Recycling For Income - One ~$250 Find Last Night, One $150 Cash Sale Today - A Small Slice Of My Independent Day

in #recycling5 years ago (edited)

The circle of recycling-life continues with a good example of a simple flow of inventory and profit.

Respect the hustle!

I found these two valuable special edition Baby Jogger strollers exactly like this about 2 weeks ago.

I took the first stroller as is and hand washed it to be in excellent shape. I also added a snack tray bar across the front I'd previously found and had been waiting to put on the next Baby Jogger I found (fairly common).

For space reasons, I only took the wheels and canopy off the second stroller and put them in the bag I had from a $5 thrift store purchase that should sell for about $100. This stroller's canopy is worth ~$45, the front wheel is $35, and each rear wheel is $30. It was a special anniversary edition model with a small tear in the seat, so I tried to be practical.

Here's the first stroller's formal picture, which I sold for $150 cash today:

The second stroller's parts will sell within a month. I just listed the wheels last night and already have a watcher on the front one. I've inadvertently been slow to list the canopy.


Replenish:

So while this sale is a good win to start my day, replenishing my inventory with something at or of more value to keep my pipeline healthy is a priority.

An example of this in real time is this find from last night... a high end air-purifier with its expensive filters that works just fine. I've sold one like this before without filters for cash with ease, so this of a higher caliber should move soon. I found some other things last night, but I'll keep it simple with one example that's worth a decent amount.

This Blueair 601 air purifier = easy money.

I dusted it off and asked the doorman of the building this was in front of if I could bring it in to test it. He agreed after a nudge. This saved me the hassle of bringing it home to find out it might not have worked. It ran fine, so I brought it home a few blocks, cleaned it/took pics, and then went back out to find more.

It's important to keep the momentum to turn over larger/bulkier items by listing them right away.


Money found and made. Environment helped. Rinse, repeat. Pun intended.

Keep your eyes open and you'll start seeing easy money for the taking in areas where people put their recycling or trash out on the curbs.

If everyone did just a little bit, the cumulative impact on our landfills and planet would be enormous!


Want more?

@steemmatt

Sort:  

they just throw computer cases out!? :O

It's an expensive air purifier. They do throw computer cases out all of the time. The other night, I found 9 computers without their hard drives. I took one home, a custom gaming computer tower:

Holy shit!!! dude what town are you in? Ballers town? :O

Still jealous that you live where people chuck easy money right into the street for ya!

Today I sold on eBay a commode seat cushion for disabled people for $267, a vintage eyeletter tool for $40, a religious textbook for $15, and some Clark shoes for $28.

Locally, I sold a baby bumbo chair for $35.

Rock on. You have 10's of thousands of items to find and sell!! Keep the pedal to the metal.

Big auction wins tonight. Gold, silver, and plenty of electronics.

I think we need to start a global challenge - drop you in the streets of suburban Chiang Mai in Thailand and see what you come up with... LOL. Very, very little is thrown away here! and we have many local repair shops. Might make for a good reality TV show?? :)


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Awesome job! Great finds for sure and thanks for sharing!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for being a fan.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28