Monday Trance - Cassiopeia by Nail

in #recordpool6 years ago (edited)

Here we go, it's time again for #MondayTrance, the #Tag started by @andyjaypowell that encourages us to show off some of our favorites in the world of trance.

Once again, I'm moving away from the epic trance that I think most people expect for something a little bit older and softer. Released in 1993 on Warp, Cassiopeia predates much of what we would come to know trance as but as you will hear all the pieces are there. The arpeggiated synth melody is hypnotic as it ebbs and flows in the track in classic trance style, but the production touches give it the type of edge that made Warp such an influential label. That vocal sample adds an emotional weight to it with a touch of sadness. Almost mournful. While the edits to it might sound simple today, I could imagine the editing sounding groundbreaking in 1993. You could see a classy techno DJ dropping this as a nod to the past and blowing people away. It's certainly easing me into my week.

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Beautiful 👌👌👌. Synth magic

Thanks! I love looking into the past for trance records. Not a ton of cheese back then but a ton of energy.

Same! I know nothing about what's going on in trance today I always consult my itunes library from the mid 2000s

Loading...

great choice. I love doing artwork to this type of music. Always love new recommendations since Pandora can get repetitive

Appreciate it. I do music posts on the daily normally airing towards Techno but diverting into a lot of other genres depending on the mood. I've never actually used Pandora. I've always personally been mildly uncomfortable with allowing the music I love to be reduced into an algorithm of recommendations for me and how it curates known artists while making it harder for the little guys to compete, but not everyone is as obsessive with music as me and I totally understand its appeal.

It starts off feeling like a great way to get new music recommended to you but ends up feeling like a google news feed where it decides that there are really only about 20 songs that you like.

Great tune to start a set to. Been to a few DiY Bounce nights at the Marcus Garvey Centre in Nottingham back in the mid 90s. Always a blast.

I'm not going to lie, I would have loved to have been at the age to see that raw authentic energy that the 90s had in regards to this type of music. Sounds like it would have been awesome to be a part of.

Check out my tumblr blog https://norepetitivebeats.tumblr.com/

I've been aggregating images, videos and text on the scene for years now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99