My Reading Log: Interesting Stuff From the Past Few Days (2018-07-04)

in #readinglog6 years ago

I keep track of any posts on the Steem blockchain which I've found worth reading. Here's the stuff I've enjoyed over the last few days.

logo_v1.png

Happy reading!

Universal basic income

Lots of news in the Manna Email

by @mannacurrency

thumb

"People's Currency Website is Live! We are excited to announce the launch of the People’s Currency Foundation website. PeoplesCurrency.org is a place to learn about Manna and the nonprofit organization backing the currency. Also, how to get involved with the project, and how to donate to help make…"


STEM

Medical Mysteries: The Dance Epidemic of 1518

by @mike961

thumb

"Hello Steemians, I´m back! I apologize for these almost three weeks without posting, I've been busier than ever, and I had to dedicate myself solely to my studies. But having finished that for now, I find myself with some free time and a desire to share my wisdom with you, my dear audience. To…"


"I'm Definitely More Intelligent Than The Average Person"

by @justtryme90

thumb

"Did the title make you think I am a jerk? Maybe it would if you thought it was something that I think, or that I have even said (it's not), I'm far too self deprecating for that sort of thing. Rather, it represents the thoughts of many, maybe even you (and it may even be true... or not!). In fact I…"


An Insight into The Deterioration of Matters by Corrosion and Rusting

by @rubies

thumb

"Good day to you all, thanks for always reading my post. It is another moment to discuss two related terms "rust and corrosion". Are these two terms the same? we will get to find an answer to the pending question in the article…"


Maggot Therapy - Propelling into Limelight the science of how maggot heal wounds faster than surgeons

by @olasamuel

"Have you ever stooped by the side of the bush defecating and then you see house flies buzzing on your faeces. Not long from that time, you might notice some whitish insect on your faeces; these whitish creepy insect are breeded by the flies and are called larvae. You might have also seen worms on…"


Sci-Hub & the future of publishing: Library Science Talk in Zurich

by @dhimmel

thumb

"Here is the recording of a presentation I recently gave on June 26, 2018 at Zentralbibliothek Zürich in Switzerland. The topic is Sci-Hub and the future of publishing. Introduction by Lothar Schmitt. The talk is followed by a discussion between Rafael Ball (Director of the ETH Library), @dhimmel,…"


Journey through the understanding of particle physics - Five

by @irelandscape

thumb

"Note: This post has been updated with corrections following helpful feedback from @lemouth. The original text is preserved and crossed to give historical context to the post. Many thanks to @lemouth for reviewing the post. In the past few posts I have tried to explained in my own words some of the…"


Everything is A Stardust - Origin of The Elements

by @kedi

thumb

"The periodical table of the chemical elements you see in the image below is not a regular periodic table with numbers that represent elements and a number of electrochemical properties. This time, the symbols of the elements in the squares and some letters are shown in the table. These are the…"


New Gridcoin BOINC Challenge: Cosmology@Home - Installing VirtualBox and configuring the project

by @moisesmcardona

thumb

"Hi everyone, Today, a new BOINC challenge for the project Cosmology@Home started. This challenge was issued by Team Gridcoin: I went ahead and added my machines to this project, only to realize I need VirtualBox installed: So in order to crunch tasks for this project, I went to install VirtualBox as…"


The Amateur Mycologist - Parque Oncol, Mycena cyanocephala, and more.

by @dber

thumb

"These posts are not for foraging. They are intended for entertainment and intellectual satisfaction only. These posts are not a field guide nor comprehensive in any way - their accuracy is not assured in any way. Do not eat wild mushrooms unless you are a professional, have substantial professional…"


The Bone Island Honey Hole : Fossil Hunting on Florida’s Peace River

by @galacticstone

thumb

"Photo : the view downstream on the Peace River, as seen from the boat ramp. Hunting the dark waters and sandy banks of Florida's Peace River - in search of ancient bones, teeth, and artifacts. SOME BACKGROUND : For a span of three years, I had access to a large stretch of private property along on…"


