My Quick and Easy Balti Curry Recipe

in #recipe6 years ago

I love my food, but not particularly the time it takes to make it. So when I get something tasty that's fairly quick to make, I'm pretty happy. One of my quick, easy recipes is a Balti. The great thing about it is that it can have meat in, be vegetarian or vegan, so I can adapt when different family members come to visit.

IMG_20171218_220846.jpg

Basic Sauce:
6 large, peeled tomatoes or one tin of tomatoes
100g ground cashews or almonds
1 400ml tin coconut milk/cream (can also use yoghurt or cream)
1 heaped tsp ground ginger (could also use puree/paste)
1 heaped tsp ground cumin
1 heaped tsp ground turmeric (could also use puree/paste)
1 level tsp ground black pepper
1 heaped tsp salt
Chili powder or chopped fresh chilis to taste
2 or more garlic cloves, finely chopped (could also use powder or paste)
1 or 2 bananas thinly sliced (Optional. Adds a bit of sweetness)

Select what vegetables, mushrooms or meats you want to use and you can basically just put everything in a pot and cook it until the meat and/or veggies are cooked through. Red meats need longer to soften up a little. I like to add the garlic in just before I serve if I'm using fresh, as I feel it retains its flavour better and keeps more of its great health promoting properties. Feel free to add any other spices you like the smell or taste of. I quite like cinnamon and coriander.


You might also like my salsa dip recipe:
https://steemit.com/food/@minismallholding/my-sugar-free-salsa-dip-recipe


You can also find The Miniature Smallholding on:

Instagram
Facebook
YouTube


Join us at the Online Homesteading Community

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Sort:  

Your curry recipe reminds me very much of my own! I love using coconut milk in these types of food, it brings in such a sweet flavor!

It's a great one for adding your own little touches isn't it?

I used to use yoghurt or cream, but since using coconut milk/cream I haven't gone back. Love it!

Yes! I totally agree, I've also noticed that just the tiniest amount of high-quality butter works wonders as well.

Thanks for the tip.

well, I'm hungry now :D

Me too! I've just been looking at pictures of dim-sims!

My daughter has a hard time digesting too much meat, but the rest of us are meat eaters. I love finding recipes that are easily adaptable for all of us.

It's surprising how different we all are even in families. My sister is vegetarian, but also struggles with dairy, so only eats eggs other than plants. My mum is still trying to figure out what doesn't do her good, but has cut out dairy, gluten and seems to struggle with most seeds and pulses, so she's more of a meat eater.

This is why it frustrates me when you get people who think that one diet will fix everything for everyone. Glad I'm not the only one with a varied family! 😁

Looks Yummy! Great picture. Thanks for the recipe.

Thank you and you're welcome! 😁 it is one of the favourites, even among those who don't usually like curry.

You are most welcome. It really does looks very delicious. :)

Yami Delicious Balti Curry nice work thank's to shiring @minismallholding
Recipes Top 10 Best Creative Recipes Using Just An Egg
https://steemit.com/dtube/@ajmalansari/262axevd

wow, Balti recipe
this looks so yummy so many health spices. hope am invited to try this. Looks like rice!
thanks for sharing dear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04