My Reading Log: Interesting Stuff From the Past Few Days (2018-08-10)

in #readinglog6 years ago

I keep track of any posts on the Steem blockchain which I've found worth reading. Here's the stuff I've enjoyed over the last few days.

logo_v1.png

Happy reading!

Steemitself

Steem Basic Income, rShares, and Automation

by @steembasicincome

thumb

"Steem Basic Income is a social experiment to bring a basic income to as many Steemians as possible. Members join by sponsoring others into the program. Steem Basic Income is delivered through providing regular upvotes to member content. Automation Progress Big thanks to @holger80…"


Steem Velocity Hardfork - Hardfork 20

by @steemitblog

thumb

"In today’s post, we will provide you with a summary of the changes in the Velocity Hardfork (i.e. Hardfork 20). The goal of this post is to be the definitive guide for all of the changes included in the Hardfork which is scheduled to take place on Tuesday, September 25, at 11:00am EST. The changes…"


AI Recommendations Coming To STEEM

by @taskmaster4450

thumb

"This is a very interesting project that I wanted to share with everyone. To me, this is starting to make STEEM look a bit more like the traditional social media sites. We are all familiar with AI recommendations. YouTube and Netflix excel at this. In fact, your entire page, unless specified,…"


I Will Be Sharing About Steemit At An Education Conference

by @alvinauh

thumb

"Today I received a bit of a good news. I have been given the go-ahead to share about how I use Steemit in language learning. What is amazing in my opinion was that the conference organizers actually said yes. To give a bit of a background, I was given a partial paid trip to Suzhou, China to present…"


Introducing Lightsteem: A thin Python client for Steem

by @emrebeyler

thumb

"Lightsteem is a light python 3.6+ client to interact with the STEEM blockchain. It's simple and stupid. You ask something, you get something. After working extensively with steem-python and beem in the past, I found myself frusturated while debugging simple scripts. Both of these…"


Understanding Bid.bot : Promotion With Instant ROI

by @star-vc

thumb

"Hello wonderful people on #Steemit! Greetings to one and all. Hope you all are doing well in your life! In today's article, we're going to be discussing about an exclusive guaranteed ROI promotional services, i.e. @bid.bot . Furthermore, we are going to be discussing about how it is different from…"


Busy v2 Final Updates, Pivot Strategy And Plan For Busy v3 MVP And Token, Team Update & Partnership

by @busy.org

thumb

"What’s New With Busy? First, we are proud to report that Busy v2 is nearing completion! Boasting all the features you’ve come to expect, from editing to the enhanced vote slider and notifications, Busy both achieved and maintained status as the #2 most used app on the Steem blockchain, right behind…"


How Do You Determine Vote Percentages? I'm Having Trouble Keeping VP Up

by @daan

thumb

"I've been having trouble lately keeping up my vote power (VP), due to following quite a lot of curation trails and being pretty generous with my vote percentages. Maybe I should come up with some rules for myself when upvoting other people's posts and comments. Currently, I'm usually voting above…"


STEM

How to create perfume: the story of the master class with indie perfumer

by @veta-less

thumb

"Hello friends! Besides that I love drawing, traveling and photography, I'm passionate about perfume. I am a perfumer collector and a member of the Russian perfumery community. Our perfumery community organizes lectures, meetings with perfumers. I also visited several master classes from an indie…"


The nature of waves - physics explained

by @zen-art

thumb

"Waves have always been one of my favorite physics topics and so it is only natural for them to take their place in my physics explained series. I have already said, in one of my previous posts, how I want to explain sound to you but before I do, vibration and waves have to come first. We already…"


The Amateur Mycologist - Valdivia, Chile

by @dber

thumb

"These posts are not for foraging. They are intended for entertainment and intellectual satisfaction only. These posts are not a field guide nor comprehensive in any way - their accuracy is not assured in any way. Do not eat wild mushrooms unless you are a professional, have substantial professional…"


