My Reading Log: Interesting Stuff From the Past Few Days (2018-06-13)

in #readinglog6 years ago

I keep track of any posts on the Steem blockchain which I've found worth reading. Here's the stuff I've enjoyed over the last few days.

logo_v1.png

Happy reading!

Tiny note: my super-scientific and bulletproof method of 'keeping a bazillion articles in tabs' crashed so hard, that I couldn't even recover them. I may have missed an older post of yours or unintentionally relisted an old article from the last issue (I did check, but, y'know, errors.) If either of those affects you, my sincere apologies.

Steemitself and tools

gtg witness log

by @gtg

thumb

"Thank you all for supporting me as a witness, even though I'm really bad at writing my updates. I even copied the previous sentence from one of my earlier updates. Yes, that bad. Witness parameters stay unchanged: SBD is over $1, fortunately going slowly back to the peg, thus obviously the APR is…"


Witness Changes Underway -- Time to Check Your Votes

by @shadowspub

thumb

"There was an awesome announcement made yesterday. Well, I think it’s awesome. Three witness accounts came together to form one new witness. In the process the platform got a well respected witness back who had disabled his witness earlier this year. Who is the new witness? The new witness account is…"


Fast-Reply - A tool to easily view unanswered comments and reply within seconds

by @jlordc

thumb

"Yesterday, I finally give in to this steemhunt thing that's been making a buzz for almost a week now. Unfortunately my hunt was delisted due to the product being limited only to Japan (or that's what I got from @dayleeo the mod that reviewed my hunt). Pretty much my mistake for not…"


Universal Basic Income

Is basic income the wave of the future?

by @mannacurrency

thumb

"There is no doubt that basic income is receiving more publicity than any other time in history. We saw this going from a rarely discussed topic a few years ago to being a regular topic in many mainstream publications. Certainly there is still a long way to go with this idea. We feel that the major…"


STEM

Corrosion protection methods; meet the war lords against corrosion!

by @rharphelle

thumb

"When a welder finishes a job in his workshop, the next thing to do is put on some paint. Several coats of paint on the work gives the job a nice and appealing look. Have you tried to consider what else could be the reason for the coat(s) of paint? Apart from the aesthetic factors, another reason for…"


Blue No More Part 1: The Salton Sea

by @mountainwashere

thumb

"In February 1905, a new sea was born in California. The Colorado River had burst out of its man-made gates and flooded into the Imperial Valley, slicing into the soil at a foot per second. A waterfall formed on formerly flat land, one that rapidly receded backwards towards the river. It grew as high…"


A final song for OPERA: 6 years of neutrino data, nice events and an exemplary open data policy

by @lemouth

thumb

"The OPERA experiment, aiming for a better understanding of neutrino physics, has released its final results a couple of weeks ago. Five years of data taking, the observation of 10 events and an analysis that took 6 years have yielded an unambiguous proof that muon neutrinos can be converted into tau…"


Trinitite

by @roswellrockman

thumb

"We used to sell Trinitite at our store. As the picture shows; it is fused sand from the first atomic test blast in Trinity New Mexico. We had quite a bit of it, but in 2017 we had a run of customers buying it and quickly ran out. Since then I have been trying to find more at a reasonable price. No…"


A Problem of Communication from the Red Planet

by @greenrun

thumb

"In my last post I made mention of the Curiosity rover, an SUV-size Mars vehicle that is currently exploring Mars and sending back scientific data back to Earth. An artist impression of NASA single relay communication. By NASA ( [Public domain], from Wikipedia Commons The Curiosity rover, made at a…"


Magnetic Resonance Imaging : How Magnets Spin Protons In Your Body To Produce Images

by @addempsea

thumb

"My favorite sport just ended its season recently. With the golden state warriors winning their third NBA championship in four years. Sports technology and injury treatment has improved over the past years. Injuries that were career ending in the 80’s are now six months injuries. These days when a…"


Assessing desertification on a global scale with cloud computing

by @samve

thumb

"I have been working on this paper for almost half a year now, and next week I will defend it in front of a jury. So this is an ideal chance to get it read by others, if you have some remarks or questions about this post, make sure to let me know! I will try to summarize most parts because otherwise…"


