Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies, with a Twist [Cooking]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #recipe6 years ago

20180610_142808.jpg

Oatmeal Cookies.

Two kinds: Chocolate Chip and Strawberry Almond.

It's been a while since I made a #cooking post, because I work so often and most of the time I am eating out while on the run between jobs. This Sunday it was nice to have no plans, so I could take my time and treat myself with a nice recipe to try.

This recipe was a snap. Fast and easy.

Recipe Found on Steemit

Usually I like to search on google, youtube, or login to my allrecipes account to search for recipes, but you know what? I did a speed comparison, and I found five good recipes here using #Steemit-search faster than I could even load or log into any of the other websites to start a search.

Zero ads or spam in the #steemit search.

Recipe writers on steemit might even write back or reward me for checking out their blog or leaving a comment. Think google will do that? Let's test that theory out...

@milaoz posted the recipe I am using to make these #cookies. Check out both of these posts by @milaoz I used for reference. The photos in these two posts below will make you want to eat a thousand cookies.

I used the second recipe for the photographs in this post I am presenting.

20180610_141918.jpg

This is how much dough is left after the first batch went in the oven. Plenty for 12 more cookies.

Measurements

For the benefit of US citizens, I'll post the measurements I used, since @milaoz uses metric in the posts above. I had to use an online calculator to estimate the US equivalent measurements.

  • 1.5 cups of Oatmeal (dry)
  • 1 1/3 cups Flour
  • 1 cup Brown Sugar (packed)
  • 1 tsp baking Powder
  • 7 Tbs Butter softened (I threw in the whole stick)
  • 1 Egg
  • 120 semi-sweet Chocolate pieces (5 pieces per cookie)

My batch made 24 cookies.

20180606_092146 (1).jpg

Did I mention #strawberries yet?

Yes, I have been getting fresh strawberries from the garden every day. Since I get very small berries, I wanted to include them into a recipe, and thought they might taste good on oatmeal cookies.

20180610_141930.jpg

Here's how I prepared the strawberries for this recipe:

  • Pick 1 small strawberry per cookie, or slightly more.
  • Slice the berries into small chunks.
  • Add 1 teaspoon of Honey and stir in a bowl.
  • Add about 2 teaspoons of #Almond slices crushed, and stir in.

20180610_144210.jpg

This is what the cookies look like before they baked

Using rounded tablespoon, form the dough into messy half-spheres, and arrange them on the baking sheet.

We used a silicone mat over the baking sheet. It works fantastic. Non-stick. No burnt bottoms. Rinse to clean.

20180610_150351.jpg

Here is what they look like after baking is complete. 15-18 minutes at 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

For chocolate chip: Press the five chips down into the #dough balls.

For strawberry topping: Shape the cookie into a button with the center flattened into a bowl shape, using a spoon. Dollup a small amount onto the center of the cookie.

20180610_142755.jpg

Pro Tip: Chewier Cookies

My sister is an experience cook and she gave me this fun tip for making the cookies taste more #soft and #chewy.

Right after #baking, using oven mitts, smack the baking sheet flat against the counter top.

This will collapse the steamy air pockets, and lock more moisture into the cookie.

#Steem cookies? Yes please!

20180610_142913.jpg

Taste test time...

20180610_142931.jpg

Believe me, they are better than they look.

Fortunately they are slightly filling, but addicting. These would make a good morning snack for people get really #hungry but don't have time to cook anything in the #morning.

I used good quality Ghirardelli brand chocolate. Not the cheap Nestle Tollhouse stuff. Good chocolate melts very evenly and has a silky, smooth taste, and only costs about $1 more for a whole bag of chocolate pieces.

20180610_150627.jpg

And the strawberry version was also much better than it looks.

Not sure I would trade a chocolate chip cookie for a strawberry one, but it sure beats raisins. Eww! I don't know why most people prefer #raisins in their oatmeal cookies. Oatmeal raisin is the most commonly made oatmeal cookie.

Fresh fruit topping is much better! This cookie tasted like hot preserves on top of oatmeal toast. Yum! The almonds blend in, and absorb the flavor and juices of the berries, so they are not really crunchy, but it does slightly enhance the texture and flavor.

For maximum flavor and texture enjoyment, eat cookies fresh from the oven.

Extra Treat

Why not combine the strawberries and the chocolate?

That's what I tried. I snuck in a single chocolate piece into the center of a couple of my strawberry topped cookies. The result was the same joy you might expect from eating a chocolate covered strawberry. Juicy tart and sweet slightly swirled in the with the chocolate creaminess.


Sunday, June 10, 2018

Account Value: $3,644.51Votes Given / Received: 2709 / 3808
SP: 1,603.505Posts / Comments: 195 / 1234
STEEM / SBD: 0.631 / $6.329Delegated In / Out: 0 / 0
REP: 62.417Followers: 1,450 / 159 following
Curation Rewards: 1.778 SPAuthor Rewards SP / S / SBD: 2.711 / 0.011 / 0.291

STEEM In / Ex = 2.268 / 1.90135BTC / ETH/ LTC = 6767 / 531 / 107.2
SBD = 1.41691Gold/Silver oz. = 1,300.4 / 16.84

Value of Currencies in USD $ on this Day


Life is sweet!

Sort:  
Loading...

thanks for sharing this kookie...

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

Much thanks. Steemit is definitely well-suited for hosting an incredible amount of recipes. Everything is easy to find, interact with, and rewards interacting with it. Getting paid to eat cookies. Yes, I'll take that job.

So much...Pro Tip alone was worth reading this article. Strawberries from your garden, how wonderful. And the final touch, chocolate on the strawberry that sold me. I was kind of questioning the strawberries on cookies because I love fresh strawberries so much but with the drop of chocolate...Yum!

Might not be for everyone. I prefer fresh strawberries too. Wish I could have them fresh every day. The garden only shares so many in a year, they are so sweet and fragile, and then they are gone. It is a shame that most stores only share the hard, flavorless, and expensive berries picked by underpaid migrants in California.

The best way I could think of to enjoy the fresh
garden strawberries for a few more days before they rot was to cook them as a dessert topping on cookies, to dry it slightly. Looks like I caught myself rambling again.

Glad you were enticed to try something new. Variety is the spice of life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97