My Reading Log: Interesting Stuff From the Past Few Days (2018-08-13)

in #readinglog6 years ago

I keep track of any posts on the Steem blockchain which I've found worth reading. Here's the stuff I've enjoyed over the last few days.

logo_v1.png

Happy reading!

Art, games, and geekery

Dragon Eye Cuff Bracelet

by @starjewel

thumb

"Today I finished my first dragon-eye cuff bracelet. I started it a few days ago, planning to write a tutorial here, on steemit. But... who was I kidding? Look at this bracelet!!!! Do you think that it is possible to write a SHORT tutorial???? I don't think so. It would be 100's pages long :) Many…"


Harley the Reaper

by @blewitt

thumb

"Here is a shot of the B Cover to the upcoming Harley Quinn #49. Frank Cho’s cover run on this series has been nothing short of phenomenal. "
"


What's Mean and Green and Hates the Wolverine! - Part One

by @jackofcrows

thumb

"Good Afternoon My Comic Book Friends! I haven't made a comic book post in a few days. I think its about time! If you remember in my last article we covered some pretty iconic Wolverine books, both for what the issues were and for some killer cover art. I alluded to there being many tribute covers…"


Frank Castle, Thanos, and Galactus : A Cosmic Ghost Rider # 2 Review

by @sagesigma

thumb

"What a great second part to what will ultimately be a five part series. If one recalls, when we last left issue #1, we learned that : A different Marvel timeline’s version of Frank Castle was the Punisher, the Ghost Rider, the herald of Galactus, and the Right Hand Man of Thanos When he…"


Hand-painted T-shirt. MAD MAX. My detailed creative process

by @kleonella

thumb

"Hello, Steemit!) Today I want to show you a hand-painted T-shirt with acrylic paints. I painted this T-shirt for order, the girl wanted to make a gift to her husband. I really liked the film "Mad Max" with Tom Hardy, my husband even blew me to look the previous parts with Mel Gibson, but "The Road…"


Digital Painting - The Mana Mover!

by @beekart

thumb

"Hey Everyone! Hope you are all doing well? It has been a while since I've written a blog, since I've been on vacation for the past 3 weeks. As some of you know, San Diego Comic Con was about 3 weeks ago and I had the honor to be in the artist alley. I'll write and share some photos on that whole…"


Drawing with Pen - The dragon Lok [FR/EN]

by @oreille-pointue

thumb

"Bonjour à tous ! Hi everyone! La première des illustrations de mon dernier travail a été dévoilée au public... il est temps de vous en montrer les étapes. The first of the illustrations of my last work has been revealed to the public... it's time to show you the steps. Histoire / Story Ce dessin au…"


Xmen Shot

by @saywha

thumb

"Been working on how to get my cyclops to hold this Sentinel long enough to take a decent shot. #Nailedit"


Ithaqa Steemit RPG Week 3

by @drwatson

thumb

"We've brought back the "Ithaqa" Steemit RPG! As always, I will send 1 steem to the winners! HOW TO PLAY: Pick A Faction: Investigators, Cultists, or Mythos Creatures (if you haven't already). Comment below with your faction pick (or your pre-existing character). IE: Pick a Starting Stat, and mention…"


The Horseman - last steps

by @djacbaweur

thumb

"Do you remind my horseman ? Let's see the raw begining of it again... ^^ So after the inking, started the coloring ! With watercolors, I always start with the lightest tones, and then add layers of darker tones step by step. This drawing is difficult for me because there is a light background, then…"


Let's Build a Game! #1 - Getting started with BYOND

by @thatsweeneyguy

thumb

"BYOND (Build Your Own Net Dream) has been around for a long time... Like, 22 years long. In a nutshell, BYOND is an all-in-one development kit for online games and utilities, but it is so much more than that. Very much like Steem, BYOND is a community of gamers and game developers who are passionate…"


STEM

Just Sharing A Cool Science Resource

by @phoenixwren

thumb

"If you're like me and you like to read the source studies referenced in popsci articles, or you're a student doing research, you probably have bumped up against more paywalls that you couldn't afford than the average bear. Google Scholar is great, but less so if you can't read the articles! That's…"


The NASA spacecraft will fly into the atmosphere of the Sun!

by @astromaniac

thumb

"Parker Solar Probe is the first probe to take measurements inside our star's crown. The device will significantly approach the Sun in a place where the temperature reaches over 1,300 degrees Celsius! A special shield will protect the probe from the hellish heat. Artistic vision of the Parker Solar…"


A paper claiming room temperature superconductivity from India! But is it faking data/mistake/extraordinary phenomenon?

by @dexterdev

thumb

"The Big News I was not active in steemit for a long period. Because I am really busy with work and other stuff. But I cannot stop posting this. Recently a research paper from IISc Bangalore in arXiv preprint came with very high claims. It was about superconductivity. I am by no means an expert in…"