Carbon and Earth: A Story of Life

by @agmoore

thumb

"The story of earth and carbon goes back billions of years. This is an epic tale, one pieced together from clues buried in the shadows of history. In those shadows are secrets that can tell us how earth developed into a planet that supports life. Carbon is at the heart of this miracle. How did earth…"


It's actually possible to tap loads of energy from the sun at night.

by @writeit

thumb

"Crude oil, since its discovery in the 1880s to displace coal, has been the major source of energy in our homes and industries. However, just as coal had to step down for the emergence of crude oil, many are of the opinion that it…"


Why current industrial GM crops are bad for africa's agriculture

by @mirrors

thumb

"A week ago, I traveled to my native village in the Eastern Uganda sub-region of Teso. It was an unplanned trip that, coming in the middle of my busiest academic schedules, was obviously ‘forced’, I might say, by unavoidable circumstances. But what a trip! If you have a clue about traveling in…"


Tree of Life: The Fascinating Journey of Placental Evolution

by @mobbs

thumb

"Please feel free to check out my previous post first, from which this post was spawned (This post gets increasingly interesting the further down you read, so I highly encourage you to get through it all despite its length!) This is the least disgusting image of a placenta I could find... honest…"


US Navy/NASA Human Centrifuge Repurposed into a banquet hall - 8th grade graduation there today - The Fuge

by @inspire1

thumb

"This is the second time I've been to this venue. The first time was actually for a microbrew tasting event. It was more of a bunch of booths and walking around in a circle tasting beers and was rather uneventful. The building is the Human Centrifuge where astronauts trained along with Navy pilots in…"


Community news and help

SteemSTEM Summer 2018 Project Update

by @steemstem

thumb

"Today, we are pleased to release the summer update of the @steemstem project, an initiative aiming to promote science, technology, engineering and mathematics on Steem. Lots of positive changes have occurred in the last few months, and many more good things are to come, as is written below. However,…"


Utopian.io Edu Tutorial Series: Submitting Excellent Development Contributions

by @utopian.edu

thumb

"In the third video of the Utopian.io Edu Tutorial Series, the focus is on the Development category. The video reviews and explains the attributes that make for an excellent Development Contribution on Utopian.io including a detailed overview of the policies and guidelines for Utopian.io and the…"


Einstein@Home not rewarding GRC due to GDPR

by @grider123

thumb

"I jus saw on twitter that Einstein@Home is currently implementing changes due to GDRP. Because of that crunchers of Einstein@Home are currently not rewarded with Gridcoin. @Neuralminer is in contact with the projects and only World Community Grid and Einstein@Home will implement changes for GDPR.…"


Big, beautiful world

Discovering Crete, Part 2 - Agiofárango, the Gorge of Saints II

by @shaka

thumb

"Greetings Steemians! Welcome to the continuation of my walk through Agiofárango, the Gorge of Saints. In case you missed it, you can check out the first part -> here. After about two thirds of the track one comes across the church of Aghios Andonios, once the region’s religious center. At the very…"


Let's Visit The Fish Farm Albota for Sublimesunday

by @erikah

thumb

"In 2016 I had the chance to visit this amazing place and now want to share with you my amazing trip. Make sure you get to the end of my story to see the best fish food I've ever had :) Albota is the trout farm at the foot of the Carpathian Mountains, in the Arpasel Valley, surrounded by the Natural…"


The Efteling, who didnt grow up going to this amusementpark?

by @karinxxl

thumb

"Being back home for a bit has HUGE benefits sometimes: I get to spend time with the family! And what better way to bond with my favorite two year old than going to an all time classic amusement park here in the region. Every Dutchy will know this entrance. The Efteling is what they call a 'World of…"


Animal Photography - Buffalo

by @redheadpei

thumb

"Happy Monday! My entry to #animalphotography sponsored by @juliank. Buffalo Restful day for the buffalo. One buffalo rolling in the dirt, happy to be alive on the start of spring.. Buffaloland is not far from my house. I often stop if I see them out in the field beside the road. Contest Info…"


Archeological and Nature Preserve at Emerson Point, Florida is Site of Largest Temple Mound in Tampa Bay Area

by @qiyi

thumb

"One of my favorite activities is hiking around natural preserves with my dog. At least I don't have expensive hobbies like boats, bikes, or golf! I'm content walking Bitsie around🐶 Fortunately in Florida there are many protected mangroves and wetlands in the Tampa Bay Area and one of my favorites is…"


