Homemade Strawberry Jam: Grandma C's Famous Recipe

in #recipes6 years ago

jam.jfif

Five quarts (8 bulk cups) of cleaned & stemmed fresh strawberries


My maternal grandmother used to make this strawberry jam EVERY June. We'd go to a local strawberry pick-your-own family farm and go home with six or seven trays. We'd spend an entire Saturday cleaning them, eating them and eventually making Grandma's Famous Jam.

So I found quarts of strawberries on sale yesterday and I scooped up 8-quarts. Five were for this recipe and the other three are for snacking.

Ingredients

  • 8-cups fresh strawberries (pureed down to 5 cups)
  • 6-cups sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon unsalted butter
  • One packet Sure-Jell- original

Grandma C used the butter to help prevent the berries from sticking to the pot while cooking

Instructions

  • Sterilize ALL utensils, jars and equipment being used.
  • Clean and stem all strawberries
  • Puree strawberries
  • In pot, combine pureed berries, butter and Sure-Jell packet. Bring to a rolling boil- takes about 5-7 minutes over medium/high heat. Stir occasionally.
  • Add in ALL sugar and bring to rolling boil for ONE minute- set timer
  • Ladle hot berry jam/jelly into prepared/hot jelly (or whichever size you choose) jars
  • MAKE sure to wipe off the jar's lid area- YOU NEED this free of food, moisture and completely clean
  • Put on seals and lids (only tighten enough with your hand/fingers)
  • Place in hot water canning pot and process for ten minutes- MAKE sure to have 1-2 inches of water OVER jars. You want the top covered completely.
  • After 10 minutes remove jars with jar lifter and place to cool. Make sure lids have PINGED If not, refrigerate immediately and use first.

6.jfif

LIDS.png

ALL my utensils excluding the two pots used to cook the jam and the water bath canning pot



55.jfif

I ended up with seven half-pint jars and eight jelly jar size containers of jam today from those five quarts of berries. One half-pint (not pictured) is already in the refrigerator chilling for breakfast tomorrow. That is... if I can wait that long. EVERY jar PINGED SO I AM ECSTATIC!

signature.gif

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

That's cool. My mom used to make jam back in the day, but she hasn't for quite some time. It can be a lot of work. Like you said, it can take all day if you do enough of them. There's something nice about eating fresh jam that you made yourself though. I always enjoyed helping her make it. And I enjoyed eating it even more! :)

Yes!! I haven't made this in years and it is sooooo delicious! yeah I had to sample a little last night

This is actually the easiest and quickest canning/preserving recipe I know of. Maybe 2 hours from start to finish

That homemade jam is looking tasty @goldendawne :)

Trust me... IT IS!! I had a sample last night and now I can have more on my breakfast toast!

that jam looks SO good @goldendawne! I can literally taste it and it's making my mouth water..ya'll had a great tradition going there. I don't think there's anything better than fresh strawberries!
you get your bigger property and you'll have your own strawberry patch!

That would be FABULOUS!!! My own strawberry patch! Hopefully you are correct

So easy too! More people doing things for themselves. I love it!

SUPER easy!! Almost a FOOLPROOF recipe

Yes, I do many things homemade and love that there's no chemicals and I have control over it all.

Homemade jams are the best! Strawberry has to be my favourite!

My favorite to be honest is blackberry but strawberry runs a VERY close second.
Hope all is well with you... still praying for you and your family.

Prayers are really appreciated. We just go from one crisis to another. I feel like I am continually stomping out forest fires! LOL All will be better once we get this baby born and both mama and baby are healthy!

Homemade strawberry jam is amazing and this recipe is super simple! Thanks for sharing! :)

It is very simple... it was actually the first recipe I ever canned/preserved

mmm delicious jam, I love strawberries :-)

It really is good! Just the right amount of sweetness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11