Walkthrough : My first charcoal pencil photorealistic drawing

in #realisticart6 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians. Good day and welcome yet again to another walkthrough of an artwork I just made. As I've stated in my previous art post, This will be my first ever full charcoal pencil artwork. image

Art to me is all about the challenges brought to the table by a tough artwork. I push myself to the limits on most of my drawings (if they are not commissioned). Being very comfortable with graphite pencils, I realized it shouldn't be my limit.... Plus,.. I never did like how graphite reflects light in the dark. So I forced myself to make a full drawing with a charcoal pencil. Marie's soft charcoal pencil. image

Again, this artwork is all about concepts and emotions. I was particularly angry when i chose this picture to draw. Lol.

STEP 1

So as usual, I start drawing from the top. Not after drawing my grid to help me get the angles perfectly. I was initially very very scared of adding too much charcoal here because obviously, charcoal wouldn't erase as flawlessly as graphite will... So you can imagine my fear being a novice
image

image

image

Real fear came when my charcoal strokes wouldn't get blurred like graphite when I applied a blending tortilion or tissue. I later got the hang of it. check the video below to see where I blended the nose. image
STEP 2

Going on, I try to complete one half of the face. I must confess, no part of this drawing was easy. It was all calculated efforts put on paper. In the reference picture, one half of the picture was rough (spots and pimples maybe) I tried my best to represent each spot I could find. Which was hardwork again.. I also added a reference video covering some parts of the drawing. Do enjoy.. image


image

#HERE'S A VIDEO OF MY DRAWING


STEP 3

I then completed the other half of the face. This came easy though. (easy in a though way) I had to rub my tissue which was filled with charcoal at a certain pressure on the part after outlining the really dark areas. The though part was trying not to drag excess charcoal dust from the dark parts to the light areas.
image


image

STEP 4

That done. I move on to shading the shoulder and chest. Pheeew This part was really hard too. I almost dropped my pencil in annoyance but I've started already and I'm not an advocate of procrastination. I sat down with it and tried to make the best effects I could make. image

Tissue obviously doesn't work on chac

image


Using a charcoal pencil to draw a complete artwork for the first time wasn't the sweetest experience. I spent a total of Five days working on this. 5hrs daily. I was particularly slow because I wasn't used to the pencil. I'm really looking forward to making more artworks with my charcoal pencil since I'm very wowed about my first product.
image


image
Do let me know what you think of it

Why I love Drawing

Drawing has always been my thing right from when I was young. It's an expression of my feelings and emotions. I also love the ability of artworks to transfer emotions into the spectator which is one of the ultimate goals I try to reach with my drawings.
Drawing has also contributed to my income as I take commissions. It's not just a play thing now. It's work too.

Drawing has also made me a bit popular in town here. A few people call me and are like "you're StephensArt on facebook ". The feeling is amazing

Here are some of my precious pencil works
image
image
image
image
image
image
image


Ps. I'm preparing an art exhibit due January where I'll be putting this very work up for sale. I'll let you all in on all that goes on during it
image

Follow me on instagram https://www.instagram.com/stephens_arrt/

I take art commissions too.
[email protected].

Happy steeming guys

Sort:  

i have never seen art as wonderful as this. Watching the video, the way yhu were drawing yhu made it look like it is nothing.

wish i could learn though but i guess it is too late.

nice share.

upvoted 100%

Thank you for the nice comment bro. Drawing can be easy once its learnt.

And oh... An old dog can still learn new tricks... You can learn it... Come be my student na.

Thanks once again

ooo thanks

Perfect drawing:)

Awwwnnn.. Thanks @karmatv

That was very very incredibly post and art ...

Thank you very much.

Upped 100% for this post

Wow.. Me likey.. Than you

Wow.. Me likey.. Than you sir

Amazing !!!

I know right... I'm even amazed by my artwork

This is amazing. I wish i had more SP. You tried.

Oh... Thank you so much bro.

Gla to see my efforts are being appreciated

I was extremely impressed with your drawing and the other work you have shared here. You've got to be one of the most skilled artists at photo realism that I've ever seen!

I'm going to definitely follow your steemit blog :) If you happen to check out my page, I create a podcast where I frequently interview artists and we talk about the emotional and spiritual aspects of art, sort of like you discussed in your description of this work.

Here's a link to a recent episode with mandala painter Adam Millward.

Thanks for sharing Stephen, keep up the awesome work!
-Chance

Wow... Thank you so much Chance. I really appreciate it.

I'll check out your blog and definitely follow you back..... I'm looking forward to an interview though. 😁😁😁😁😁. I'll be checking you out chance

excellent work! very realistic!

Thank you so very much.

Amazing work! would like to see more.
check my page for upcoming posts about art and prespective

Thank you.

I sure will check out your blog. I love anything art.

Yes Indeed. Thank you.

Have a nice day

Congratulations @stephennevets, this post is the most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 2180 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $602.58. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71