Olympieion - The Temple of Zeus - Athens

by @anca3drandom

thumb

"Olympieion or The Temple of Zeus in Athens was completed during the reign of the Roman Emperor Hadrian in the 2 nd century AD, after 638 years from when the project stared.The temple was built in an open space of 250 x 130 m. The Corinthian columns that remain are unusually tall at 17,25 m and they…"


National Museum of Natural History - Beautiful Sunday

by @watersnake101

thumb

"My Share for #BeautifulSunday initiated by @ace108 What makes us visit museums? Is it about the history or art? Is it about the the preserved animals which are on display? Maybe we are in search of knowledge and prefer interaction rather than just search on the web about it. All of us has different…"


The Snowy Peaks Of The Middle Earth

by @doskinas

thumb

"Have you ever dreamt of climbing mountains in a dead of the winter? With snowy peaks everywhere you look and peril at any moment? To experience the climb and the wild beauty of the mountains that you see in exotic places like Everest or Patagonia? I and my girlfriend did! We wanted to see the…"


Norwegian views: Blood moon rises - gallery

by @photovisions

thumb

"Welcome Steemians! The gallery of pictures from one of the most beautiful moonrise seen this year. Sometimes unexpected things are the best what can happen on a photographic workshops. Let's begin... The place - area called Nordgruvefeltet, I went there in the evening day before to catch the…"


Games, art, and geekery

Dr Slobulus Illustration

by @basileonardo

thumb

"Una Ilustración que hice para un vídeo juego en proceso, les iré mostrando cositas poco a poco :D

"


Expedition album of going round the corner of reality: page 72_4_0

by @sibr.hus

thumb

""


Steem Monsters writing competition pre-announcement: how to build a Faction culture

by @aggroed

thumb

"So, I'm going to be offering one of the biggest writing competitions on the block that I've seen on the block. It'll go live in the next few days here. I need help building out the lore of the game so I know what the campaign setting will look like. In order to do that I wrote two documents. The…"


Comic Book Collection: Venom Keys

by @steven.nam

thumb

"Steem prices may be taking a beating along with cryptocurrencies in general, but Steem Fam, our show must go on! Here’s my contribution today to posting against the tides... Venom keys. Following an early cameo, it really all began with the timeless Amazing Spider-Man #300: No Venom on the cover —…"


Why Girl Versions of Boy Superheroes Rarely Work?

by @pinas

thumb

"Source There are, of course, some amazing examples of well-written female characters in comics. Storm, Atom Eve, Jessica Jones, and Kitty Pryde, have all managed to become identified as pure characters rather than "girl characters", which is unfortunately the least common type of super-heroine. The…"


Gardening, homesteading, and crafting

The Perennial Herb & Flower Garden: Becoming More Self-Sustainable On The Golden D

by @goldendawne

thumb

"Becoming More Self-Sustainable On The Golden D Over the last two years I have literally sunk my teeth deeper into the gardening realm and am continuing to find my way on the homestead to becoming more sustainable. My reasons for this vary, and I'm sure many homesteaders, gardeners and even preppers…"


How to use thermal mass to harness the incredible power of the SUN and to grow food year round!

by @nickhans

thumb

"Last winter I buckled down and built myself a 15' x 40' greenhouse. I built it on a shoestring budget and I'm actually pretty happy with it. It needs some stuff (like automation) but it sure gets the job done! One day I'd like to write more about how it was built... I considered this greenhouse an…"


Tutorial #1 - Soutache earrings.

by @voitakjewelry

thumb

"Hello Dear Steemitians, Today's post is a bit different than the others posted on this profile. It will be a short tutorial and you will be able to make soutache earrings yourself at home. This is one of the simpler designs in this technique. I hope you will try and show the results of your work.…"


Curation

Rumors of the demise of manual curation have been greatly exaggerated...

by @carlgnash

thumb

"Come join me at C² Curation Collective https://discord.gg/B8JFmJ4 C² is a Discord community for curators of all stripes. Members of curation groups as well as individual curators can join C² as a curator and bring forward curated posts (no self promotion). The @c-squared community account upvotes &…"


Introducing TravelFeed: Featuring Steemit’s Best Travel Content

by @travelfeed

thumb

"If you are a travel blogger or enjoy reading travel-related content on Steemit, TravelFeed is for you! TravelFeed is a project by @jpphotography, @rimicane, @adonisabril and @for91days. We are passionate travelers who met each other on Steemit. We felt we should start #travelfeed after seeing how…"


Not sure what category, but good for you!