Steemit Usernames Written In the Genetic Codes

by @scienceangel

thumb

"Endless lines of numbers and gene symbols is all I've been looking at for the past several days. I know, sounds waaaay more fun than it really is!!! Of course it does, keep telling that to yourself... Only biology and math nerds will understand, Ahem. Anyways. During all…"


Alice in Wonderland Syndrome - Fairytale turns real life Nightmare

by @florae

thumb

"“Alice in Wonderland” is a children’s story written by Lewis Carroll. The story talked about a bored little girl named Alice who followed a rabbit into a rabbit hole and landed in a world of anthropomorphism which Lewis described as “Wonderland”. In this strange land, Alice…"


Some Problem with the Superpowers

by @greenrun

thumb

"The superhero with superpowers is the stuff of legends and folklores dating as far back as ever since humans developed the art of storing information and passing of stories from generation to generation. Oftentimes we all wish to get a huge green version of ourselves that can obliterate the noisy…"


How to count to 31 on one hand

by @mathowl

thumb

"There is no need to be a scary monster with 31 fingers/legs to count to 31 you can actually do it using only 5 fingers and the power of mathematics. Methods that come natural to us are usually not the most efficient/best. This also concerns counting with the fingers on your hand(s). Counting to 5…"


The "Comet Assay" [eng]

by @sco

thumb

"This method, less eloquently also called "single cell gel electrophoresis", is used to assess DNA damage in cells. A molecular biological/toxicological method named after a beautiful astronomic object? What the...? Now it's time. After teaching you the gospel of genotoxicity, I…"


Genotoxicity. [eng]

by @sco

thumb

"It is as bad as it sounds. How can chemical agents cause DNA damages, what are the consequences and how do our cells react to it? You might have noticed that my last full post was a while ago. The reason is that at the moment we are in the middle of a very labor-intensive animal…"


Urban Geology Part 1: Manhattan

by @mountainwashere

thumb

"The character of any city will to a great degree be shaped by its underlying geology. Chicago's even, straight grid is possible thanks to its flat terrain. San Francisco's steep hills underlie much of its mystique. London's relationship with the Thames has driven so much of its history. New York has…"


Running state-of-the-art particle physics research on Steem - a status report after 3 months

by @lemouth

thumb

"There are many developers and people with programming skills hanging around on Steem and in particular around Utopian.io. Three months ago, I asked these people a very simple question. Would they be interested in contributing to state-of-the-art research in particle physics? [image credits:…"


Growing plants

My First Compost Tea

by @skycae

thumb

"Hello all! I am starting to write again, but don't expect a bunch of effort and fanciness still for a while. I just wanna share my compost tea and my cute face haha. Thinks are good at Cedarville, crazy, intense and somewhat chaotic, but lovely. Luckily, I am resilient! Its my first time making…"


A visit to my 3 sisters corn patch

by @amberyooper

thumb

"Hello, steemians, and welcome to my page, eh! I took the mower up to the community garden this afternoon to mow the grass around my garden plot. I had not mowed it for several weeks so it needed to be done. For a while in mid July, the grass wasn't growing because it was hot and dry, but a couple of…"


Growing your head

Booklover's Day: What's On YOUR Nightstand?

by @modernzorker

thumb

"Today is Booklover's Day, a celebration of everything there is to love about the written word. As proposed by the radiant @ilsaione, the question is: what are you currently reading? This bad boy right here is my current obsession: *The New Annontated H.P. Lovecraft" edited by Les Klinger. At nearly…"


Today is Book Lover's Day

by @ilsaione

thumb

"Unknown who started this day, it is an actual "weird" holiday. So, let's find a nice place to rest or just sit in a comfy chair and read one of our favorite books. Without trying to sound trendy, let's just see what the last book you read, or are currently reading is. The book on my nightstand is…"


Book Review: Charles Stross' Laundry Files Series

by @mountainwashere

thumb

"Charles Stross' Laundry Files books are my single favorite series of spy thrillers, bar none. They're also my single favorite Lovecraftian horror series, bar none. I don't know what provoked Charles Stross to write Lovecraftian spy thrillers, but it makes me deliriously happy. In the…"


