Go, Tell It On The Mountain - Bob Marley ( My Thoughts)

in #reggae5 years ago

Bob-Marley_3(2).jpg
Source
...

This song was just on my mind throughout yesterday but when I could find time to sit down and review, I forgot the song again. Today, it came again early in the morning and I just need to say a lot about how I met this song and how the melody has sharpen my music life in terms of tempo.

Trying to google it here to search for more info and it dawned on me that some songs aren't yet properly categorized yet to proper album.

Many reggae fans on Steemit were surprised the first day I brought out Chances Are as an entry to @reggaesteem contest in the early days of the airdrop. Many have forgotten such songs exit, many don't even know it nor can attest to ever listening to it.

It really dawned on me that there might be more of Bob Marley which haven't been documented yet.

Between 1991 and 2007 Bob Marley and The Wailers sold in excess of 21 million records. These statistics did not begin to be collected until ten years after his death.
Source:Wikipedia

You can imagine, 10 good years after.

Who knows, maybe there are still some unknown, forgotten songs kept somewhere safe by a record label or producer yet to hit the market, just like Tupac tapes.

A lead said it comes from Shakedown in 1978 while another calls it a Trench Track Record of which both aren't in the anals of Wikipedia.

At this end I'll be happy if anyone can tell me the actual album this song comes from and a proper link to it on the search engine.
Thanks.

Leaving you guys with the lyrics of the song.

Go tell it on the mountain
Over the hills and everywhere
Go tell it on the mountain
To set my people free.
...
Who's there yonder dressed in red
Set my people free
Who's there yonder dressed in red
Set my people free
Who's that yonder dressed in red
Must be the children that Moses led.
...
Go tell it on the mountain
To set my people free
Go tell it on the mountain
Over the hills and everywhere
Go tell it on the mountain
To set my people free.
...
Who's there yonder dressed in white
Set my people free
Who's there yonder full dressed in white
Set my people free
Who's there yonder dressed in white
Must be the children of the Israelites
Go tell it on the mountain
To set my people free
Mm mm mm mm
...
Who's there yonder dressed in white
Set my people free
Who's there yonder dressed in white
Set my people free
Who's there yonder dressed in white
Must be the children of the Israelites
Go tell it on the mountain
To set my people free
Source


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded
Sort:  

@botefarm, Bob Marley's songs always hold deep meaning and people have to dive deep with this music to swim in it's essence.

Posted using Partiko Android

I was about to give the meaning when I found out its not well documented on the internet.

I'll do the reviews and meaning tomorrow .

Go, tell it on Steemit,
Over the crypto space, everywhere.....

You've got cool words.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @botefarm, you made me know the lyric or the song and i go with you... Hehe


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

It proves the point that there are many Bob Marley songs yet unknown.

Well if there are more unreleased Marley songs, I feel when they do surface, the only way to get them may be through Marley coins, which I hear is in the works. Great post:)


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

What? I've never heard of Marley coins, can you tell me more or give me the link to it.

You have received 5x upvotes from the members of @steemexplorers from your free link submission in our discord server. Steemexplorers is an initiative bringing information on various Steemit services and communities in a central discord to save you time and help you grow. It's free, it's easy, and it's here to help you in so many ways. Come by our discord to learn more! Link to Discord: https://discord.gg/6QrMCFq. Our team also offers an additional upvoting service called @givememonsters where you can presently trade in 1 to 10 DEC from the Steem Monsters game for up to $0.03 upvotes on ANY steemit posts. The vote purchasing value here is some of the best returns on your investments that you can find anywhere so come by and visit this service today!

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09