Joy at my Glorious Garlic! It was the wrong time a day to be taking this photo. I'm squinting in all shots but this one, so the joy looks more squinty than shining ...but Joy was in my Heart. This is why I Homestead. This is why I Garden. Shining my Joy This is my way Enjoy Enter our…"


Food Forest Update (June 2018) - Garden Journal Showcasing Photos from My Food Forest

by @thelaundrylady

thumb

"It's time for another food forest update. We have hardly had a Spring to speak of this year. We went from freezing temperatures directly into consistent 90 degree and dry conditions. There is also nothing in the near term forecast that indicates any change from this current pattern. The normal…"


Art, games, and geekery

Mystic Girl: Making of a 3D Bust

by @jellenmark

thumb

"in my last post I mentioned, that I wanted to continue the work on my Maiko-Sculpt, but life is getting in the way - looking for apartments, getting rid of stuff I hoarded all these years (!) and to mix things up a short trip to New Orleans, but this means new content for my page, which I want to…"


Drawing THE FLASH in flash (chibi caricature first try) - with steps -

by @theartofrez

thumb

"Hello people! Today I saw some post with the caricature drawing on steemit and decided to try it myself. It's not my common ground since my drawings are mostly done with comic book approach but that is the challenge! I give you The Flash! That's just the zoom on the face, I made a full body one but…"


Announcing the @steemmonsters Block Explorer!

by @blervin

thumb

"What is @steemmonsters? The @steemmonsters blockchain collectible card game was recently announced to overwhelming enthusiasm and an outpouring of support from the Steem community. In short, this is is a card game, where cards are generated and stored in the blockchain that looks much like Magic the…"


Comic Book Original Art Collection: “MerMay,” by ARTGERM

by @steven.nam

thumb

"Per my angsty “Failing Mission Artgerm” post from a few weeks back (https://steemit.com/comics/@steven.nam/mission-artgerm-a-quest-in-comic-book-original-art-oa), I’ve been hell-bent on acquiring my first OA by this modern master. Against all odds. Yesterday, through a miracle of timing (and having…"


Populous Review, A Day in the Life of A Gaming God

by @triverse

thumb

"Sure, today playing god in a game is nothing new. We have plenty of options if this is your one and only goal in your electronic entertainment. Back in the late 80’s and early 90’s though, options were much more limited. Populous took the idea of a sandbox game, mixed in plenty of “god like”…"


Issue 3- The Dark History of The Comic Code Authority

by @comicscorner

thumb

"Issue 3- The Dark History of The Comic Code Authority Ah, the Comic Code Authority. What can I say… The Comic Code Authority… Fuck the Comic Code Authority. (Avert yer gaze from this dark, unholy sigil!) What is...was the CCA? Ahem, excuse my vulgar language but I can’t express how much I despise…"


STEM

Hawaiian volcanoes - Part 14.6: New ocean entry, 30 day info graphic and volcanoes as weather makers

by @sooflauschig

thumb

"Fissure 8 is still going strong The lava flow that originated from Fissure 8 is entering the ocean at Kapaho Bay. volcanoes.usgs.gov The flow advancing from Fissure 8 has now made ocean entry at Kapoho Bay. A robust channel is transporting lava all the way from the spattering fissure northeastward,…"


Animalistiary #5; The Dragons

by @chloroform

thumb

"Well, to be fair, the title is a little bit misleading. In this episode of Animalistiary I would introduce to you some of the animals which either dragon-like, have some attributes similar to dragons or might behave somewhat similar to the mythical…"


Bizarre Natural Phenomena Vol. 59 - The River That Flows Backwards (Reversing Rapids Of Saint John River, Canada)

by @ruth-girl

thumb

"Let's take a boat ride on down a river in Canada, shall we? We were told that on Saint John river there is a bridge before the river mouth and under this bridge a ledge makes the waters take various shapes. We can see whitewater rapids, waves and even whirlpools forming. [1, 3] A pretty cool…"