I Have A Lot Of Books

by @phoenixwren

thumb

"...and I love it, so phhhbt. 😁 I've already given away about 25% of what I originally had, so that's a lot into Little Free Libraries! This is what I've been working on today. I finished emptying the armoire-desk-turned-bookshelf and dismantled it. It wasn't meant to hold that kind of weight, it was…"


Food

I just love this!! But not everybody does

by @karinxxl

thumb

"One of my most favorite guilty pleasures is a typical Dutch candy called 'drop'. In English you might know this as licorice or liquorice and in German it is called Lakritz. But not everybody is such a fan of this as I am Wikipedia Drop (I'm just keeping the Dutch name for it) is made from a root…"


Crypto as currency

LBRY - Decentralized Content Marketplace on the Blockchain

by @daan

thumb

"LBRY is a digital content marketplace where you can publish all sorts of digital content, either free of charge or for a set price in LBRY (LBC) credits. You can use LBRY as an alternative to Youtube or Dtube, published videos can be viewed through the LBRY app or via a web-browser, but it's not…"


Do you want Steem to be used in games and other projects? Or are you OK with watching the price of Steem fall?

by @blockgames

thumb

"Chibera is a MMORPG which will use Steem as currency As you can see, the crypto market is falling. There could be several reasons, such as manipulation, ETF rejections/postponing - but even more importantly there is a huge lack of utility and need for cryptos. If you take a look at dappradar or…"


Games, art, and geekery

Drawing Saurfang from World of Warcraft - With Steps

by @theartofrez

thumb

"Hello people! Long time no see, I drew a lot in the meantime but did not have the time to share it here with you because of work. Nevertheless skills are being upgraded, no day skipping with drawing and physical activity even tough I work night shifts, just to get the food right and find some line…"


Is this the beginning of the end for video game emulation?

by @retro-room

thumb

"Emulation has been a hotly-debated topic over the years, with copyright holders calling it theft while gamers see it as preservation or playing games that are no longer commercially available. Recently, Nintendo went after a couple of smaller emulation sites which prompted Emuparadise, the largest…"


DRAWING AQUAMAN (JASON MOMOA)

by @hadley4

thumb

"It's time to take the pencil and paper in hand again, following the series of portraits I've done in recent months, where I've given myself the task of immortalizing the heroes I've followed since I was a child, especially those who are being taken to the big screen. This time it's Aquaman's turn,…"


9 Smaugust 2018

by @moderndragon

thumb

"I'm in bed with a cold/ flu so can I fill the dragonless void with a throwback to some Ravensburger puzzle illustrations I did a couple years ago. Dragon Riders Dueling Dragons You can still buy these puzzles on Amazon. Dragon Riders Dueling Dragons Dragon Riders even made it into Season 1 Episode 4…"


22# Drawitbetter Contest .The Simpsons Characters - "Mona Marge"

by @kleonella

thumb

"Hello, Steemit! Today I would like to take part in the next stage of contest of @sirsensei. The theme of the contest is "The Simpsons Characters". Previously I watched this cartoon on the TV channel 2x2, but not all seasons. I did not want to just copy the picture from the Internet with the…"


Blood Moon Diana Digital Painting with Video Process

by @adelair

thumb

"If you are a gamer and played League of Legends, you probably know who Diana is. "Bearing her crescent moonblade, Diana fights as a warrior of the Lunari—a faith all but quashed in the lands around Mount Targon. Clad in shimmering armor the color of winter snow at night, she is a living embodiment…"


STEEM MONSTERS $1,000 Game Jam Invitational!!! In collaboration with @utopian-io, @steemgg, and @blocktrades!

by @steemmonsters

thumb

"Things are progressing right along. We know you want to play Steem Monsters. We're doing all the stuff we can to make a great game experience for you. You should be seeing our first pass at stats and written rules later this month. You should be fighting each other in September! Steem Monsters Game…"


Pixel Art Weekly Returns!! Get Prepared For A Steem Monsters Invasion!!

