Relationship 101, Contributed by @Olawalium

pexels-photo-247858.jpg


I feel it is important to share these things with you so we can all learn from it as I am learning too. Like I always say, we all learn together.

I have been speaking on relationships lately and I know if we get our relationships right, things might become a little bit easier.

A lot of people know what to do, but they need to be reminded while some don’t know what to do, so they need to learn. We are all learning as we are growing and going through life, and that was why the series on what life is all about has been shared in past posts. You can catch up with them if you haven’t.


pexels-photo-226166.jpg


A relationship is a very tricky thing. It requires a great amount of time, loyalty, and dedication. If you are not up for it, don’t sign up for it. It is never a crime for you to wait till you are ready but a lot of people feel incomplete because they don’t have a boyfriend or girlfriend.

You shouldn’t be defined by another person. It is a terrible state to be in if you feel not having a partner means you are failing. Life is more than that even though I admit having a partner makes things easier, but it shouldn’t be a do or die affair.

A lot of people don’t even have a say as to their own relationship. They listen to a lot of external influence which will never sustain any relationship.

A lot of people act selfishly too in relationships. All I keep hearing is a loud “me” instead of a resounding “we”. As much as you are important in a relationship, it shouldn’t revolve aro​und you and this is why we discussed “being considerate” in the life series shared for the past few weeks.

To be continued...

Thank you for your time.


My pen doesn’t bleed, it speaks, with speed and ease.

Still me,

My tongue is like the pen of a ready writer.

Olawalium; (Love’s chemical content, in human form). Take a dose today: doctor’s order.


If you enjoyed this post, follow @Olawalium

Sort:  

I had a long discussion about relationships with my friend today (mostly marriage). Frankly it tired me out and the truth was that we started the discussion on a negative note and allowing the presumption of failure of relationships to dominate our thoughts.

At end we realized this and stopped. This really started because the discussion was focused on how would 'I' survive rather than how a 'couple' could flourish. Had we started the discussion with 'we' rather than 'I' on our minds, the result could have been great.

Wow! I always enjoy personal experiences and i am glad you could relate with this.

Yes, a lot of people go into marriage with the mind set of enduring, and this makes it easy to look for an escape route rather than fix whatever needs fixing. "We" is the key in marriage. With it, you can scale over hurdles and it make things a little bit easier.

It requires a lot of effort and dedication to it.

Thanks as always, brother.

Hi,

Needed your reminder in my life now. Thanks.

I am glad you found it useful. That makes me happy. Thank you.

Agreed, a relationship should not be one sided but it should be a give and take. Compromises are part of the recipe.

Good one. Compromises are definitely part of it. We can't eat our cake and have it. Something need to be let off and new things need to be absorbed. It is a huge learning curve and determination is vital to it.

Thanks for this.

Brother's very good post

Thank you. Glad you like it.

Just a heads up, that is a comment spam bot just posting to earn curation off your post. Happy Sunday

Wow! Never knew even though i sensed the comment was spam. I just thought it was one of the 'lazy' people who hardly read a post to the last letters.

Thanks for this heads up. Really appreciate it.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87