Estimating Total Biomass on Earth

by @davidrhodes124

thumb

"A recent paper has attempted to document the biomass distribution on earth: Bar-On, Y.M., Phillips, R., Milo, R. The biomass distribution on Earth. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. U.S.A. 115: 6506-6511 (2018) Bar-On et al (2018) calculate the total biomass on earth to be 550 Gt C (where 1 Gt C = 1015 g of…"


Can Diesel engines run on Vegetable oil? Let's find out.

by @rharphelle

thumb

"Technology has been undoubtedly a blessing to the human race. A lot of things that have not been possible before now have come to be a piece of cake (or akara) all in the name of technology. However, technology is not a total bed of roses as it has its own bad effects (pardon me, I am not in for a…"


Big, beautiful world

13.06.2017 Vietnam, Ninh Bình

by @traveleranna

thumb

"If you have ever stayed in a hostel, you know about the discussion around the airconditioning. Some like the aircon set at room temperature, a few degrees difference from outside. Some like to set the aircon to the freezing point. And there are people who don't like to use the aircon at all, like…"


Welcome to sunflower land

by @cristinaaa

thumb

"I'm here again, where I grew up. It's sunflower time and sunny :) after many rainy days. I feel good and I'm smiling just for being in this place. When it comes to colors, I change my preferences after surroundings. During winter, I can't get enough white. In autumn, I love rusty leaves and the most…"


10,000 year old water and a 2,000 year old bath: Two Aussie's travel the world

by @galenkp

thumb

"It's getting on to 10pm here in England right now, it's still light outside but getting dimmer. We've had a big day today starting with a bit of a debacle; I'll write about that some other time though. We were on the road early and heading to Bath, Somerset which is well known for it's Roman history…"


Chasing Wonders: Mapanas’ Stunning Rock Formations

by @jhezontheroad

thumb

"Rock Formations are natural wonders that are usually a result of weathering and erosion carving the existing rock. It is common in areas where forces of nature are in boundless work, like a wave constantly crashing into a cliffed coast. The Philippines, being an archipelago in the Pacific, is lucky…"


My First Drone Video Dtube Post - Andes Mountain Dream Exploration v.1.0

by @snowyknight

thumb

"Here is my first dtube post... ever! It is awesome original drone footage from the Andes, of course put to music. Introduction: There are not many #science or #steemstem video posts here. So I wanted to start with one. This posts shows some of the most amazing scenery on earth which allows insight…"


Ireland & the back arse of nowhere #14: Trim Castle (Those medieval people..!! )

by @r00sj3

thumb

"I am sorry for having to do this to you again, but I have another castle blog up my sleeves. There are still interesting parts of Ireland that I haven't covered in my Ireland series. And so, here we have another one. This blog will be about Trim Castle, the largest Norman castle in Ireland. We…"


Environment

Browsing the Destruction of the Amazon from the Ground Up

by @mobbs

thumb

"Now that the blockchain is all patched up, I figured what better way to celebrate than to follow a river south deep within the Amazon Rainforest? As usual, I picked a random spot in the forest and zoomed in, to see a surprisingly detailed, perfectly lush jungle, perhaps untouched by a single human…"


Economics and The Environment Part 1: The Cost of Climate Change

by @mountainwashere

thumb

"I'm going to start this series off with a pretty direct thesis: Our current system economically incentivizes civilization to cause much, if not most, of the environmental damage it does to our planet, and that in order to mitigate or heal that damage, we're going to need to address the underlying…"


Economics and The Environment Part 2: Legibility

by @mountainwashere

thumb

"In the late 1700s, the Germanic states of Prussia and Saxony began the development of "scientific forestry." Rather than the mess of random trees growing all over, the authorities decided to clearcut the forests and replace them entirely with Norway spruce in neat, parallel rows. Underbrush…"