by @jonny-clearwater

thumb

"Good TimeZone Steemit!! Pixel Art Weekly Is Back!!! My time was so consumed with my show Hots Or Shots that I had to take a little break from running the contest. However I'm proud to announce that starting this coming Monday Pixel Art Weekly returns! We have a special contest lined up for you as…"


My SpiderMan pen sketch.

by @sparrowbernard

thumb

"Some days ago I joined an art contest and lost to a digital artwork. I was so pained because I gave that drawing my best and I thought I was going to win until some hours to deadline, Some made entries into the contest with digital artworks. I was so pained and I kinda felt like blame Nigeria for…"


Batman (with process)

by @swarddraws

thumb

"Hello Steemit! Another step on my road to Gotham, figured I’d share process as I am still getting the hang of the iPad. The first step was laying out the composition of the piece. I used a few different colors to help separate the depth of field a bit. Batman is typically shown in the city, seems…"


My Black and White Singularity Drawing.

by @donnadavisart

thumb

"Here is a section of my Black and White Singularity drawing finished today. And here is the entire image done: Here is the pencil sketch I used to lay out the digital inked final piece. I usually make sketches in pencil in my journal and then scan or capture it digitally. Then I begin sketching and…"


Our robot overlords

How machine learning works and why it is such a job killer

by @mannacurrency

thumb

"Here is a video that was linked by someone earlier that is fascinating. It really shows how machines can learn. It is about 13 minutes but you can fast forward past some of the repetitive stuff.

"


[Interesteem] – DeepLearning curation project based on your interests is now released.

by @interesteem

thumb

"Hi, Steemers! I am a developer who is doing works related to machine learning, searching/recommendation by AI in a company. Haven’t you had any difficulties when you finding some postings that you’re interested in Steemit? I’m going to introduce a project to solve these problems and explain contents…"


13 - #itb8 Industrie 4.0

by @teach-it

thumb

""Industry 4.0“ has been lately one of the trending buzzwords. As I consider it again to be one of the future-forming phenomena and I absolutely want to make my students to be aware of it. source So what means 4.0? source Industry 1.0 was the first industrial revolution: Instead of human labor for…"


Big beautiful world (autocomplete insists of big beautiful world-of-warcraft)

Vibrant and Colorful Street Art in Marrakech, Morocco! (7 photos)

by @nolasco

thumb

"Hi, there, my dear Steemians, This is my entry #4 to this week edition of Photochain VIBRANT AND COLORFUL PHOTOGRAPHY contest, by @runicar. Know more about this contest here. Photos: Vibrant and Colorful Street Art in Marrakech, Morocco! (7 photos) Hope you enjoyed this colorful wonderful city!…"


A visit to the Textile Museum of Canada

by @silenteyes

thumb

"Located right in the heart of downtown Toronto this museum is a collection of textiles , art and history. Its not a very huge museum but its set up on 4 floors with beautiful lighting through out . You might be wondering what will be the display of this museum. Exact thought I had when I first heard…"


Awesome Hot Air Balloon Ride in Cappadocia | 卡帕多西亚 热气球

by @rosatravels

thumb

"Photo Challenge This looks so awesome up in the sky looking at the landscape of Cappadocia. Collection of Photos of Hot Air Balloon Flight in Cappadocia In front of you, you can also see 10 other balloons just got launched for their flights. It is actually quite fun to launch together, flying up…"


Mount Kilimanjaro in 3D - Explore it with your Browser

by @mcsvi

thumb

"Being one of the most topographically prominent summits on earth, it's a perfect subject for my little 3D terrain app. Using open global elevation data provided by Amazon Web Services, Satellite images provided by ESRI and the THREE.js Javascript library, it's possible to build a 3D model of any…"


Journey to the Wonderful Land of Oz

by @veta-less

thumb

"Hi, friends! Now in St. Petersburg, more and more playgrounds, and even entire yards, which are made thematically. I would like to invite you for a walk in a courtyard, which is located in the heart of the city. This courtyard is decorated in the style of the fairy tale the Wonderful Wizard of Oz…"


