I Couldn't Handle The Heat, So I Got Out Of The Kitchen :)

in #recipe6 years ago

steakdinner.JPG

Some days it is so hot, I just don't feel like cooking. Today is one of those days. It is so hot here today just the thought of turning on the stove makes me sweat. It's a good thing my husband likes to use the grill. We have a very small grill, but that's fine, for today's dinner, it will do perfectly.

Today we will have a simple meal, and everything will be done on the grill. Easy-peasy
We have a few steaks, some corn on the cob, and romaine lettuce.

grilledcorn.JPG

It is very difficult to find fresh corn on the cob here. I can only ever get frozen corn, or corn that has already been cleaned. If you have the ability to get fresh corn, husks and all, get those. Just take a little peek inside to make sure the kernels are looking good. To grill fresh corn throw it on the grill just like it is. It will take about 15 minutes to cook through, turning a few times. Then pull off the husks and silk.

Since all I have is frozen corn today, here is what I did. I take the frozen cobs and put them in a bowl of water, just enough to completely cover them. I add to the water some sugar, about 1 tablespoon, and I put that aside for about 30 minutes and then I grill them. Since they do not have the protective husk, you have to turn them frequently to avoid burning them.

lettuce.JPG

Have you ever had grilled romaine lettuce? You should, it's delicious. This is also a very simple side dish. All you do is cut the romaine in half lengthwise, drizzle some olive oil, season with salt and pepper, and grill. You want the grill to be nice and hot so you can get those nice char marks on them.

vegongrill.JPG

After they are browned you just cut the lettuce and taste for seasoning. Add salt and pepper as needed, I also like to add some fresh Parmesan cheese.

grilledromaine.jpg

Now for the meat. When it comes to meat, I like to go very basic. All I add is salt and pepper. That's it.

rawsteak.JPG

I have some rib-eye steaks today. Make sure you let your steaks come to room temperature before cooking. Season all sides and grill.

I do about 5 minutes per side for medium steaks.

steakongrill.JPG

And just like that, dinner is done, and I didn't even have to turn the stove on!

steakdinner.JPG

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-12T02:08:33
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 19.50/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Wow. A delicious meal on a hot day. It surely melts your heart. :) I have never tried grilled lettuce before and this looks seriously good!

It is very good, and so easy too.

Thanks for sharing the trick on soaking the corn with sugar & water for 30 minutes. I never knew about that.
Shall try that the next time we do a BBQ for the family

It works really nicely, I hope you enjoy it.

Your bbq food looks delicious @dalipops!

Hello foodie steemian!

You get an homemade upvote from SteemKitchen! 👍

This was given by hand and not by a bot.
You have received this as motivation from us, so you can keep going on with your great dishes.

---Give me the meat :-) ! ---

We are looking forward to see you soon on our discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk , so we can exchange fresh new recipes and delicious meals with each other 🌮🍔🍩.

With friendly regards, your curator of today @avizor ;-)


W3Schools

Yummm!! This looks so good!
Nope, I have never grilled romaine before, Ill have to try that next time we use the grill!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85