ADSactly Religion: Marian Worship in Venezuela

in #religion5 years ago


Source

Marian Worship in Venezuela

Hello, @adsactly readers

Before I begin to develop this post, I must say that Marian worship is that practiced by the faithful devotees of the Christian church to the mother of Jesus, the Blessed Virgin Mary. Although this worship is below that which is done to God and Jesus, it is above that which can be done to other saints. To venerate the mother of God is a custom not only of Venezuelans, but of the whole world. Hence, we can say that each country has its own patron saint or virgin to venerate. For example, Mexico has Our Lady of Guadalupe; Portugal has Our Lady of Fatima; Our Lady of Lourdes, in France; Our Lady of Schöenstatt in Germany; Our Lady of Czestochowa in Poland; in Spain, Our Lady of Pilar; among many others.


Coromoto

The official patron saint or virgin of Venezuela is Our Lady of Coromoto. This Virgin appeared to the Coromoto Indians at the time of the conquest of America and asked them to go with the Spanish whites to be baptized. According to legend, Chief Coromoto, accustomed to living free and without rules, returned to the forest, where the virgin was presented again. In that opportunity, the chief Coromoto looked for his weapons to confront that woman who incited them to return with the Spaniards, but when trying to attack her, the virgin disappeared leaving him a stamp in the hand of the Indian.

Although the Virgin of Coromoto is the official patron saint, I can say that in Venezuela there are other virgins with more faithful and followers, who celebrate with joy and approval the festivities of each one of them. I would like to review the most important ones:


Santa Inés

I would like to begin with the patron saint of the city in which I live: The Virgin of Santa Inés. We celebrate it every January 21st with processions and masses. This virgin is considered the patron saint of purity, since the legend tells that she suffered martyrdom since she was 13 years old for being beautiful and from a good family; however, she remained pristine because she had consecrated her virginity to her heavenly father. On more than one occasion it has been said that this virgin has cried, even once lost her head, giving rise to conjectures and superstitions.


Divina Pastora

Another important virgin for Venezuelans is the Virgin of the Divina Pastora, patron saint of the state of Lara. The way in which this virgin arrives and consolidates in this state is very interesting and significant. It is said that in the 19th century there was a parish priest who commissioned the sculpture of the Immaculate Conception, but by mistake, he was sent the sculpture of the Divine Shepherdess. When they saw this, they tried to return it, but the sculpture became so heavy that they could not move it. They also say that by that same century, an epidemic of cholera broke out in that state and that the people asked the virgin to remove the plague and she performed a miracle. So, year after year, the people go out in a fervent procession to venerate their virgin. This procession is considered one of the most important in the continent.


Chiquinquirá

I continue with the Virgin of Chiquinquirá, or better known as "La Chinita". This virgin is the patron saint of the Zulians and also very much loved by many other Venezuelan states. The parishioners say that La Chinita appeared for the first time to a woman who was washing in the lake of Maracaibo. It is said that while the washerwoman was doing her job, a small board of fine wood appeared to her and took home. The next day, while she was brewing coffee, she heard a noise at the door and when she went to see what it was, she found the image of the virgin on the tablet. From that day on, all Zulians ask their virgin for miracles and sing bagpipes to her and even have a happy birthday every November of every year.


Del Valle

To culminate this tour, I will introduce you to the Virgin with the most faithful and believers of Venezuela: the Blessed Virgin of the Valley. She is not only the patron saint of the Orientals, but also of the whole country. I must admit that although I have visited the basilicas of other virgins in Venezuela, to arrive at the house of "Vallita" is overwhelming. In his temple we can find a museum where all the samples of faith of millions of devotees, proofs of miracles and gratitude. Some years ago I had the opportunity to bring her a relic as a token of my faith and gratitude for a miracle granted, and from the very moment I stepped on the door of the church and saw her face on the altar, I felt the look of the understanding mother with the loving embrace.

Beyond our religious beliefs, which must be respected, there is a fervor towards the Virgin Mary, just as a mother is venerated. It is known that human beings are more likely to believe in some religions and some gods, in times of crisis and adversity. The human being needs to believe because for people, it is "psychologically" very good to know that there is a superior being who will protect you and give you strength when you need it or better yet, that Virgin, as a protective mother, will take you in her arms and take care of you as a child. Perhaps that is the feeling in our hearts at this time of calamity in Venezuela.


I hope you enjoyed reading this post. I remind you that you can vote for @adsactly as a witness and join our server in discord. Until the next smile. ;)

BIBLIOGRAPHICAL REFERENCE

http://www.temporadista.com/scripts/articulos/santa-ines-martir-y-patrona-de-cumana.asp
https://venezuelatuya.com/religion/divinapastora.htm
https://www.venezuelatuya.com/religion/chinita.htm
https://www.ivenezuela.travel/fiesta-de-la-virgen-del-valle-del-espiritu-santo/

Written by: @nancybriti



Click the coin below to join our Discord Server

Adsactly Logo Newest 300dpi.png


We would greatly appreciate your witness vote

To vote for @adsactly-witness please click the link above, then find "adsactly-witness" and click the upvote arrow or scroll to the bottom and type "adsactly-witness" in the box

Thank You


Sort:  

Thanks for sharing on this topic. I have seeking knowledge about it

Posted using Partiko Android

And thank you for making the comment.

Religion in general is a touchy subject for me, but the veneration of the virgin gets on my nerves in ways that few aspects of religion do.
I cringe at the sight of virgins in every comando of the National Guard across the country, for instance. I wish she could make every man and woman in unifrom pay for the sacriledge.
I think that the fact that people keep insisting on god's time being perfect and on he and his envoys mercy and plan has turned people into passive puppets of a very dangerous game. Only one part of the players are taking actions, the bad ones. They are sure no punishment is coming either from heaven or earth.
They keep doing evil thing to innocent people without seeing any mighty force sending any reprimand their way.
That's a powerful motivator.

I must admit that this Chavista government has taken many things from me, but what they have not yet taken from me is faith. Not only do I have faith that there will be a "miracle," that the end of this tunnel will come. I also have faith in the Venezuelans, in the good ones, who still have a long way to go. Only faith makes me stay in my country, hopeful, even if life slaps me every day. Greetings ;)

I respect that. i know people need some kind of compass and religion provides it for most.
I must confess I have little faith left. The kind of evil these people have done and continue doing with little to no consequence for them has made me question any trace of faith not only in their demise but in humanity's future as a whole

It touches me to know that one can express a devotion like the one we lavish on the Virgin Mary in some of her invocations. Whether or not I profess that devotion or not, I recognize it and receive it with gratitude. Knowing that beautiful look and that tender maternal love, makes me feel comforted by life, despite the great pains. Which does not mean that I submit to them and do nothing to face them.
Thank you for your gratifying post, @nancybriti.

I think that's what life is all about: maintaining the balance, in this case, between reason and faith. Just because we cling to God's power doesn't mean that we stop fighting every day. Thank you for commenting, @josemalavem.

What a beautiful publication friend, I like to know a little more about the invocations of the Virgin Mary.
I am not of the catholic religion, I differ in some things but I respect and admire the faith in the people who are and I always try to inculcate that to my students when speaking about religions. In fact without any complex I have sung in activities for the Divina Pastora when it is the date of her famous tour through the city of Barquisimeto. Thank you for your publication.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04