Visit double D-Town/ Dresden

by @nana.ama

thumb

"Hey Steemians ;) I want to show you pictures of my travel to Dresden in Germany. There are so interesting places. I love the old town. That was an awesome experience to behold! The Dresden Frauenkirche (Church of Our Lady) is a Lutheran church in Dresden. a great Church. and some impressions of the…"


Hanging Out with some Furry Friends

by @liberty-minded

thumb

"We recently made the trip over towards the east coast of Florida to shoot a couple outdoors segments at an exotic wildlife ranch about 30 minutes outside of downtown Orlando. The main draw that brought us here to shoot some segments for TV was definitely the slow-moving sloths. I had only previously…"


Hike # 6 : Climbing Ingleborough

by @slobberchops

thumb

"It was time for me to take on one of the big boys, or at least the local ones. @bingbabe climbed all three of the Yorkshire Three Peaks just two weeks ago and I had yet to do a single one. Source This was to change, and seeing as iFootpath has a walk named ‘Climbing Ingleborough’ which incidentally…"


Travel: Banff National Park and it's lakes 🇨🇦

by @dboontje

thumb

"Bannf is a huge National Park in Canada which can not be described in one post. That's why my second post is all about Banff and our experiences. Lake Moraine I love to be recommended by the locals. Most of the times these people know what they talk about and that usually pays out. This time a new…"


Beautiful British Columbia - HAPPY BC DAY!

by @jessicaoutside

thumb

"In celebration of British Columbia Day, I'd like to share with you some BC beauty 💚 I've included photos that best represent how I see British Columbia, Canada. And there seems to be a trend...TREES! BC is a place I'm extremely fond of and that I miss terribly. It's an incredible playground, no…"


A hike in the Yorkshire Dales - Wet but Wonderful.

by @markangeltrueman

thumb

"Hey there reader, A week ago my wife, @highwings and I, headed off to the beautiful Yorkshire Dales to attempt the "Three Peaks challenge". That's a 26-mile hike around the dales, taking in the 3 highest peaks in Yorkshire for a total of 2000m of climbing. However, things didn't work out as expected…"


Bintan Island, Kepulauan Riau, Indonesia

by @faroel

thumb

"Bintan Island is an island in the Riau Islands province, where Tanjungpinang City, the capital of Riau Islands Province, is located. Dompak Bridge, Tanjungpinang On this island has three Governments, the Government of Tanjungpinang City located in Senggarang, the Government of Bintan Regency is…"


Curation

InktankRetrospective (and bonus shares!) #51-60

by @see.feel.write

thumb

"Let's take a look back at (and distribute a few bonus shares to) the art featured on Inktanks 51-60. Some stats on the Inktank project Since starting, the Inktank has showcased 105 unique artists who have produced 180 pieces of art At least one artist from each Inktank issue has been sponsored for a…"


Just plain fun

Steembasicincome Haiku contest v.1 - make @haikubot come for SBI

by @snowyknight

thumb

"Hello! Do you want to win a share of @steembasicincome? Original photo of my from the beautiful South Pacific in New Zealand. Here is how: upvote this post write an awesome haiku in classic 5-7-5 format. try to get @haikubot to come visit! Best two haiku get SBI (@steembasicincome). Yes, I used…"


Afforestation

Manka’a Grace Niba - introduction of our new TREE PLANTER who is gonna work as our content creator on Steemit to raise awareness of environmental issues

by @treeplanter

thumb

"My name is Manka’a Grace Niba. I grew up with my family in the Southwestern part of Cameroon in a small town called Limbe. I am the eldest in a family of five. Growing up in a community where teenage pregnancy was rampant made me, even more, determined to study hard and become that example for my…"


Earth Rangers learn how to nurse and grow trees using recycled plastic bottles

by @thegreens

thumb

"Earth Rangers learn about trees and how to grow trees at RETAFOOn Friday 03rd August 2018, the Earth Rangers of the Steemit Action Summer Holiday Program visited RETAFO (Reforestation Task Force) to learn about the diffferent types of trees of the Bamenda Highlands Forests and how to nurse and grow…"


So, what's all this then?

My goals here are to foster interaction on steem and provide visibility for good content.

