Maple Marjoram Tofu

in #recipes5 years ago

My favorite part of this tofu recipe is the delicious juxtaposition of strong spices and the intense sweetness of maple. The two combine to make a tasty tofu dish. Because of the sugar content of maple syrup, the tofu develops a lovely char as it cooks. Enjoy this simple tofu recipe as a a main entree, a side, or an accompaniment to almost any salad.

Ingredients:

  • 1 block extra firm tofu, pressed and cubed
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil (for marinade)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil (for frying)
  • ½ teaspoon garlic salt
  • ½ teaspoon ground marjoram
  • ¼ teaspoon ground coriander
  • ¼ teaspoon ground white pepper
  • 2 tablespoons maple syrup
  1. Place the pressed and cubed tofu in a container with an airtight lid and set aside.
  2. Prepare the marinade by stirring together olive oil, maple syrup, garlic salt, marjoram, coriander, and pepper in a mall bowl. Stir well until fully combined.
  3. Evenly distribute the marinade over the tofu, place the lid on the container holding the tofu and shake gently to better distribute the marinade. Place the tofu in the refrigerator and allow the marinade to be soaked up by the tofu for a minimum of 1 hour.
  4. In a large skillet heat the olive oil on medium heat. Add tofu to the pan and cook to desired crispiness, stirring occasionally. The pictured tofu was cooked for 20 minutes.
  5. Allow to rest in pan with heat off for 5 minutes prior to serving.

This is great served over some spinach and my grain medley or on top of a simple salad of tomato, cucumber and arugula.

Sort:  

I know people say the Tofu just takes on the flavors of whatever you cook it with, but I don't know if I can do it. I have never tried it myself and I have to be honest I would be hesitant to do it. I think I am mostly worried about what the texture would be like. This does look like a very nice dish though.

The char aspect sounds really good. I need to use marjoram more. I dont use it often. Maybe I'll give this a try. I havent had tofu in a while.

Posted using Partiko Android

Its look so yummy to have such a delicious dish like this.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Nice recipe. I will try this one.

Interesante

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85