INTRODUCTION TO CARTOGRAPHY - ISARITHMIC MAPPING

by @lordneroo

thumb

"Hello everyone! How is everything going? Hope you're a having a great time during these summer days. Time to relax and enjoy the simple things in life; our friends and families. I am privileged to live by the sea, so I have been taking advantage of this lately. Everything is great and I felt…"


Post-micturition Convulsion Syndrome

by @florae

thumb

"Post-micturition convulsion syndrome sometimes called pee shudder or pee shiver is the involuntarily shiver that happens to some of us, especially men when we void a large amount of urine. This has affected most of us, especially the men but well it’s not something dangerous…"


Science shouldn’t be decided in the courtroom

by @nonzerosum

thumb

"The World Health Organisation (WHO) have a strange and highly misleading terminology when talking about the causes cancer. I first came across this issue a few years ago when the WHO classified red meat as a “Known Carcinogen”. I frequently hear vegetarians and vegans use this…"


The wave-particle duality of photons - physics explained

by @zen-art

thumb

"When talking or thinking about light and what it really is, we can not help but wonder and be amazed by the subtle miraculous nature of life itself. The Universe is still more mysterious than we would like to admit and far more mysterious for us to completely comprehend, especially when it comes to…"


Simple Engineering: A Centrifuge and a Microscope for less than $3!

by @greenrun

thumb

"Frequently the simplest method of doing things turns out to be the most efficient. In science and engineering, sometimes there is the tendency to think too deep or explore too much on things that have a simple solution. Running a test for the varieties of samples such as cell cultures, urine and…"


Time Series with R

by @eroche

thumb

"This is the fifth part of a 9 part tutorial series about the R Statistical Programming Language, targeted at data analysts and programmers that are active on Steem. In this course you will learn the R programming language through practical examples. Repository The R source code can be found via one…"


Are We Born Criminals? Part III: The Differential Association Theory

by @dysfunctional

thumb

"Introduction In the previous parts I and II we discussed the Positive theory and rational choice theory in criminology. While both of them received a lot of attention and admiration, criticism and downfalls of these theories are present also and raise serious questions about some of their aspects.…"


A day in the life

Tales from an Ambulance: Episode 2 - E.R.

by @dollarsandsense

thumb

"The first thing you notice is the smell. Disinfectant, like how you would imagine the factory where they make the stuff smells. The second thing you notice is the chaos. Patients in various states of intake. Staff barking out orders to anyone who will listen. Nurses scurrying purposefully from task…"


Books

Rare Book of the Day – Jurassic Park, Michael Crichton. Advance Reader's Edition.

by @rarebooksleuth

thumb

"Jurassic Park, Michael Crichton. Advance Reader's Edition. This one needs no introduction. Anyone with a passing familiarity with American popular culture has either seen or read Jurassic Park, and there is no end in sight for the franchise. The first film was the best, in my opinion, and is based…"


Literary Recording of the Day – J.R.R. Tolkien reads from The Hobbit (1952)

by @rarebooksleuth

thumb

"This is just awesome. Tolkien's work has a great oratory quality to it, so to hear the man himself read it is a delightful treat. So here he is around 1952 reading Riddles in the Dark, Chapter 5 from The Hobbit (listen to him read Gollum's voice!):

"


Rare Book of the Day – Silent Spring, Rachel Carson. First Edition.

by @rarebooksleuth

thumb

"Silent Spring, Rachel Carson. First Edition. "Those who contemplate the beauty of the earth find reserves of strength that will endure as long as life lasts. There is something infinitely healing in the repeated refrains of nature -- the assurance that dawn comes after night, and spring after…"


Steemitself

Help - Are you missing anyone in your follow list?

by @timcliff

thumb

"Several users have reported that they are missing people from their follow list. They are saying that they followed someone, never unfollowed them, but for some reason they are not following them anymore. The system seems to have "lost" the fact that they followed the user. I am currently trying to…"


HUNT Token Airdrop for SP Holders is LIVE NOW | Steemhunt Sponsor Report - #16

by @steemhunt

thumb

"Hello Steemians! Today, we are proud to announce the 1:1 HUNT token airdrop for Steem Power holders, the biggest portion of the entire HUNT token airdrops (40%). It is effective since today. 1. Claim your HUNT Token now if you have Steem Power As we announced in this article - Announcing HUNT Token…"


Crypto

EOS Wizards Marketplace Is Now Open

by @blockgames

thumb

"Anyone with a gensis EOS account can claim their free Wizard box, as I wrote about in an earlier post here The marketplace is working fine as long as you have Scatter set up. Uhm..not sure I would spend 10000 EOS on a common wizard that would cost me 0.1 EOS to create. Or even 9999 EOS on a top…"


Big beautiful world

Germany - The Tiny Medieval Town of Alsfeld

by @mattifer

thumb

"Alsfeld, A Medieval Town in Germany Just outside of Frankfurt, Germany is the tiny town of Alsfeld. This city has been in existence before the year 1069, the first year it was mentioned in official documents. The history is evident everywhere you look in this town, including the town hall (ca 1250)…"