FOOD

HOPii - Your Personal Micro-Brewery

by @kimp0gi

thumb

"HOPii Your Personal Micro-Brewery Screenshots Hunter's comment You can now brew the perfect beer from your very own home. Introducing HOPii a unique brewing machine that produces the freshest craft beer straight from your kitchen. And there's no brewing skills required! The machine uses closed-loop…"


@joyrobinson's "NON-FRY Fried Ice Cream Dessert" Recipe

by @joyrobinson

thumb

"Welcome to: Last week, I made a low fat fruit cheesecake ice cream which I used for making my first ever fried ice cream dessert but unlike other fried ice cream, this one is non-fried. The key to perfection of making fried ice cream lies on the solidness of the frozen ball shape ice cream and the…"


The Garlic Scape Harvest: How To Harvest & EASY Recipes To Enjoy!

by @walkerland

thumb

"When you plant hardneck garlic they will develop what is called a scape (flower stalk). This is a thick curly stalk in the center of the leaves. You’ll recognize the scape by its tubular shape and distinctive curl. This scape is delicious and one of the first big harvests from our garden. Removal of…"


Art, games, and geekery

DTUBE - David 8 and xenomorph (Alien- Covenant, Чужой Завет) (ES)

by @elenasteem

thumb

"Hello dear friends! I like digital painting and graphics (pen, pen, marker). But now I am at the stage of development and mastering of these directions. However, this is a ladder to the sky, there is no end point, I understand it, and interest guides me. I want to give positive and happiness to…"


daily drawings: Deku Tree

by @azbeen

thumb

"Hello, today I finished a new tree illustration. It's a Deku tree from the "Legend of Zelda series" I've also included the process. Enjoy!

"


Collab With lovely @silentscreamer - cover of "Beethoven Moonlight sonata" and "AC/DC Thunderstruck".

by @adelepazani

thumb

"i am honored to have a collaboration with wonderful @silentscreamer kind ,beautiful and very talented girl , her voice is incredible and i love the way she sing , she is a great Violinist , i remember the first time i watched her video with my mother we both enjoyed a lot , and now we have a collab!…"


my latest painting War Bunny posting first on Steemit

by @stahlberg

thumb

"Painted in Photoshop, this one took a really long time, it was really difficult, I recorded a video of it but it's not narrated yet..."


Some sketching before going to bed

by @cookiespooky

thumb

"Good night, Steemit!

"


Introducing Steemwhale.io - Donate some steem to a life sized (18 meter / 60 feet) fake whale and get her spouting just for you!

by @roelandp

thumb

"I've been working on this for quite a while. A fun project for a good cause. What it is? A life-sized (60 feet) sperm whale on the Steem blockchain. The whale sprays at random intervals, but through SteemWhale.io you can donate some Steem (virtual currency from the Steem blockchain) and get an…"


New Dragon Eye Pendant

by @starjewel

thumb

"One of my favorite motif in my jewelry making is the dragon, especially the dragon-eye. I like the idea behind the dragons and the whole concept of protection associated with wisdom and confidence. Hey... whatever works to make us feel amazing!!! A beautiful statement necklace is a conversation…"


Horror Review: My Top Six Favorite Richard Laymon Novels

by @modernzorker

thumb

"I've noted in past reviews that Laymon's an author who provokes a violent emotional response in his readers. You either hate Laymon or you think he's phenomenal; only a person who's never read one of his books remains neutral. He's either going to win your heart with his missives, or he'll go too…"


Crypto games

Crypto, Cuteness and Blockchain Battlegrounds [Spotlight on Axie Infinity]

by @creativecrypto

thumb

"The Awakening of Blockchain Games The blockchain gaming space is coming out with new advancements each day, converging the benefits of tokenized and decentralized play with unique creativity and community engagement. Gamifying blockchain just might be the key to enticing a new generation of gamers…"


A New Revolutionary Blockchain Game On Steem In The Making?

by @blockgames

thumb

"NB: Image is NOT from the game. The game uses 2,5d Hexes I recently started hearing rumors about some people planning some amazing projects on Steem. Amongst these projects were a blockchain based game. Recently there has been a lot of Cryptokitties clones coming out, as well as other type of games…"