Optical Mineralogy

by @mountainwashere

thumb

"There's a long history of scientists showing off how cool their object of study looks through a microscope, but it's pretty hard to beat geologists. Optical mineralogy is the study and identification of minerals and rocks through measuring their optical properties, largely through a mineralogical…"


Philosophy of Science Part 2: Occam's Razor is Rusty

by @mountainwashere

thumb

"I don't mean that Occam's Razor is just a little rusty- you pose a real risk of getting tetanus if you use it. For those unfamiliar with Occam's Razor, it's a proposition that states, in its most common form, that the simplest explanation is usually the correct one. And, not to dance around…"


Fooling around with Self Organizing Maps (SOM)

by @boyonpointe

thumb

"Couple of months back while working on some PhD problem of mine I realized I would be needing some way to visualize data that is of dimensions higher than 3. Googling in the hope of some solutions lead me to an obscure geological research paper which made use of Self Organized Maps.My first…"


Journey through the understanding of particle physics - One

by @irelandscape

thumb

"A couple of weeks ago I volunteered to join @lemouth's experiment to involve programmers in the Steemit community in developing open source software for analyzing data produced by high energy collisions in CERN's Large Hadron Collider (LHC) Though I've always have an…"


EGYPTOLOGY: Science in Ancient Egypt, Part# 2

by @laylahsophia

thumb

"In my previous article about science in Ancient Egypt, I told you some interesting facts about Astronomy and Mathematics in antiquities times. As I promised you, I will now share with you the latest research on other "scientific" areas belonging to the natural sciences. The quotes on "scientific"…"


History

Nomads from the Steppe Defeat Darius the Great: The Scythians

by @agmoore

thumb

"This Scythian plaque, crafted in shell-mold gold, was found on the Western Asian Steppe. The figure is estimated to have been crafted between 400-300 BC. Gold items from that era were commonly interred with royal personages in burial mounds. The mounds are called kurgan. One of the most significant…"


Music and electronics

Vlog 101 | Building An Axoloti Synthesizer

by @illuminationst8

thumb

"In this video I show you the last stage in a project I've been working on for around three years. The Axolotl Is a programmable synthesizer that allows you to program it on the computer and then take it with you anywhere. you can find out more about the axoloti here http://www.axoloti.com/ I add…"


Steemitself and tools

Dustsweeper UPDATE - Send Gifts to Users

by @danielsaori

thumb

"Ever since we released Dustsweeper we have had requests to make it possible to send gifts to other users. These requests came from experienced users wanting to help out newcomers, or users hosting contests wanting to give away Dustsweeper credits. If you are new to @dustsweeper please check out…"


What should we expect from top steem witnesses

by @tarekadam

thumb

"Steemian.info provides a very good description of the steem witness role and the expected tasks a witness needs to fulfil. Witnesses are elected by the community to witness the production of blocks on the Steem network. In other words, they run and maintain nodes (servers) that generate the blocks…"


Taskmaster4450 ZAP - 20180605t115514961z

by @taskmaster4450

thumb

"With Microsoft buying GitHub, my question to all the developers and coders is this...how hard is it to create a repository similar to GitHub on the Steem Blockchain? Could we set something similar up here?

"


# TEASER : OUR WEBSITE'S NEW LOOK + WE ARE GOING OPEN SOURCE!

by @paywithsteem

thumb

"TEASER : OUR WEBSITE'S NEW LOOK As you all know, we've been raising funds to build an entirely automated platform for users to buy/sell/trade with STEEM and SBD. We are absolutely thrilled to share with you the updates from our Work-In-Progress! So yes - here's the mock-up of our website that's…"


Crypto building communities

[IDEA] Gricoin Funds Scientific Research

by @grider123

thumb

"I've been thinking about ways to make Gridcoin a little better known in the science community. One idea that came to my mind is the financial support of a research team through the Gridcoin community. For this I suggest to use the crowdfunding platform experiment.com Collection of Funds The basic…"


