My Reading Log: Interesting Stuff From the Past Few Days (2018-07-01)

in #readinglog6 years ago

I keep track of any posts on the Steem blockchain which I've found worth reading. Here's the stuff I've enjoyed over the last few days.

logo_v1.png

Happy reading!

Curation

New selections of June 30 2018

by @anonyvoter

thumb

"First things first : the new selections Regular Steemians @arseniclullaby @prepstothepros @roxy-cat I told you yesterday that I would add more comics authors… and @arseniclullaby is one 😊 If you like dark (and sometimes twisted) humor, this is the feed to follow. (BTW: I think more are coming so I…"


Curation - Xposed Curator's Rebound #13

by @mirrors

thumb

"Do you care to support Quality content, and encourage some struggling and undervalued…"


Games, art, and geekery

10 Great Licensed NES Games That Are Not from Capcom

by @triverse

thumb

"Licensed games back in the 8-bit days were really hit or miss for gamers. We did not have options like YouTube to check out prior to purchase. There were no game reviewers readily available covering every game imaginable. No, back then we had to rely on gaming publications like Gamepro or Video…"


Icewind Dale Turns 18 on PC

by @triverse

thumb

"How do you port a successful book series that is based in the rich world of a pen and paper game to computer? Simple. You don’t. That is what Black Isle Studios did with Icewind Dale when they ported it to PC’s in 2000 for Interplay. The game is based in another century from the books which frees up…"


Michael's Horror Lase-O-Rama: Leviathan (1990, MGM)

by @modernzorker

thumb

"Ever notice how every year Hollywood greenlights multiple films about basically the same thing, especially disasters? If you thought it was strange when Dante's Peak and Volcano came out within months of one another in 1997, if you thought it was odd Armageddon and Deep Impact…"


Public Art and Busking.

by @rachelsvparry

thumb

"So, as part of this Pop-Up Shop week-long display I have going on, I was given an hour of sidewalk time to busk while painting. I made exactly $0. Not one red penny thrown into the jar, but oh well. Lots of people took pictures, a few people took cards. A couple people even got content for their…"


Sold Art! Syndics of the Centerfolds Guild.

by @rachelsvparry

thumb

"This is the other piece sold the other day! Very exciting, that I get to send more artwork off to be enjoyed! This piece is a Rembrandt parody. He made a piece called Syndics of the Drapers Guild. All I did was add a bunch of tiny Playboy centerfolds into the mix, and poof. It's basically one of…"


Take a look a Classic: Age Of Empires II

by @tyronee

thumb

"Age Of Empires II Age of Empires II, one of the incredible games and great classic of Ensemble Studios and distributed by Microsoft Games Studios, which shared history with different games of the time such as Warcraft, Starcraft, Dune, Empire Earth, among others. Those memories when you outdid all…"


Harlequin and Poison ivy ☠️ “Bad Girls & Good Vibes”

by @chriscomics

thumb

"Bad girls and good vibes. This is some fan art I did awhile back, I’ve updated it a little bit recently though. I chose to to illustrate harlequin and poison ivy, not just because they’re DC Comic royalty but, because of the unique friendship they’ve developed. It’s hard to find a relationship as…"


Learning to Carve

by @shelahdowart

thumb

"I'm a beginner when it comes to carving. I've been sculpting since about 1998. I sculpt with polymer clay, making pendants, dolls, and tiny figurines. I primarily sculpt dragons. I did try sculpting with clay that had to be kiln-baked back in 1993. I don't know if the sculpture I created was ever…"


The bride

by @agneslaczo

thumb

"Just a weird illustration of mine from the past.
Mixed media. From drawing to digital."


One Page Dungeon 5 - The Broken Dam - FREE RPG Resource

by @derekvonzarovich

thumb

"Hello, friends, supporters, Denizens of the Tower, and random internet people. Here's my fifth installment of the one-page-dungeon series. The objective is to create self-contained adventures/dungeons with all things necessary to spawn fun adventures on a single page. This adventure is about a band…"


Get Yer Free Iron Man!

by @blewitt

thumb

"What once was a C lister is now an A lister. I’m taking about Iron Man here folks. This is obviously attributed to the fantastic job Marvel Studios has done...let alone Robert Downey Jr literally being Tony Stark. Bravo to all involved. Another thing Marvel excels at is destroying their titles…"


