A Quick Word on Dating Apps and Their Effect on People and the Dating Landscape

in #relationships6 years ago

In my short time on Earth, I've been generally accustomed to being in relationships. In 7th/8th grade, I went out with the same girl for a year and a half. High school was riddled with flings and more serious commitments, as were the years after. I like having someone to confide in, as well as being that support to someone else. I prefer dedication and companionship over one night stands. It's not like no-strings-attached sex isn't great once in awhile, but it's not satisfying or gratifying to me. I'm always left wanting to spend time, to get to know somebody, to have something special.

IMG_3302.JPG
Image Source

As Tinder got more popular over the past few years, I found people to be less keen on the whole "romance" (ugh, scary right?) thing. Hot sex - just a click away! Sort through peoples faces like you sort through your piles of clothes before dropping the bags of old shit off at the GoodWill! Worthy, worthy, eww... Worthy, worthy, worthy, eugch... Worthy... Hope I get a match!

IMG_3301.JPG
Image Source

I have a theory. The rise of these window-shopping dating apps has made some people shallow. Like, shallllllowwwww. And fickle. Jaded. Less willing to meet people organically. Less excited about the spontaneous greeting, the random small talk on the bus, the in-person, genuine, caring, and serendipitous connections you might want to build on. Why look out for these opportunities in real life when you have so many easy opportunities for "dating" (fucking) at your fingertips?

I don't know, maybe I'm just bitter and talking total bullshit. But I think the dating scene in my generation (I'm 21) has gotten totally fucked by the ease and quickness of 'matching' with people online. I still have never made a Tinder account. I know people truly find good friends on the app, connections they might have for a long time. I know not everyone on Tinder is looking to hook up as soon as possible with any organism that breathes and has a pulse. My friends rant and rave about Tinder all the time, and seem to have success on the platform (whatever that means to them). That being said, I still don't know if I totally agree with the concept at play and what it has done to the dating landscape for us young people.

What do you think? Do you use Tinder or other dating apps? Have you seen it change the way you and your friends think about relationships, or people in general? Are we better off having these services at our disposal? Let me know what you think in the comments!

IMG_3257.JPG

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

I think that dating apps are garbage. There are a few reasons why. I have never been on tinder... I know people that have and it was nothing but hook-ups (Netflix and chill and the young folk call it)...but about 5 or 6 years ago, I was on a free dating site called Plenty of Fish. It introduced me to some cool people, but we didn't hit it off. It was also really hard to fimd someone with similar interests even though I lived in a fairly large city. "I like bands like Operation Ivy, The Descendents, and Fugazi" turned into responses like " Hey I love My Chemical Romance"... I also ran into a lot of fake people that lied about who they were. Not cool. I much rather prefer to know someone, myself. Dating apps/sites sucked!!!

Haha, thanks for your comment Sally! Crazy that you got 'catfished'... Catfishing is really fucked up. Crazy to think people spend so much of their time and energy to decieve people online... You know, nevermind, that's a pretty common thing, but when its anonymous and you aim to get personal thats when that shit gets weird

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04