Be Aware of HOA Rules and Regs When Buying or Selling a Home

in #realestate6 years ago (edited)


As homeowner associations (HOA) become more and more common in our society it is important that we know all the ins an outs of the community rules and regulations. Otherwise it can bite you in the butt and cost you money or lost time.

I will give an example of this below.

Be Aware of HOA Rules and Regs


In my area a large majority of homes are within homeowner associations. I've talked about HOAs before and even did a chapter in my book on them.

They have their pros and cons and in order to get the most out of them and avoid issues it is vital that you understand the rules and regulations that govern them.

Ever hear the joke about "read the fine print?"

There isn't exactly "fine print" per se, but you need to understand the verbiage of the documents so you do not get caught up in a situation like the one I experienced while selling a condo recently.
Personal Interview

Just about all HOA's require the buyers or renters of a property to conduct an interview with one of the board members. Now the type of interview is up to the board based on the information listed in the rules and regs.

Many will do a phone call, video chat or in person. Some are particular about physically meeting the person to interview them.

This is something you should be clear on.

Apparently, I was not clear on it in this particular situation. In the rules documentation it says a "personal interview" needs to be done. That did not concretely mean "in-person" to me.

I have buyers that are snow-birds up north for the summer. An in person interview is clearly not going to occur.

Now, the word "personal" can certainly be debated, but by the time I bring my lawyer in to debate this item I can just find and close with a new buyer. However, time has still been wasted and I essentially have an idle property for an additional three weeks, which means money out of my pocket each day.

Property Management

Nearly all HOAs use a property management company. You also need to be clear and direct on what the application process is with them as miscommunication and bad information will occur more than you'd expect.

This happening in my example. The property management let my buyers believe they could do a phone interview, while this was never the case. They simply did not communicate that an in-person interview was required by the HOA board.

This item alone could have saved me at least three weeks time.

Exceptions - Maybe?

I did file a letter with the board asking for an exception for my buyers as they have past all background checks and are good to go outside of the board interviewing them and signing off on the purchase.

The decision is still pending...its examples like these why I know some investors that do not invest in HOA communities.

Learn how to avoid more real estate investing landmines - check out my book:

ScaredyCatGuide – Investing in Rental Properties

I walk you step-by-step through finding, buying and renting out a property. The book is your personal mentor!


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://scaredycatguide.com/real-estate-investing/be-aware-of-hoa-rules-and-regs

Sort:  

I really hate HOAs.

Mostly because i am the handyman type and don't need any help that they might offer.
But, i do end up with the pain of stupid letters that need responding to. "You did this, we don't like it." (but what was "this"?)

So, for me, i get all negatives and no positives.
And they rarely keep the entire place looking nice... because, there are lots of things that satisfy the letter of the contract, but not the intention.

Two things: 1. Yes, I agree! I usually have my handyman handle even the "things" covered by the HOA since they will take forever.

And 2. What city are you located caue I'm starting to invest out of state and want to go places where I know good handymen!

Right now, i am a bad handyman. (although everyone i do work for loves me) I am recovering from zero.

I think i am going to be moving to AZ near the end of the year. But not phoenix.

I can say to avoid Kalifornia. Basically, your taxes are going to be going through the roof, and the renters are getting cheaper and cheaper. Pretty soon i see a lot of freeloaders, living wherever they can squat. You already can't get rid of a tenant, it will be even worse soon with the laws they are passing.

I would never go near CA or NY for that matter when it comes to rental property investing.

I'm in Florida and am looking into SC now.

Great point, look out especially for the pet and parking rules!

Yeah, those both can be annoying. Though it seems most ignore the pet restrictions and they never really get enforced so less worry on that one. Park your car in the wrong area over night and its gone though lol.

I would stay away from any HOA property, nothing like having your independence once you had a taste of it. :-) Cats can teach you independence.

black_cat.png

Trust me, not a fan. But it ain't like Long Island down here...75% of properties are in HOAs

Wow thats's a lot. Definitely have to read the fine print then.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24