Lightening My Load: Thoughts From A Reformed Hoarder Part Three

by @phoenixwren

thumb

"I've touched on this subject a couple of times before, but now that I'm fresh in a found-someone-who-needs-it happy place, I thought it was time to explore it again. When I say I'm a reformed hoarder, that's not even a little hyperbolic. I mean I saved the hair I brushed off my cats in a Ziploc…"


Parenting and health

The Struggle of Breastfeeding and the Surprising Pain of Letting It Go

by @pinkspectre

thumb

"My son’s first action in this world was rooting for my nipple and perfectly feeding as though he was born to do so. He mastered breastfeeding before he had a name. I would like to take some credit for this miracle, but we know that a baby’s ability to breastfeed or not rarely has anything to do with…"


So, what's all this then?

My goals here are to foster interaction on steem and provide visibility for good content.

Why not just resteem

This is basically a UI issue; I've noted in my feed that some great accounts which resteem dozens of times a day tend to drown out other posts. Until there's a way to separate author-content from resteems in there general steem-verse (i.e. on Steemit), I don't like resteeming much.

Criteria and format

The only real criterion I have is that the article should be something I was happy to have read. Ideally, it would be recent enough to still be active for 3 to 4 days after I post. A few other other things:

  • There's no restriction on category, though I tend to read more STEM/nerdy stuff
  • The list is not exhaustive
  • If I left you off, it's not because I don't think your post was worth reading
  • I'm still figuring out how to arrange topics
  • Post order is like the point system on 'Whose Line Is It Anyway' - meaningless
  • If you're a prolific author, I might only list one post in full format, then mention others.
  • If I post your stuff a lot, I may leave you out from time to time to make room for others.
  • If time allows, I may provide commentary on posts, but right now I'm letting them stand on their own merits.
  • Artists! I'm trying to post your art in such a way that people can see enough of it to know if they want to follow the link. I definitely don't want to just repost your stuff in full resolution. Let me know what makes you happy.

Call to Action

I enjoyed compiling this list and you can do it, too. Even if your vote counts for nothing and you have 3 whole followers, start keeping track of what you actually liked reading and let the world know about it. I don't think there's a relevant tag yet, so let's go ahead and use #readinglog. If there is a better tag out there, let me know.

Remember, a community without interactions is just a bunch of people. Comment, vote, promote, even resteem!

Copyright Info

Logo modified from CC0 material on Pixabay by OpenClipart-Vectors, and released under the same.

Preview images are from the referenced posts and source information should be contained therein. Preview text is directly quoted from post and the property of that post's author(s).

Sort:  

Thank you for including my piece. The rabbit hole yawns, but right now I'm looking at autoantibodies...oh, dear, another abyss :)

The has tag made me chuckle. Seriously though, good for you! I have extended family with hoarding issues and I myself suffer from a mild anxiety condition. I don't presume to put myself in your shoes, but I think I have at least an inkling of what an accomplishment it is.

Thank you for featuring my article!

You're welcome, that fish farm was too cool to not share around.

Hey man thx for the effort of finding me!

I kind of agreee with you resteem thought. Sometimes I see so many resteems that I dont know what this person was writing about anymore. This is a perfect way to expose people to the broaders audience.

Thanks again man, an that sucks from you 1000 tab tactic crashing, I am very very very familair with that hahahahah

Congratulations @goldendawne and @mountainwashere, the random number generator has smiled upon both of you, picking your posts from those who were featured today and telling me to sponsor your both for a share in @steembasicincome. The transfer should go active within a few days.

Awesome, thanks!

Llooooong log ^^

Don't blame me, blame all those people up above writing too many interesting things!

Will be longer and longer then... Correlated to low steem price :)

Lots of great articles. Thanks for including my post on the buffalo. 😊

@redheadpei I keep finding out more stuff about this, and it's pretty awesome. Really informative article on the Buddhist influx to your island.

Must be the peaceful vibes. 😊 The Amish are here also. It’s nice to see them driving the horse and buggy around.
09F3E916-F175-41F7-9467-74CB69A2ECA7.jpeg

@redheadpei Didn't know about the Amish either. I have lots of family in central PA, so now I'm wondering how much PEI would remind me of home.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75