Meet DAOstack: adopting a future-proof governance model

by @dedicatedguy

thumb

"As globalization increases, so does the complexity of the problems we need to solve We as humans beings have the immense fortune of being able to constantly improve ourselves, at practically everything that we do. We improve our products, services become more sophisticated, we start to engage and…"


DAOstack in Science Research Publication. Entry to OriginalWorks Writing Contest

by @flyyingkiwi

thumb

"This article is an entry in the DAOstack sponsored OriginalWorks writing contest. I will discuss a use-case for DAOstack in the science research publishing community. @simoxenham has written an excellent series on how block chain can help to fix a lot of the issues in the way that science is…"


Now I'm hungry!

Cook with us week #13 - Vegan - Fragrant Vegetable Curry with Pea Flour Roti Pancakes

by @lizelle

thumb

"Cook With Us Week #13 The theme for this week is: Vegan Plus mystery ingredient: Onion Herewith my entry for the fabulous contest arranged by The Cook with Us team - @chefsteve, @pandamama and @offoodandart. Nothing fancy, nothing grand, just a fragrant spicy Vegetable Curry served with fluffy long…"


Korean Spinach Side Dish - Sigeumchi Namul [시금치나물]

by @abitcoinskeptic

thumb

"Today I made a Korean spinach side dish called sigeumchi namul [시금치나물]. It is quite easy to prepare and can be done in about 20 minutes or less. Korean cuisine is very famous for their variety of side dishes or Banchan [반찬]. Usually, most restaurants are expected to put out at least a few. There are…"


Today's Kitchen Adventure: Making Ginger Beer (Soda) & DIY Wild Yeasts

by @walkerland

thumb

"My Granny Lee was quite famous for the home-made ginger beer that she made back in the 1950's. She would always store the bottles in the garden shed. Occasionally the family would be awoken by loud explosions and crashing coming from the aforementioned shed. She would say "oh dear" as she remembered…"


Community

Core Design Principles for a Prosocial Community

by @lishu

thumb

"From the very first time I encountered the word "prosocial", it was love at first read. I started doing a little digging around to see what is going on with this concept and you can boil it down to behavior that is not just self-oriented but takes into account the needs of the group. Basically, a…"


Big, beautiful world

(#Ulog) The Fun Continues at Asia's Largest 3D Interactive Art Museum

by @trafalgarlaw

thumb

"This is the second part of my blog about my past adventure at Art in Island with my sister. If you want to know more about this art museum and missed my first post, just click this link below: I Miss the Fun and Adventure at Asia's Largest 3D Interactive Art Museum I am going to showcase here again…"


A City A Story Photo Weekly Contest#29-【OLD SHOP】~小城故事相片比賽#29-【老店】

by @kona

thumb

"The Kung Wo Soybean Products Factory in Kowloon City is a century-old shop that opened in 1893 and is now the third generation to operate. The manual stone grinding in the kitchen is used 98 years already! 位於九龍城的公和荳品廠是一間百年老店,於1893年開業直到現在的第三代接棒經營,廚房內的手動石磨,至今已有九十八年歷史! During the heyday of Kung Wo…"


Vietnam - Dong Van Province

by @traveleranna

thumb

""


Stay On The Farm (Iceland Day 7)

by @eonwarped

thumb

"Having already visited all the places on our list for the day, we arrived a bit early at the farm where we would be spending the night. Two very cute dogs greeted us as we drove in. One looks like a larger version of Opal and the other looks kind of like Opal's brother. The big dog. The little one…"


Attack of the tent caterpillars!

by @phelimint

thumb

"We are having a crazy tent caterpillar season here in Northern Ontario. They have literally stripped most of the trees in my yard and everyone else’s of any leaves. I’ve been trying to keep up with spraying and removing them from my fruit trees but seam to have lots the battle and most are leafless…"


Badass? Badass. Badass!

