Recipe: Super Easy Tomato and Garlic Dressing

in #recipe6 years ago

tomato_garlic.JPG

       Necessity is the mother of all invention.
       -English proverb, author unknown

I was in bit of a conundrum earlier today, whereby I had some ingredients to use up, namely a salad mix (organic field greens) and two vine tomatoes. And so while a main course salad seemed like the obvious choice, I was fresh out of salad dressing of any kind - and given the heat wave of the past week here in Ottawa, I was not about to make a special trip to the store for one little item.

Looking at the various ingredients hanging around my kitchen, I figured I would have enough on hand for some sort of DIY dressing. I decided right away that tomato and garlic would be the dominant flavor notes, and so I did a Google search for "tomato and garlic vinaigrette" and came across Wendy Polisi's "Tomato Garlic Dressing Recipe". And although I was missing some of the ingredients (or had less fancy versions of them), I decided to forge ahead with my own close-but-no-cigar rendition of Wendy's recipe using whatever was available and simply live with the consequences. (Besides, recipes are indeed the original form of free software program, as Richard Stallman would surely agree.)

The one missing ingredient that had me stuck for a substitute was capers, and so I just proceeded blindly as if it were never on the list to begin with. Otherwise, my substitutions were:

       - apple cider vinegar instead of red wine vinegar,
       - various fresh field green leaves instead of dried basil,
       - yellow mustard instead of dried mustard, and
       - table salt instead of sea salt.

As for quantities, I doubled the amounts for minced garlic and mustard on a whim for no other reason than I'm just that kinda guy, by which I mean that I'm impulse-challenged where sharp flavors are concerned.

The end result, though using more pedestrian versions of some of the ingredients listed in the original recipe from which this one was forked, was deliciously zesty, and in the resulting salad it blended very nicely with the juice of the added tomato chunks.

* * *

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1 medium tomato, quartered
  • 4 minced garlic cloves
  • 4 or 5 leaves of various field greens
  • 2 teaspoons of yellow mustard
  • 1 teaspoon of table salt
  • 1/2 cup of extra-virgin olive oil

Blend everything except the olive oil until smooth, and then blend the oil in a steady streem.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem, @jamesdeagle!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3043 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17.8 : Rewards and Links tabs on Busy.

Welcome to Steemit jamesdeagle. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem or anything related to it! The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. We also have DTube - our very own Youtube, DSound for Soundcloud and Steepshot if you prefer Instagram like experience. I'd also like to mention ChainBB - forums, Busy - Steemit with more modern look basically, DMania for memes and Dlive for streaming just like in Twitch! You can also earn Steem by gaming now! Search for Steemgar if that's more your thing. Welcome to the blockchain! :)

You are welcome to steem community..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73