Sunrise Grain Wraps

in #recipes6 years ago

I almost always have leftovers, and I absolutely despise wasting food. However, I’m cursed with a short attention span and don’t enjoy eating the same meal over and over. I like to get creative with my meals and repurpose my leftovers into new dishes.

Last night, I made my grain medley with peas, and I had plenty of leftovers. So this morning instead of simply reheating the grains and eating them as is, I reheated them with onions, eggs, and garlic and served in a wrap. It was so delicious, I had to share the simple recipe with you.

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ cups grain medley with peas (recipe here)
  • ½ cup fresh baby spinach leaves
  • 3 tortillas
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 minced clove of garlic
  • ¼ cup chopped onion
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 5 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons crumbled feta cheese
  • 1 tablespoon balsamic glaze(optional)
  1. In a large skillet over medium heat, heat olive oil. Add onion and garlic, cook for about 2 minutes.
  2. Add grain medley to skillet and stir. Continue to cook until heated thoroughly, about 4 minutes.
  3. In a medium bowl, whisk eggs with a dash of salt and pepper. Add eggs to skillet and allow to sit for 2 minutes before scrambling. Scramble eggs by cooking for about 4 more minutes, stirring occasionally.
  4. Meanwhile, warm tortillas and place on serving plates. Distribute spinach leaves on the tortillas.
  5. Remove eggs from heat, sprinkle evenly with feta. Portion each tortilla with the egg/grain mixture and a drizzle of balsamic. Fold into a wrap/burrito shape and serve warm.
Sort:  

Very good idea, from now on I will not throw away the leftover food.

In a vegetarian restaurant, a few days ago, I ate a salad made with grain, tomatoes and onion in little cubes. I don't have any idea what was the dressing, but it was delicious. You can try this too!

Wow that looks sooo yummy

Posted using Partiko Android

You have 9 eggs total. How many really? LOL.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88