Bicycle Tour – Did it change my life?

in #reflecting6 years ago

Having done this circa 5-week-long venture of mine, it suddenly put my whole life upside down. I still ate, slept and brushed my tooth, like usual, but in a completely different context.

For the past year my life had been waking up to my "job" in the civil service, and finally upon getting it over, I left almost immediately in under a week.

Now I'm back, and in a way this 5 weeks has been like a reset button that has created this empty space in the continuum of routine and life, and I now realize that I have an opportunity to introduce some new routines with more ease (until they get disrupted again for the duration of Steemfest). As much as I could get induced with videogames and series, I'm staying away from them at least for a while, and instead I think I will start reading more, now that I actually have a lot of time and energy to do that without any obligations. Not that having a job would be a good excuse to neglect that, but now I actually feel like doing that without needing to force myself into it. I have one book to be finished now, non-fiction, but when I'm done with it, I think I'd like to read some good fiction, which I haven't done for a while, but I don't have much idea where to start, so I'm open to suggestions – give me the best you can recommend.

DSC_0193.jpg

I don't know about you, but for me the views aren't necessarily "the thing" – even if they're great – of the trip, but it is equally, if not more, the trip into my mind. "Finding oneself", or whatever cliche way it is described. It is true though.

It was an experiment in a sense, because I was interested to see how my mind would react to it, and what this new – bit extreme – activity would potentially change in it. I like good views still though, and the variety of different scenery helps to make the ride more enjoyable. Even though I like to be efficient with traveling by using big straight roads that usually have much more general and flat profile, sometimes a not so straightforward one could be a better choice if it has less traffic and a more diverse scenery.

And on these big roads it happened that I occasionally started going "mental" if you will; Sometimes I was having a monologue where I was discussing the absurd nature of life itself and how do my cells create this thing called a living human with wide experience of emotions and all. Like what the hell all this really is? At other times I did more standard activity and just sang to myself... trying to drive the earworms caught in gas stations away. Sometimes when I was pedaling through heavy rain I literally just screamed out my frustration and would've swore the gods – if I believed in any – that gave me constant headwind or rain. This usually happened on the big roads, so like I said, sometimes the small although longer road could be a better option. And when I saw a dark forest, I started to imitate a parrot: "Murky woods... murky... murky woods." Yeah, I know how crazy I must've looked, but what can you do when your brain wants to entertain itself?

Most of the time I actually wasn't a mental caravan on two wheels though, don't get me wrong.

But the main thing it has done is probably the changed perception towards work and time, which I already touched with discussing patience. So, with extensive cycling I've been able to develop a more long-term approach towards it, and I believe it'll transfer to other aspects too, to an extent.

So, to answer the question proposed on the headline that @kryptik also asked in chat,

did it change your life?

I'd say that perhaps not by itself, but it has the potential to have long lasting effects, depending how I decide to use my time now after.

Sort:  

Glad you made it. Sometimes you just have to throw yourself into something to find out about yourself. My best travelling experiences arose when I was alone and forced to interact with the locals more. I like to read Lee Child's 'Jack Reacher' series when I need a little escapism from the real world.

My best travelling experiences arose when I was alone and forced to interact with the locals more.

I can imagine!

I like to read Lee Child's 'Jack Reacher' series when I need a little escapism from the real world.

mental note marked

Hi @celestal. I love the way you describe the internal dialogue you were having to keep the metaphorical wolf of 'crazy' from the door!

I was having a monologue where I was discussing the absurd nature of life itself and how do my cells create this thing called a living human with wide experience of emotions and all. Like what the hell all this really is? At other times I did more standard activity and just sang to myself

I ran a triathlon 7 years ago, when I was still healthy, and I remember on the running section (jogging/running is not my strong suit) repeating mantras to be able to keep going -

One fcking, foot... in front of the other fcking foot

Was my favorite 😄

Also I remember having similar self-conversations with myself on the 40 k bike part to distract myself from going mental. What you did with the bike journey was on another level though. Looking forward to hearing more about it at SF3 :-)

I ran a triathlon 7 years ago, when I was still healthy, and I remember on the running section (jogging/running is not my strong suit) repeating mantras to be able to keep going -

One fcking, foot... in front of the other fcking foot

Great mantra, haha!

Looking forward to hearing more about it at SF3 :-)

Heh, you better have questions ready, because I'm having hard time to "just tell about the trip". It's like, where do I even begin? I don't know 😅

I'll get my questions ready mate 😄

First one for me would be: what nature/wilderness places you went? But leave the answers for SF3 or posts if you want😉 P.s. let me know when they drop in discord as I'm really interested. I'm following you but I don't look at my feed page that often for some reason, I always forget.

Alright, will answer at SF3 at the lastest!

Did you feel lonely? When I've been out on a bicycle tour by myself it was too solitary for my tastes, and I'm an introverted person.

Posted using Partiko Android

In the beginning when I spent more than a week alone, it did get lonely, yes, but luckily for the rest of the trip I had friends and family along the way, so I never got to feel like that again. I'm an introvert too.

Out of curiosity, where did you make your own tour?

I did several tours with a summer camp when I was a teen. They were 12 days, 500 miles typically. We rode from Pennsylvania to Niagara Falls, the Virginia coast, and Boston in three consecutive summers. In college I rode solo from my parents house to my girlfriends house in Virginia. That was 4 days.

My most recent tour was 2009 from central Virgina to the North Carolina coast. The coastal and piedmont areas of the southern US are perfect for riding. It is rural and pretty with no hills. That was 300 miles in 5 days.

Now that my daughter is old enough to care for herself, I'm thinking of riding again. She hates bicycles, but I can probably get my wife to come.

Posted using Partiko Android

If you get your wife with you I'm sure it would be great! Unless she really dislikes it.

Looking at what you have just done, I can't imagine my life enabling me to do anything like that. For better or worse, you got rid of your 'stuff' and really got back to basics and tore back a chunk of your life! So awesome!

Now, you have effectively broken probably 95% of your habits by not doing them for a month +. What an opportunity!

Pick things you always wished you could do and should have been doing and just do them. I am a big fan of fiction and actually reading a paper book as you live one life, but can live a thousand if you read a thousand adventure/fiction books.

What an opportunity man. Can't wait to see how it turns out on your blog!

It's been a life with pretty much with essentials only indeed. I think I'll pick up learning Spanish again which I started doing some time ago. Will start running again too, once my knees recover. But right now, I will do another good habit and go bed early :D

Adjustment Day - Chuck Palahniuk

I liked it. It was pretty strange and twisted.

And I’m the only person that’s read it lol.

I just want to talk about it with someone.

Dark Matter was also a decent read I got into recently but I’m a huge Chuck Palahniuk fan so read him instead lol.

He wrote Fight Club.

Okay, I'll pick some Chuck's novel the next time I go to library 😄

You are not insane. (or, we both are!) I used to run long distance and bike a lot as well. (not 1300 kms in 5 weeks! but 3 or 4 hour rides to surrounding small towns around my city.)
I also found the brain 'goes for a walk' once you've been mashing on the body long enough to prove you won't be needing it's services any time soon. The results can be very good... and very weird at times. I figured you gotta' take them both. Sometimes it does make you wonder about yourself. But I think, on the whole, you're better for it.
Congratulations on accomplishing such a massive goal.

Most of the time it was more like meditation in a way rather than going mental, so I agree that it was beneficial in some way.

Congratulations on accomplishing such a massive goal.

Didn't' even think of this as goal per se, cause this was just something I "had to do", but thanks!

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.708 which ranks you at #4951 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 8 places in the last three days (old rank 4943).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 304 contributions, your post is ranked at #114.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37