Why do I recommend videos/channels and why I think more people should

in #recommendation6 years ago

apple-applications-apps-607812.jpg

Actually the reason is really simple - I love content. I've been consuming content online since I was 13 years old. The main reason I know English and I'm able to write this right now is because I was so obsessed with watching videos and reading articles that I taught myself English when I was 14 years old in order to understand what people were saying.

That's why I think people who create high quality content should be both rewarded and promoted. Sadly, I can't always reward people for their efforts, especially when it comes to money. I can't buy their "merch" even if I'd love to, because I don't have enough money, so the best thing I can do is turn off AdBlocker on their websites/channels and "sacrifice" some of my time in order to watch ads and support them.

However, something I CAN do is share their content whenever I have the chance in order for more people to find their work and for the creators to get even more support, and I think more people should do the same, even here, on Steemit.

I guess the main problem is that because Steemit is a place where you can make money with pretty much everything you post, especially if it's decent, a lot of people will take advantage of this system and will spam you with all kind of recommendations or videos from other people in order to get your attention.

Honestly, I think that's wrong. There's a difference between promoting someone's channel and maybe make a few money out of it, and spamming your followers with videos made by another person just so you can get a few upvotes.

Promoting a content creator shouldn't be about money, but about your desire to help them, even if by a little, to help more people find them and to overall increase the number of followers THEY have. If by doing that you get something in return as well, good for you.

If you've been watching someone you really like or if you recently found an amazing video that people may enjoy, then don't be afraid to share it. All you have to do is write a little description of the channel/video, get a decent preview image for your post and then publish it.

Help your creators by promoting them. It may not get them thousands of subscribers, or thousands of dollars, but every bit of exposure helps.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83