Steem Monsters Tech Talk - Part 3 - Now With More Decentralization!

by @yabapmatt

thumb

"Scanning the Whole Blockchain Combining or transfering Steem Monsters cards requires the owner to publish a custom_json transaction to the blockchain using their private posting key in order to authorize the transaction. Prior to today, that had to be done through the Steem Monsters website or else…"


Steem Monsters Weekly Recap!

by @steemmonsters

thumb

"Steem Monsters Weekly Recap! Greetings Steem Monsters Family! It is I, @isaria, here to keep you up to date with the latest news from Steem Monsters. There's a lot going on, so in case you missed it...... New Steemit Users can now create a Steem account included with their starter pack purchase!!!…"


Crypto and steemitself

Codex Celebrates Launch of Codex Viewer Beta with Giveaway and Quests

by @cc-billboard

thumb

"Screenshot from the Codex Website A few days ago Codex, a decentralized registry for art and collectibles, opened public beta access to it's Codex Viewer dApp . Codex stores an item’s identity securely on the blockchain as a Codex Record. To buy or sell, get insurance, or take out a loan, previous…"


Understanding Steemhunt and How to Craft a Good Hunt

by @fknmayhem

thumb

"The key to becoming a successful hunter on Steemhunt is obviously to understand what Steemhunt exactly is. While we continue our endless fight against ranking manipulation and comment upvote abuse, a certain number of hunters have started to find their groove, while others have struggled to find…"


Curation myths, minnows, and implications, post017

by @spbeckman

thumb

"I've been on Steemit now for around 2-3 months and have a SP of around 50. (All my profit goes into SP.) I've made a few observations about curation that I thought were noteworthy. At first, these observations were focused on how minnows should operate if they want to profit from curation, but as I…"


Introducing QuickSteem - Create Steem Accounts with Ease!

by @buildteam

thumb

"Hello Steemians! @upheaver here bringing you exciting news about a BuildTeam product launch! Today we are launching QuickSteem. It's an easy to use app for creating pre-funded STEEM accounts using cryptocurrencies like BTC, ETH, LTC and several others. Using the QuickSteem App Actions speak louder…"


Paying My Hosting Subscription With SBD!

by @trumpman

thumb

"Here's something cool I discovered a few days ago that might come in handy for some of you. There is a popular hosting service (I will not disclose the name) that I am using a few years now for various purposes. So, like so many times before, the moment to renew my monthly plan came.. I click "pay…"


HF20 Exploratory Data Analysis on Proposed PayOut Changes

by @paulag

thumb

"The upcoming HF20 proposes to make changes in how pay-out is rewarded. The proposed changes will affect posts in which there are votes cast in the first 15 minutes. Repository https://github.com/steemit/steem Currently rewards from votes cast in the first 30 min are on a curve on the split between…"


STEEM Power Rarer Than Gold And Diamonds?

by @taskmaster4450

thumb

"@abh12345 put up an interesting post yesterday that stimulated some very good conversation but also got me thinking. In his post, @abh12345 made the case that for focusing upon one's own account. Essentially, his point is we need more of a middle class on STEEM and too many spent time looking for…"


Blockchain...poetry?

Toil the Chain - a tribute to the short lived haltening of 2018

by @aggroed

thumb

"There are strange things done long past the sun By the those who toil the chain In your darkest hours and by hidden powers many people help the Steem rain. On nerves worn thin and a crooked grin the coders cracked their bones Then mad minds raced and secrets chased for what made fluid turn to stone.…"


Health and wellness

4 common meditation mistakes (and how to solve them)

by @livelifefullest

thumb

"Do you make these common mistakes during your meditations? Find out how to prevent and dissolve them to get more out of your meditation. 1. Sit down My meditations have become so much better as soon as I saw this. When I started with daily meditation, I just sat down. And after a while I became…"