Automation and UBI

Automation and the State of New York

by @mannacurrency

thumb

"Automation is one of the driving factors behind the development of the Manna Project. Many of those involved feel that automation is a threat to the employment force. Over the last year, we saw the production of many studies on this topic. The range of what is expect varies greatly…"


Basic Income initiatives that are in trial

by @mannacurrency

thumb

"Here is an article that appeared on Medium.com that lists the some of the different basic income trials that are taking place. It also details the specifics like how they were funded and where they are.…"


STEM

How Did We Become Humans? What Makes Humans (Homo Sapiens) Unique?

by @samminator

thumb

"There is no disproving to the fact that humans in this extant form (Homo sapiens sapiens) evolved overtime from the ancestral timeline of some hominid species. For a baseline knowledge of this, you can check out this post and this post . But as it were; there are some distinguishing…"


Poor Misunderstood Exponential Curve. It Gets Better

by @flyyingkiwi

thumb

"Let’s start this post with a famous story. Sessa, an Indian minister, invented the game of chess and presented his king with a beautiful wooden chessboard. Fascinated with his new toy, and feeling in a generous mood, the king asked Sessa to name any payment for the marvellous gift.…"


Announcing the second SteemSTEM meetup: Bringing Steem to Virgo Labs

by @steemstem

thumb

"As announced in our 2018 summer update, we are excited to announce the 2nd steemSTEM meetup at Virgo! After having organised a visit down at the Large Hadron Collider at CERN in February 2018 (see here for the final report), steemSTEM is now bringing Steem to the Virgo research laboratory in Pisa…"


TIL: Cool Mantis Facts!

by @ruth-girl

thumb

"Hello there! Do you remember this little guy from The Mantis Concert post? This superstar belongs to one of the 2,400 species of Mantises in the world! How did they get their name? Because of their weird body shape! Their big forearms and their upright posture resembling a…"


Taking a Bath during a Storm is Dangerous- Myth or Reality?

by @greenrun

thumb

"If you grew up in Nigeria, there is a big chance you must've heard a fair share of myths and legends. Some genuinely believe these to be true while others, maybe due to education plus enlightenment, may just take some of the stories as folktales. For instance, some think that whistling at night is…"


Crystal structures: understanding the strength of materials from "first principle"

by @henrychidiebere

thumb

"Matter can be defined in straight terms as anything that has inertia and occupies space (not space, as in astronomical space, lol). It exists in four basic form; the liquid, solid, gas and plasma. The major focus of this work is on the incompressible state of matter, the solid. Ever wondered why two…"


Bizarre Red Velvet Mite In The Genus Trombidium

by @dber

thumb

"The search for mushrooms sometimes turns up strange things - and this is no exception. The Red Velvet Mite, a member of the genus Trombidium, is about the brightest insect I have ever seen in real life. We saw this thing crawling around from five feet away, even though it was only a few millimeters…"


Science, Religion, and the Limits of Testability

by @mountainwashere

thumb

"Can science and religion coexist? It's a frequent topic of discussion in all sorts of circles, especially in certain contentious internet based ones. Flame wars between fundamentalists and atheists are a dime a dozen on the internet. Our society does seem to be becoming increasingly secular. So can…"


Mad Lad Scientist Heals Millions

by @lesshorrible

thumb

"In today´s post I will cover a topic I wanted to write about for such a long time. It has everything I find intriguing in a good story: an unsolved mystery, unknown danger, a daring hero and a well-deserved reward and happy ending. This story led to the discovery of a cure for one of the most…"


Doppler effect - physics explained

by @zen-art

thumb

"Can you guess what time it is? It is time for some science again and to be more precise, it's time for physics explained series. Today, I will write about an interesting little effect that happens with waves but before we start, here is the list of posts that I have already published in this series:…"


Rockhounding at work this past week

by @bitfiend

thumb

"Hello Steemians! While I have been a little preoccupied with work for the last two weeks, I could not help but keep my eyes to the ground every time I walked over some rocks. So this morning I want to share a picture of each of the agates I found. They aren't very big so I didn't want to get into…"


DMPC bilayer lipid membrane @290K

by @dexterdev

thumb

"This is a 320 nanoseconds long molecular dynamics simulation of a DMPC lipid bilayer patch in a water box at 290K. Water molecules are not shown for clarity."