Why not just resteem

This is basically a UI issue; I've noted in my feed that some great accounts which resteem dozens of times a day tend to drown out other posts. Until there's a way to separate author-content from resteems in there general steem-verse (i.e. on Steemit), I don't like resteeming much.

Criteria and format

The only real criterion I have is that the article should be something I was happy to have read. Ideally, it would be recent enough to still be active for 3 to 4 days after I post. A few other other things:

  • There's no restriction on category, though I tend to read more STEM/nerdy stuff
  • The list is not exhaustive
  • If I left you off, it's not because I don't think your post was worth reading
  • I'm still figuring out how to arrange topics
  • Post order is like the point system on 'Whose Line Is It Anyway' - meaningless
  • If you're a prolific author, I might only list one post in full format, then mention others.
  • If I post your stuff a lot, I may leave you out from time to time to make room for others.
  • If time allows, I may provide commentary on posts, but right now I'm letting them stand on their own merits.
  • Artists! I'm trying to post your art in such a way that people can see enough of it to know if they want to follow the link. I definitely don't want to just repost your stuff in full resolution. Let me know what makes you happy.

Call to Action

I enjoyed compiling this list and you can do it, too. Even if your vote counts for nothing and you have 3 whole followers, start keeping track of what you actually liked reading and let the world know about it. I don't think there's a relevant tag yet, so let's go ahead and use #readinglog. If there is a better tag out there, let me know.

Remember, a community without interactions is just a bunch of people. Comment, vote, promote, even resteem!

Copyright Info

Logo modified from CC0 material on Pixabay by OpenClipart-Vectors, and released under the same.

Preview images are from the referenced posts and source information should be contained therein. Preview text is directly quoted from post and the property of that post's author(s).

Sort:  

Congratulations @moderndragon and @veta-less, the random number generator has smiled upon both of you, picking your posts from those who were featured today and telling me to sponsor your both for a share in @steembasicincome. The transfer should go active within a few days.

@moderndragon You're welcome. Reminds me a lot of some the jigsaws I bought from Spencer's in my youth.

I often wonder, since you read so much, do you ever sleep? :D Thanks for the love, I am glad you enjoyed my post and included it into your reading log.

@zen-art I firmly believe in sleep! I've just had to give up other things, mainly most 'down time' internet stuff - reddit, mindless facebook, etc. It has cut into my time replying (witness the 7 day delay here), but I'm working on being better about that.

Hey @effofex I’m happy for the work you’re doing and I’m genuinely excited you read my post and found it interesting. Much love

@florae It was fascinating, I'd never heard of that syndrome before. Thanks for writing it up.

Thanks for the accolades man... I really apprieciate

@sparrowbernard Anyone who can draw spidey like that deserves a little appreciation, glad I could help.

Thanks so much for the mention, @effofex, what an honor to be featured among these great posts and bloggers! Congrats to all and cheers to you!
Resteemed!

@nolasco You said you post was colorful and it did not disappoint, how could I not share that.

Oh, you're too sweet for saying that! Thanks again, my dear @effofex :))!

Hi @effofex, feeling honored for being selected for your reading log! Thank you so much! :)

@scienceangel I was quite happy to include it. When I read the title, I thought you'd be talking about encoding words using protein abbreviations (which would've been cool), but instead I got brought up to date on a lot of fun gene names. It being Friday, let's just say "ADH-1" spells @effofex, in a way.

Thanks for the mention dude! Always nice to be noticed!

@karinxxl Happy to include you, especially since you were writing about one of my favorite (and much maligned!) candies.

I ate myself sick on them yesterday again :D hahahaha

Very good posts, keep on encouraging, good luck in steemit business

Awesome, thanks for the feature @effofex!

@alvinauh Happy to do so and was happy to see that you're spreading the word.

Thank you @effofex I appreciate the mention 🙏💙🙏 Looks like some great reads in there. I will check some of them out.

@jessicaoutside I'm really glad you liked my choices, I'm a fan of travel posts and happy to include you here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61914.69
ETH 3017.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79