Curation and community

Interesting Steemians I follow

by @steemonkey

thumb

"Hello everyone. It's about time I wrote about some of the interesting people I have had the pleasure of meeting on Steemit. Please do check out their work and consider following them. They are good people who deserve to be heard. I will start where I started. The first 2 people I followed on here…"


Triangle Theory: Where We Go Next

by @thewritersblock

thumb

"We at The Writers’ Block have a big announcement to make. Huge. Earth-shaking, tradition-shattering, and pretty darn exciting! We’ve talked about our publishing house for a while now. Recently we connected with @instructor2121 and learned about his latest project, which is building customized…"


Slothicorn Art Curation Sponsorship with SmartCash Proposal

by @slothicorn

thumb

"Hello everyone! We’re looking for new ways to reward artists and curators for their work. To that end, we’re working on a proposal to the SmartCash SmartHive in hopes of receiving a month-long sponsorship for our Daily Art Curation. What is SmartCash? “SmartCash is a project born out of the desire…"


3D Printing

Trolls in the forest.

by @evilhippie

thumb

"Beware! Deep in the Nordic forests the trolls lurk. If you venture there, be prepared. They may seem polite at first, even friendly, but dont be fooled. They have dark and sinister minds and will do you no good. The last few weeks have disappeared in a blur of work. I have had far to much external…"


3D printable Kindle Case template

by @pbock

thumb

"So, it's been a long while since my last 3D design. I could blame it on the whole "my favorite tool changed the entire UI", but that's just kind of a lazy way of avoiding the problem, which was that I was busy... very busy. Learning more about Blockchains, Ethereum, and how to develop Smart…"


So, what's all this then?

My goals here are to foster interaction on steem and provide visibility for good content.

Why not just resteem

This is basically a UI issue; I've noted in my feed that some great accounts which resteem dozens of times a day tend to drown out other posts. Until there's a way to separate author-content from resteems in there general steem-verse (i.e. on Steemit), I don't like resteeming much.

Criteria and format

The only real criterion I have is that the article should be something I was happy to have read. Ideally, it would be recent enough to still be active for 3 to 4 days after I post. A few other other things:

  • There's no restriction on category, though I tend to read more STEM/nerdy stuff
  • The list is not exhaustive
  • If I left you off, it's not because I don't think your post was worth reading
  • I'm still figuring out how to arrange topics
  • Post order is like the point system on 'Whose Line Is It Anyway' - meaningless
  • If you're a prolific author, I might only list one post in full format, then mention others.
  • If I post your stuff a lot, I may leave you out from time to time to make room for others.
  • If time allows, I may provide commentary on posts, but right now I'm letting them stand on their own merits.
  • Artists! I'm trying to post your art in such a way that people can see enough of it to know if they want to follow the link. I definitely don't want to just repost your stuff in full resolution. Let me know what makes you happy.

Call to Action

I enjoyed compiling this list and you can do it, too. Even if your vote counts for nothing and you have 3 whole followers, start keeping track of what you actually liked reading and let the world know about it. I don't think there's a relevant tag yet, so let's go ahead and use #readinglog. If there is a better tag out there, let me know.

Remember, a community without interactions is just a bunch of people. Comment, vote, promote, even resteem!

Copyright Info

Logo modified from CC0 material on Pixabay by OpenClipart-Vectors, and released under the same.

Preview images are from the referenced posts and source information should be contained therein. Preview text is directly quoted from post and the property of that post's author(s).

Sort:  

Thanks for the mention and great list as always!

Congratulations @mobbs and @steemonkey, the random number generator has smiled upon both of you, picking your posts from those who were featured today and telling me to sponsor your both for a share in @steembasicincome. The transfer should go active within a few days.

How nice. Thanks for the write up :)

You're quite welcome, I enjoy posts such as yours which broaden connections in the community. I found more than a few new people to follow thanks to you.

Congratulations @effofex! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Day 4


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @effofex! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The semi-finals are coming. Be ready!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @effofex! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Brazil vs Belgium


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82