Building a Bluetooth adapter for the Skywatcher AZ-EQ6 telescope mount

by @astrophoto.kevin

thumb

"This Post will show you, how you can easily build a Bluetooth adapter for your AZ-EQ6 mount to control it wirelessly from a computer with EQMOD . This should also work with other Skywatcher mounts, but I have only tested it for my AZ-EQ6. If you have your computer for controlling the mount attached…"


Space Warfare - An Area Denial Strategy For Poor Countries

by @procrastilearner

thumb

"On June 18 2018 U.S. President Donald Trump signed into existence the US Space Force which will be a new arm of the American military separate from the Air Force, Army, Marines, Coast Guard and Navy. This got me thinking more seriously…"


amateur PROnouns

Today I Learned: Why Do We Write the Pronoun "I" in Upper Case?

by @ybanezkim26

thumb

"While having launch earlier, I was reading some articles and I was bothered by that small letter "i" in one article posted here. I have to be honest that I am really particular with grammar and semantics. I always made it a conscious effort to edit my posts multiple times before uploading them.…"


Growing things

The ultimate step by step garden pond tutorial with many pictures. 🐟 A how to, for a home for your fishes and water plant. ​🌱 DIY

by @avizor

thumb

"Hello dear steemians and gardening fans out there, today i like to present you a how to how to build up a garden pond. Yes you always start with a big pit. It tooks us 2 days with 2 man and only manpower to burrow it out. It has space for about 3000Liters water. The pit can have several levels to…"


Folklore

Legends of the Southwest: La Llorona

by @pinkspectre

thumb

"The Southwest is a mystic, colorful land, rife with a variety of legends and tales. Some of these tales, like the legend of La Llorona, are so eerie they have pervaded the minds of all those who grew up with the stories. Gabriel Perez Salazar. Wikimedia Commons The story of La Llorona is a horror…"


FOOD

"English food is boring"...NO BLOODY WAY: Two Aussie's eat their way around England

by @galenkp

thumb

"I thought I'd do something a little different tonight and share some of the incredible meals we have been enjoying whilst holidaying in the UK. Coming from Adelaide in South Australia where we have a pretty solid food-culture I didn't really know what to expect from the food here in England however…"


Meat but not animal: Veggie steak

by @nonzerosum

thumb

"Meat but not animal is a concept that I’ve really got into lately. I spent the first 30 or so years of my life as a meat eater, and I did love me a good steak every now and then. So when I saw this product in my local Tescos I just had to try it out. At the beginning of 2017 I decided to reduce my…"


Big, beautiful world

Bold Venture Park and Darwen Tower

by @slobberchops

thumb

"After my recent failure to conquer Pen-y-ghent, I sought out something a little easier to climb this weekend and also a little closer to home. Darwen is closer and the tower an easier climb for sure. The weather was also lovely and sunny unlike last weeks’ gloomfest. This tower is quite prominent…"


My climbing Mount Vesuvius. Part #2

by @zirochka

thumb

"Hello, friends! It is a continuation of yesterday's story about special day of my Italian vacations - visiting Vesuvio and Pompei. My climbing Mount Vesuvius. Part #1 The top appeared unexcpectedly as I thought I'll be more tired :) There are a lot of equipment like sensors here and there on the…"


A fortnight in the mighty Himalayas on a bicycle! Part IV

by @twowheeledmonkey

thumb

"Many moons ago, I knew nothing about cycling. For that matter even now I just about balance my bike and life! This story is about how I got into serious cycling after giving it up in my school days. Previous Episode Recap: On a desolate stretch of road, four big, mean looking viscous mountain dogs…"


Climbing Mount Batur - Bali Indonesia

by @peterveronika

thumb

"I love trekking and climbing mountains, the challenge of looking at a peak high in the clouds and knowing that I’m going to be up there makes me want to run all the way to the top in one go. So when Peter and I were on Bali and I saw a poster for the sunrise trek to the top of Mount Batur, I knew I…"


Somewhere in Europe #18: Drachenfels, Germany (Looking for the dragon and the Rhine treasure...)

by @r00sj3

thumb

"Remember that cathedral in Cologne that I didn't like? We went to visit the place where the building material came from, Drachenfels in the Siebengebirge. That probably doesn't mean much to you. But let me translate that for you and let your imagination take you there. Drachenfels means Dragon's…"


Crypto community and steemitself

Yensesa Tokens Share-drop Campaign - Join us as we build and become the biggest decentralized exchange in Africa.

by @yensesa

thumb

"In early 2018 the Yensesa team began working to solve the biggest issue facing Steemians and other crypto believers in the African community: Converting hard-earned Steem / SBD into fiat currency without losing significant value to fees & poor exchange rates in the process. By May of 2018 Yensesa…"


