CrabApple Jelly Recipe

in #recipe6 years ago (edited)

CrabApples.jpg

Crab Apples!


Making CrabApple Jelly Recipe


My earliest memory, of my mom in the kitchen, is her making CrabApple Jelly!
Near our house, was a street lined with Crabapple trees.

crabapple tree.jpg

And as soon as I was old enough, I remember my dad, picking me up and me, climbing the tree, to pick these beauties. I think Crabapple Jelly is one of the first things I ever learned to cook with mom.

Recipe For CrabApple Jelly


  • About 4 pounds of crab apples.
  • 4 cups water
  • Sugar
  • Box of Pectin. I use Ball® RealFruit
  • Lemon Zest, and Lemon juice
  • Orange Zest, and squeezed orange juice.

In a separate pot, add enough water to cover clean jars, the lid rings (both can be reused) and NEW lids. BOIL all of these to sterilize.

  1. Wash crabapples and cut them. Place them in a saucepan with the water.
    Boil the crabs until they are very soft, about an hour.

  2. Strain the CrabApples into a strainer, suspended over another clean saucepan.
    Some people strain the solids, I personally do not. I prefer the goodness.

  3. Add enough sugar (minus about a cup pf sugar) to match the amount of liquid boiled down, zest an orange and a lemon, add juice of a lemon and orange, add the pectin, and bring it all to a boil until it reaches 220°F. Ladle carefully into sterilized jelly jars. ALWAYS USE NEW LIDS when canning.

jelly.jpg

At no time, @tamala or @dreemsteem, did I add ANY Red Pepper Flakes!

thealliance_new_pagebreak_2.png

Be good. Do good.
Don't be an Ass.


thealliance_468x60.jpg

Small Welcome Wagon.png

Screen Shot 2018-08-17 at 22.13.10.png

Sort:  

Uooooh This looks really good, I have made a bit of applesauce in my day, but I have never made apple jelly!

It's about that time of year though, I should think about my grandpa's crab apples and a doing a project like this!

Fall in New England is always time for apples!
Between the trees locally and a short car ride, apples, apples, apples!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-13T15:35:15
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 1905.78/3200.00
Total Photos: 190
Total comments: 56
Total contest wins: 13
And have also received a 5.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Me gustan mucho las manzanas.

Crecen al lado de mi casa.

Holy crap! We used to have an orchard in our yard when i was growing up n my grandma would make pie n jelly n jam...

Posted using Partiko Android

I love 'em. And it's been a while since we had a decent crop on this tree.

Oh, such an adventure in the background!

Love apples, we do similar bit adding cinnamon

When I make apple sauce, not jelly, I will add cinnamon

Yes, I have always thought apples and cinnamon makes the best combination... nom!

We don't have much apples here were I live, but I would looove to try this out. yum!

where are you from?
This is east coast US, outside Boston area.

Oh boy... I'm not even in the US! I live in a tropical country, heh.

Yum yum yum yum!! I LOVE carb apple jelly - and we're currently eating our way through the last pot of my mum's last ever batch. And we're relishing every morsel! I love it with roast dinner. Our crab apple tree had deep red apples that look almost like plums so the jelly comes out dark red... and she always added cloves.

Enjoy your jelly, Blue!
E x

I LOVE carb apple jelly - and we're currently

Gotta love it when typos change the context :)

Ahahaha - oops ;)

i loved it ... carbs rock lol

Easy to tell when I've started a new diet- even my typos are craving carbs!

So would that be feed the carbs; starve the Leto?

Posted using Partiko iOS

You have my address. I would like some please. hehehehehehe

and spicy sweet jam is REEEEEEEEEEALLY good!!!!

have you ever had that chipotle raspberry jam from Costco? oh my gosh - its unreal. so freaking good!

address.
send.
please.
thank you.

A friend made a chipotle blueberry jam.
It was awesome!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11