DECEBALUS - the Eastern European Mount Rushmore!

by @lymepoet

thumb

"This ain't any of the presidents carved on the Mount Rushmore! Though whose statue are you looking at? Let me give you a clue! This huge statue embedded in the natural rock is located in Romania. To be more precise, it's close to Orsova, in the Mraconia Bay, on the Lower Danube, right between the…"


Hiking the Scottish Highlands + Proof of Loch Ness Monster!

by @samve

thumb

"Let me tell you a tale aboot me ain hike near the bonnie banks, bens and lochs wherein my breeks end up drookit and my baffies didnae stand a chance... To compensate for the o-so-long absence I have some photo's you might like. In case the title and introduction didn't already told you where I have…"


Sunset at the Saguaro National Park

by @astraeir

thumb

"I felt called today to drive with a friend for the Sunset to Saguaro National Park on the West side of Tucson. There were massive monsoon clouds with lightning and rain moving through pretty close, and it felt like being so on the edge. We weren't sure whether it will rain on us, whether we will be…"


Journey to the 'Moon Well'- Chand Baori - Mystical Marvel Of Abhanagari

by @itravelarts

thumb

"ABHA-NAGARI The place once known as Abha-Nagri meaning ‘city of brightness’ over the years has been mispronounced and now is known by the name Abhaneri. It is situated 95 km from Jaipur, on the Jaipur-Agra road. This place is different. It's not the magnificent Himalayas from Himachal, neither the…"


So, what's all this then?

My goals here are to foster interaction on steem and provide visibility for good content.

Why not just resteem

This is basically a UI issue; I've noted in my feed that some great accounts which resteem dozens of times a day tend to drown out other posts. Until there's a way to separate author-content from resteems in there general steem-verse (i.e. on Steemit), I don't like resteeming much.

Criteria and format

The only real criterion I have is that the article should be something I was happy to have read. Ideally, it would be recent enough to still be active for 3 to 4 days after I post. A few other other things:

  • There's no restriction on category, though I tend to read more STEM/nerdy stuff
  • The list is not exhaustive
  • If I left you off, it's not because I don't think your post was worth reading
  • I'm still figuring out how to arrange topics
  • Post order is like the point system on 'Whose Line Is It Anyway' - meaningless
  • If you're a prolific author, I might only list one post in full format, then mention others.
  • If I post your stuff a lot, I may leave you out from time to time to make room for others.
  • If time allows, I may provide commentary on posts, but right now I'm letting them stand on their own merits.
  • Artists! I'm trying to post your art in such a way that people can see enough of it to know if they want to follow the link. I definitely don't want to just repost your stuff in full resolution. Let me know what makes you happy.

Call to Action

I enjoyed compiling this list and you can do it, too. Even if your vote counts for nothing and you have 3 whole followers, start keeping track of what you actually liked reading and let the world know about it. I don't think there's a relevant tag yet, so let's go ahead and use #readinglog. If there is a better tag out there, let me know.

Remember, a community without interactions is just a bunch of people. Comment, vote, promote, even resteem!

Copyright Info

Logo modified from CC0 material on Pixabay by OpenClipart-Vectors, and released under the same.

Preview images are from the referenced posts and source information should be contained therein. Preview text is directly quoted from post and the property of that post's author(s).

Sort:  

Thank you for the shout-out! I agree, this is a great format and much more meaningful than a resteem. I may just have to follow your lead and start doing this mysef!

@dollarsandsense You're quite welcome, it was nice to read a 'day in the life of post' and I think it'd be great if more people with interesting jobs did this.

I'm planning on releasing the software I use to help me format these posts really soon, so keep an eye out.

Alright, now that I have a bunch of tabs open...
Thanks for the inclusion! 😀

@phoenixwren I'm a big fan of making science open and I was thrilled to read about unpaywalling, how could I not include it!

I am happy again to appear here
I even happier that you find my article interesting
Thank you @effofex

@florae I gotta say, the mouthful of a title for the syndrome is what originally got my attention and caused me to read that excellent article.

Thank you for sharing and for this interesting selection. I just discovered a lot of artists thanks to you!
see you :)

@oreille-pointue I really liked the style you gave that dragon, and reading that most posts connect people is one of the most gratifying things about running a series like this, so thank you for letting me know!😎

It's great that you are doing this! I've gotten to know some interesting posts now that I will surely give my attention. Thanks!

@samve I really enjoy reading that I'm helping people find the good stuff, thanks for taking the time to let me know.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 23 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 8 SBD worth and should receive 151 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations @dysfunctional and @lymepoet, the random number generator has smiled upon both of you, picking your posts from those who were featured today and telling me to sponsor your both for a share in @steembasicincome. The transfer should go active within a few days.

Thank you for including my post in this curation and for the sponsorship!

@lymepoet I had no idea about that monument and it's so cool looking, great photos too. I was happy to include it. As for the sponsorship, that's all up to the random number generator, I'm simply the instrument of its will ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85