Steem Pay Update - Creating the First REAL ECONOMY on Steem Blockchain!

by @asbear

thumb

"https://github.com/ianpark/steempay New Steem Pay is release with powerful features for offline commerce. Steem Pay will create the first REAL ECONOMY on Steem blockchain! I am excited to announce that a new Steem Pay is released with powerful features for offline commerce. This version introduces…"


Now Accepting Steem and SBD ( Steem Dollars ) - A Post about a Company Supporting Cryptocurrency

by @austinvisuals

thumb

"Our company AustinVisuals.com has been around for over 10 years. By the nature of what we do and who we are, we are always on the cutting edge of technology. We have been recently selected to work on a project called Steem Monsters. We are very excited to be able to bring this project to life. In an…"


Transforming Content Promotion on Steemit.com Through Better Use of the "Promoted" Functionality

by @techslut

thumb

"The way the "Promoted" tab on Steemit.com is intended to work is rather efficient. By "burning" the payment for promotion, this allows for the growth of the token value. Unfortunately, it doesn't work and it's unclear if Trending should even be "the real Promoted". I propose a possible solution I…"


So, what's all this then?

My goals here are to foster interaction on steem and provide visibility for good content.

Why not just resteem

This is basically a UI issue; I've noted in my feed that some great accounts which resteem dozens of times a day tend to drown out other posts. Until there's a way to separate author-content from resteems in there general steem-verse (i.e. on Steemit), I don't like resteeming much.

Criteria and format

The only real criterion I have is that the article should be something I was happy to have read. Ideally, it would be recent enough to still be active for 3 to 4 days after I post. A few other other things:

  • There's no restriction on category, though I tend to read more STEM/nerdy stuff
  • The list is not exhaustive
  • If I left you off, it's not because I don't think your post was worth reading
  • I'm still figuring out how to arrange topics
  • Post order is like the point system on 'Whose Line Is It Anyway' - meaningless
  • If you're a prolific author, I might only list one post in full format, then mention others.
  • If I post your stuff a lot, I may leave you out from time to time to make room for others.
  • If time allows, I may provide commentary on posts, but right now I'm letting them stand on their own merits.
  • Artists! I'm trying to post your art in such a way that people can see enough of it to know if they want to follow the link. I definitely don't want to just repost your stuff in full resolution. Let me know what makes you happy.

Call to Action

I enjoyed compiling this list and you can do it, too. Even if your vote counts for nothing and you have 3 whole followers, start keeping track of what you actually liked reading and let the world know about it. I don't think there's a relevant tag yet, so let's go ahead and use #readinglog. If there is a better tag out there, let me know.

Remember, a community without interactions is just a bunch of people. Comment, vote, promote, even resteem!

Copyright Info

Logo modified from CC0 material on Pixabay by OpenClipart-Vectors, and released under the same.

Preview images are from the referenced posts and source information should be contained therein. Preview text is directly quoted from post and the property of that post's author(s).

Sort:  

Thanks for taking the time to read the nonsense I put out. It truly means a lot to know that in the few months I’ve been on here, people ACTUALLY do read my crap!! Lol. You as always, are a rockstar.

Not only am I reading it, but your posts (along with others in the comics corner) have been slowly reigniting what had become a passive hobby into an active interest again. Thank goodness for digital comics, since physically downsizing was one of the main reasons I didn't want to start collecting again.

Insert evil laugh here...

52520967-5F91-4A16-AEE7-1D34BD288A01.jpeg

Ha! So much so that I'm considering attending my first con ever (I know). There's a good one a reasonable drive from me coming up in a month.

Any tips for a first-timer on a budget with a (super-awesome) toddler in tow?

Congratulations @effofex! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Belgium vs Japan


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks a lot for the mention, really appreciated!
(And now I have to check the other posts… I hope you don't mind if I use your hard work to add new profiles on my directory... but you seem to be a great source of information. Are you a talent-magnet? ;-))

I'd be delighted if you used my logs to find people, connecting creators is a lot of what this is all about. Not a talent magnet, just years of experience browsing the internet.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 4 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 19 SBD worth and should receive 127 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations @derekvonzarovich and @galenkp, the random number generator has smiled upon both of you, picking your posts from those who were featured today and telling me to sponsor your both for a share in @steembasicincome. The transfer should go active within a few days.

Pretty good posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34