Take a look at my tremendous conflagration

by @aksounder

thumb

"I have the extraordinary pleasure of enjoying what I do for a paycheck. I did make a post about it once, but in case you've just stumbled upon this I'll let you know that I am an Aircraft Rescue Firefighter. That's me with a towering inferno at my back like I just don't care. The discipline of…"


So, what's all this then?

My goals here are to foster interaction on steem and provide visibility for good content.

Why not just resteem

This is basically a UI issue; I've noted in my feed that some great accounts which resteem dozens of times a day tend to drown out other posts. Until there's a way to separate author-content from resteems in there general steem-verse (i.e. on Steemit), I don't like resteeming much.

Criteria and format

The only real criterion I have is that the article should be something I was happy to have read. Ideally, it would be recent enough to still be active for 3 to 4 days after I post. A few other other things:

  • There's no restriction on category, though I tend to read more STEM/nerdy stuff
  • The list is not exhaustive
  • If I left you off, it's not because I don't think your post was worth reading
  • I'm still figuring out how to arrange topics
  • Post order is like the point system on 'Whose Line Is It Anyway' - meaningless
  • If you're a prolific author, I might only list one post in full format, then mention others.
  • If I post your stuff a lot, I may leave you out from time to time to make room for others.
  • If time allows, I may provide commentary on posts, but right now I'm letting them stand on their own merits.
  • Artists! I'm trying to post your art in such a way that people can see enough of it to know if they want to follow the link. I definitely don't want to just repost your stuff in full resolution. Let me know what makes you happy.

Call to Action

I enjoyed compiling this list and you can do it, too. Even if your vote counts for nothing and you have 3 whole followers, start keeping track of what you actually liked reading and let the world know about it. I don't think there's a relevant tag yet, so let's go ahead and use #readinglog. If there is a better tag out there, let me know.

Remember, a community without interactions is just a bunch of people. Comment, vote, promote, even resteem!

Copyright Info

Logo modified from CC0 material on Pixabay by OpenClipart-Vectors, and released under the same.

Preview images are from the referenced posts and source information should be contained therein. Preview text is directly quoted from post and the property of that post's author(s).

Sort:  

You just planted 0.21 tree(s)!


Thanks to @effofex

We have planted already 4534.98 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 25674.08
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Thank you for including my post. I am in good company, indeed. Right now I'm busy learning about carbon--I will check out some of these fascinating posts later tonight. Always a rich selection in your Reading Log.

What about carbon?

It's kind of a monster---I began with a question about grasses--as in grass on the Steppe. Then I read about C3 and C4 grasses. Then I got interested in the carbon cycle. Took me back 4.4 billion years. This thing is getting out of hand :) Grass will have to wait for another day...

I love those kinds of rabbit holes. You really should talk to @davidrhodes124 if you want the nitty-gritty on C3 and C4 biochemistry.

It is a bottomless rabbit hole. Thanks for the reference. When I get back to grass I may follow that suggestion.

Thank you @effofex for reading my post on the Korean spinach side dish and for the mention ;) I am glad you liked it and this kind of stuff always encourages me to produce more and interact more with similar minded people.
@walkerland, this story on Ginger Beer looks like something I'd love to trying make. Will be checking this one out soon and perhaps experimenting on my own. I remember the last time I made it, I ended up with a sticky kitchen, maybe I'll try on the veranda next time.

I'm glad you liked it and I'm even more glad it's encouraged to you write more and helped you find other people, those are some of the results I like the most from these posts.

I agree that we need some better way of marking posts for future reference. I trust that you will find things I'm also interested in because we're both science geeks. If I see something I want to read later, I use a browser bookmark.

Absolutely agree. I have a bad browser tabs habit thanks to steemit. Browser bookmarks for me are the black hole of 'I intend to read this later, but never will end up doing so.'

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 4 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 33 SBD worth and should receive 129 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations @effofex! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @aksounder and @lishu, the random number generator has picked the both of you from those who were featured today to receive @steembasicincome shares. The transfer should go active within a few days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70