Chemistry and Pigment

in #resteemator6 years ago

I haven't posted for a while, my internet was down for a week, which was very frustrating as I needed to do some research for my next Professional Practice Workshop.
The workshop is this coming Saturday, the subject, Preservation, Presentation and Pricing your Artwork. I have most of the information I need from personal experience, But there is one part I just don't seem to be able to find information on and becomes part of the quality and preservation when creating of art.

As a student, a life time ago, we had a short introduction to the chemistry of paint and pigment. I found it most interesting and kept the notes for years, but I moved around a lot and 25 odd years later, the notes are missing.
While there is a lot of information available on the internet on pigment and chemistry, I can't seem to find the specific information.
Let me try and explain in the hopes that someone out there will know about it.
Pigments are based on various compounds organic, inorganic.
Like any chemical reaction these compounds can react positively or negatively when mixed. You may be wondering why this is so important to me, but if you stop and think about it, the old masters understood and studied these compounds and mixed their own pigments making their own paint. This is perhaps why the Old Masters works have lasted so long.
I have spoken to a few art restorers and read up on how modern or contemporary art will stand up in time and it seems that the feeling is current works won't last as long.
If the pigments in painting react negatively and create a physical reaction on paper or canvas, the pigment compounds may cause discolouration, premature cracking or brittle effect.
I know I was taught this, but so long ago, I just can't remember details/
Modern pigment and paints are very often created synthetically in labs and in my mind the more chemicals the more chance of reactions.
Is there any one out there that was taught pigment chemistry or knows of a web site that I can research and reference.
I'm desperate!
It seems that it is not being taught anymore! Why?
Image Sourced From:
https://www.dreamstime.com

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

I wouldn't be able to answer your questionnings...

Pigments and paint making : that's something I've always found intriguing, but too technical for me to approach efficiently with my empirical way of learning.

If art professions couldn't give answers, maybe getting in touch with chemistry ones would be another way to get your answer...

I've found this in French (deepl.com might help for a decent translation) : http://www.mediachimie.org/sites/default/files/chimie_art_129.pdf

I haven't read it, but it bored me so fast that I think it goes deeply enough on the topic :D

If you feel it has good infos but have a doubt on what you get with automated translations, I can give a hand for specific parts ;)

@berien Thank you so much, I will check out the site and let you know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62710.59
ETH 3048.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77