More Personally Recycled Items Saved & Sold For $1,201 - Will You Please Step Up And Take Action?

in #recycling5 years ago (edited)

My mission continues.

Here's yet another list of 21+ free things I plucked from city's curb recycling and sold for pure profit.

Almost all were shipped using recycled boxes and packaging material (minus tape).

Helping the environment should never be something to turn a blind eye to.

If we have the opportunity to contribute to making it better, we owe it to everyone in the world to do our small part.

If it's not important to you, apathy contributes to this growing global problem. Eventually, shit will really hit the fan if we don't take this seriously.

...Please do something to help or conserve. It all adds up and it's for a great cause.


The Finds:

(Some have been shown in the past when I initially found them, and all but one are the first instance on Steem of their sale.)

HP printer tested and sold for $105.

CFA book set sold for $100. Buyer brought me a freshly made Insomnia cookie as a thank you when she picked it up.

Stroller ride-on board sold for $95 a few blocks away.

1965 Augusta Masters Golf Tournament practice round badge sold for $150 (40 mins after posting it the same day I found it).

Two CFA exam books sold for $75.

Kenmore vacuum base tested and sold for $72.

25 vintage race car magazines from 1968-1973 sold for $59.

Kenmore vacuum hose sold for $59.

Graphing calculator found in my own building's recycling sold for $55 within 4 hours.

Two CFA exam books sold for $55.

Bugaboo stroller bassinet sold for $55 cash (discounted as a favor).

Miele vacuum motor sold for $50.

Samsung TV main board tested and sold for $50.

Two CFA exam books and bonus book sold for $38 after upselling them to the girl who picked up the first set/gave me a cookie.

Vacuum hose sold for $38.

Sotheby's auction catalog sold for $28.

Graphing calculator found in my own building's recycling sold for $25 within 4 hours.

Bugaboo stroller bumper bar sold for $25.

Shark vacuum elbow and swivel joint sold for $25.

Miele vacuum switch sold for $23.

Dyson vacuum soleplate sold for $19.


Sales prices are revenue before any applicable fees or shipping.

Yes, more vacuum stuff... It may be boring to some, but I find them constantly and metal/plastic saved is metal/plastic saved, and the money they earn is real.

It's not always about the lucrative finds. It's about each and every item not being wasted and now in the hands of people who needed them (won't need to buy a new one).

Add this up in the thousands of items I've saved in this fashion (and shipped in recycled packaging), and it makes a dent.

Please give it a try. It's fun and rewarding.

As always, let me know if you have any questions or could use some advice. I'm happy to help you value something you found if you'd like.

Thanks for your support,
@steemmatt

Me drumming yesterday.

Sort:  

damn man you making profits in the streets and putting them in crypto!
legit wealth coming in your way my man! <3

Truly awesome stuff!

If you make $100 a day, then you are bringing in $36,500 per year. Break it down how you want. Two $50 items. 5 $20 items. Whatever. Sell something for a few hundred and you made a few days worth of pay!

I now don't have a real job and only spend a little bit of time selling on eBay. My days are mine again and it is amazing! :D

I think about that math all the time. However, I try to aim for a certain figure a day in profit, forgetting revenue. A few hundred a day is certainly within reach all the time if I keep hustling. The trick is that crypto is a blessing (nice nest egg), and curse (nice nest egg)... where I've become a little bit bored with USD and just use it to pay the bills with gritted teeth while waiting for bitcoin the become more acceptable for payments.

Welcome to paradise. All the prior legwork got you to this point where you can now manage what you have and earn efficiently to maintain your freedom. Will you get back into thrifting more aggressively, or is that more of a hobby from now on?

Oh, you can find me at the thrift stores every week :D

Almost all were shipped using recycled boxes and packaging material (minus tape).

You know, they sell recycled tape. They have cellulose tape, but I personally would suggest paper based tape. It's a little harder to use until you get used to it, because you use water to stick it on, but it actually seals better than normal tape, because it bonds with the cardboard of the box.

I personally like EcoEnclose. (Not sponsored.) They even give away free samples of their packing materials, which are all either at least partially recycled, or compostable, or both.

You can get paper tape from all sorts of places though. It's just hard to get in many normal consumer level stores, because they suck. Lots of it is made from recycled paper, just because.

Thanks for the heads up on the tape. I sell a bit of stuff online so an environmentally responsible option is worth investigating.

Posted using Partiko Android

You learn something new every day. I'm all set with boxes/packaging, but the tape option(s) is intriguing!! Even I just used it selectively, that's a big win given the volume of stuff I'm sending out. I'll look into seeing about a tape sample. Thank you for the product feedback as well.

Even if it doesn't bring the big bucks, anything kept out of landfill is better for the planet we leave for future generations.

When you break down TVs and such for their components, are you able to recycle any of the stuff that can't be onsold like cracked screens and the like?

Posted using Partiko Android

You get the picture! Given space restrictions in my apt, I have to put the parts I can't sell back on the curb, albeit a bit lighter than before. Theoretically, these TVs will be brought to a recycling center where I hope they're recycled somehow. Perhaps in the future if I can grow this operation, there may be more ways to optimize this. Right now, I'm a one man army. I've begged my friends to help, but they don't see it as worth the time right now.

Anything you can repurpose is a win in my book.

Posted using Partiko Android

Superb effort. I chose to buy a second hand shelf and storage box today for my business, co this stuff MATTERS. Keep lighting and showing the way!


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

It's amazing that people don't make the effort to sell, or at least pass on, these things themselves. I'm currently trying to do a clear out and after looking at your haul here, I am inspired to start listing on gumtree.

Posted using Partiko Android

Precisely! There are thrift stores, missions, churches, homeless shelters, relatives, etc., but people prefer easy street. It's really frustrating to see what I've seen for years. I've posted dozens of example posts like this on Steemit and have an unending list of examples to keep producing to give people ideas and motivation to be more aware/take action. Thanks for getting behind the cause. Every little bit not wasted is a big step forward.

Awesome job!
Finally, helping Earth is s bringing money and st the same time saving money for others.
Keep rocking!

Thank you. Glad you see the light. I hope others will follow this path even if it's just for a hobby to donate things like these to charities who need them or can benefit. One person at a time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85