Easy Homemade Polvoron

in #recipe6 years ago (edited)

image

Hands up if you have a sweet tooth? 🤚

My sweet tooth is terrible. Sometimes it takes over my whole mouth and I just need sugar especially after dinner. I always need to have dessert. Don't know why, I just do.

Last night was no different but the problem was we only had ice cream.

I considered making a berry vanilla delight ~ which is strawberry sauce, creamy vanilla ice cream, more sauce, frozen blueberries and granola mix for crunch. It was a solid after dinner dessert but way too cold for last night.

So I scrolled through Pinterest and found...

POLVORON!!!

A polvorón (From polvo, the Spanish word for powder, or dust; Cebuano: polboron; Tagalog: pulburón) is a type of heavy, soft, and very crumbly Spanish shortbread made of flour, sugar, milk, and nuts (especially almonds).
Wikipedia

Polvoron was one of my childhood favourites in the Philippines and since moving to Australia, it's become a special treat since it was so hard to find back in the day.

It was sweet, and powdery and milky and sweet... There's the original version (what I made) and then there's other flavours with various nuts. All of them delicious.

My favourite polvorons are made by Goldilocks a very famous and well loved bakery/food chain in the Philippines. Although other companies make them, I always thought Goldilocks did a better job than the rest.

image
Source

These days one would be able to buy polvoron at any Asian supermarket, unfortunately for me being up in the mountains, with my specific tastes ~ if I wanted something Filipino I'd have to make it myself.

Yes we have a couple of small Asian Marts around but they don't have the droids stuff I'm looking for..

So last night when I was looking for dessert recipes and found that I had everything I needed to make polvoron I was over the moon and got cracking immediately.

Before I lay it all down. I need to say I found this recipe and modified it because 6 cups of flour is a hell of a lot of polvorons for one person. But because I modified it I had to guesstimate quantities and keep tasting until I got the mix right according to my taste buds.

Now that my "disclaimer" is out of the way...

Ingredients

Prep time: 10 | Cook time: 15
Half cup all purpose flour
25g white sugar (to taste!)
10g cup milk powder (I used coffee whitener ~ to taste!)
25g melted butter

1... Cook the flour. Don't put oil in.
You just want to cook the flour until it starts turning brown. I used a wok but perhaps I should have used a normal pan to even out the cook.

2... Strain the cooked flour, milk powder and sugar to remove lumps.

3... Add melted butter in little by little and mix well.

image

4... If it needs more whitener or sugar for taste and consistency add it until it taste right to you.

5... Once done press the mixture in a mold.
I used an ice tray. And I was able to get 12 "cubes". If you followed the original recipe you should get about 65+ depending on the size of your molds.

image

6... Leave for as long as you have self control so it can set in the mold. I only had about 5 minutes of self control, but I chucked it in the fridge while it set and that's it, you're all done!

How easy was that?

25 minutes of your life, with ingredients you probably already have in your pantry and you've got yourself a well loved Filipino treat.

Perspective

Total cost of this recipe would be maybe $1? $2 max? I did only use a fraction of everything.

To buy the real deal in the Philippines would be P177 which is AUD$4.45.

To buy the real deal online in Australia it's AUD$11.99 plus shipping.

😱

Geesh we get ripped down under! AND would you believe at $11.99 per box, it's currently out of stock.

😱

That goes to show how crazy Filipinos are over polvoron. I for one am very glad I gave this recipe a go. Not only is it cheaper but because it's homemade I know exactly what went in it and that's always a good thing.

image

Do you have any easy dessert recipes like this? Share the love and post the link or recipe in the comments!

Happy Wednesday Steemit!

❤ Arly

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

My favorite :D

very clever idea in the ice cube holder :D good work
@Ch00fy - foodie

Thanks! I had a think outside the box moment ;)

Oh no... Now I'm gonna have a bad sweet tooth until I try these lil guys... Might just have to run to the brown sugar bag to get my fix tonight. Yeah I eat it plain, what of it?

Hahahah nothing wrong with that!

Congratulations, your post had been chosen by curators of eSteem Encouragement program. Feel free to join and reach us via Discord channel if you have any questions or would like to contribute.


eSteem Line
Thank you for using eSteem

P.S.

Sarap... My Favorite... :D

Thank you @michaelcabiles 🤗
It's soo good right?

SObra Ate @bearone! Hehehehe. :D

Nice Star Wars reference. ☺️
Glad you were able to concoct a beloved treat!

Ohhh you saw that ;) You are definitely my people @dfinney! Thank you! I'm amazed at my determination when it comes to sweets 😁

That looks yum! I can’t cook sweet things, because I eat them too fast 😊

I started to crave after seeing this home made polvoron of yours mommy.. we also did that before... then the best store that selling polvoron with assorted flavors is goldilocks.. yum yum..

Oooh, that looks interesting. I'll definitely give that bad boy a bash some time. Super simple :)

I'm wondering if you had to dust your mold with icing sugar if that would be frowned upon by Filipinos?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17