$150 Same Day Flip Of A Super Rare 1965 Augusta Golf Masters Tournament Practice Round Badge + A Complete 13 Book Shakespeare Set From The 1880s Saved From Waste!

in #recycling5 years ago (edited)

I found this super rare piece of golf memorabilia at 3:30 AM today, listed it at 2:41 PM, and sold it for $150 at 3:18 PM.

Easy money, right? Nope!

I put the time and effort in to find these types of things (for free in my city's curb recycling), and have developed the eye to spot hidden value after lots of experience.


This was sitting in a box of old golf books that was open on the curb. I took the time to check out each book to find this badge buried within the pile.

This is the Masters tournament where Jack Nicklaus set his famous record. Items from this event are in very high demand. It's one of the most popular golf events for collectors.

I actually wasn't sure where to price this, so I based it off a 1962 badge I saw that sold for $135 to be realistic.

Either my price was on point, or I missed out on more money since it sold in under 40 minutes.

I probably could've gotten $200, but can't complain with a nice profit.

More importantly, I saved a gem of a collectible from being destroyed, and will get it into the hands of someone who will appreciate it.

Here she is:

IMG_5309.jpg

IMG_5310.jpg

A simple and worthless piece of paper to most, but a prized and irreplaceable collectible to others.

As for the price in 1965, ohhh inflation...


A few other notable finds from the night:

A top notch working Miele vacuum with its electric hose...

Step 1: Find it (right outside my gym after my workout)

Step 2: Test and clean...

Much better after 5 minutes of wiping it down with rubbing alcohol.

This will sell for $140 in a few weeks.

The hose will sell for about $60.


A complete antique Shakespeare collection from the 1880's. Yes, all 13 books were still together after all this time!!

All spines are intact. It's pretty nice to find and SAVE something that's almost 140 years old.

I like the look of the marbled covers.


Mint 1974 Vatican Missal book worth ~$40.


I found other old books, but I'll save them for when I list/sell them. I may donate some.

As I package up some thrift store sales and this badge, tomorrow is a Craigslist pickup for a curb-found stroller bassinet for cash.

I'll then be off to a few thrift stores and the gym before the curbs tonight if the rain holds.

I also stopped in 2 stores last night and found one item for $10 that'll sell for $85 (I've sold 7 of them before to know), and another item for $2 that has 6 watchers on it in under 24 hours at $104. If I could test the second item, it'd sell for $225, but I'll just move it along as "untested for parts/repair."

Thanks for following,
@steemmatt

Sort:  

what the hell?!!! people just leave them in the streets!?
Man this consumerism culture has got to stop! :O

All of this is always right in the streets! Simply in clear plastic bags or in boxes. It is insane. Usually it's building maintenance or building supers who put the stuff out, but it's the tenants who toss the stuff in the first place who are terrible!

Do you see it bro?
This world is going NUTS! literally, I don't know how this pattern will end.

Nice scores man! Killer stuff :D

Man..look at that Shakespeare! How could you throw out something so old.

Posted using Partiko Android

I know these people are smart because they have a lot of money, but they are so stupid not to simply pay someone to bring things to a thrift store for them or to a charity. Grrrr..

You're really hammering it out with those vacuum cleaners. Kind of crazy to see them popping up every week.

Our trash day was today, so last night I went out and managed to snag a fan pretty much brand new, just a little dust on it. A $60 fan that I could probably get about $30 or so for if I don't need it. I didn't really look for anything though, just a walk around the neighborhood and saw it sitting out. Too many empty boxes out.

Anyway, keep up the good work. I'll ease myself into it slowly in these coming weeks.

Posted using Partiko Android

It's so crazy people just throw history out on the curb. Thanks for rescuing it.

Posted using Partiko Android

It happens constantly where I am and I can only cover so much ground. I've saved tons, literally, but it's just scratching the surface. Thanks for stopping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20