Fixing a gamepad with sticky buttons

in #recycling5 years ago

About three years ago I built a home entertainment system for my living room tv; a HTPC running gnu/linux with Gnome Shell as its desktop environment.

I also wanted to be able to play games on it, so I bought an unofficial wireless xbox360 USB adapter from China for about 8 USD, to connect my xbox360 controllers. The adapter worked flawlessly and still does.

After many years of use, some of the controllers now have sticky buttons which makes it useless to play with. I've wanted to disassemble it for a while now, to give it a thorough clean, but couldn't because of proprietary screw-heads.

So the other day, I was at the computer store for a completely different reason when I happened to notice a (quite cheap) screwdriver-kit that contained this bad boy:

Easy choice! Disassembling the controller and cleaning all the parts was a breeze now. Putting it together again was slightly trickier, but far from impossible.


Wireless xbox360 USB adapter for PC

Result after disassembly, cleaning and re-assembly: As new and fully working again!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

@mightpossibly You have received a 100% upvote from @steemconductor because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94