Song of the Day - Drip (Apparat Remix) by Lusine

in #recordpool6 years ago

Tired tonight from a good run at 6 in the morning followed by a long day at work followed once again by college. Taking a little break before bed to listen to some music. Heading out to NYC here next week and I'm getting pretty excited at the potential of seeing Modeselektor, Apparat, and Vatican Shadow on the same bill while I'm out there which leads me to today's #songoftheday

Lusine is actually a local musician in my area who is one of the best electronic music exports coming from the Pacific Northwest, but Apparat's take on his song Drip is possibly my favorite thing either of them have done, which is really saying something considering how much I admire both Apparat's solo work and his work with Modeselektor and Ellen Allien. I've analyzed it and attempted to recreate it multiple times and I've always just been left awestruck by the details of the sound design in it. Spastic lead synths and drums fade in and out of the stereo image in a way that is hard to grasp as a fellow producer, but the pads are in stark contrast from the frantic nearly IDM beat that develops from it. All of this and it is still very much playable in the hands of a quality DJ, no easy feat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28