Tales From The Cash Register Part II

in #retail5 years ago

In the first installment of Tales From the Cash Register, I told some of the stories from my time working at a certain Home Improvement Warehouse. Today I'll share stories from my time working at a health food store and a fast food joint. :)

This Isn't Safeway, Ma'am

So one day at the health food store I had a lady try and return a product that was the Safeway house brand - that is, a generic, store-specific brand label that is ONLY sold at Safeway stores. We were not Safeway. We were A Store That Got Bought Out By Whole Paycheck (which then got bought out by Amazon... ). So I told the lady this.

Becky insisted that she had bought it with us because it was health food. I informed her that indeed, other stores sold health food and that was a Safeway brand, it couldn't have come from us. She insisted I was wrong. I asked her to go and find it anywhere in our store if she was so sure. She said she shouldn't have to, because I should know what products we sold. I told her I did, which is how I knew that WE DIDN'T SELL THIS SHIT, BECKY.

Literally, Safeway was within walking distance of us. She just didn't want to admit she was wrong.

So woman continues to escalate to a screaming lather until my manager shows up and tells me to GIVE HER A RETURN THAT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO PROCESS BECAUSE WE DON'T SELL THAT SHIT. I told him if he wanted to do a pretend return and make someone's drawer short, he had to do it on his own drawer, because I wasn't taking that nonsense. So he did.

Have I mentioned that I hate when managers give in to customer's bullshit that is totally the stinkiest bullshit ever in the history of bullshit? Just grow a spine and say no, y'all. Make Becky walk (or more likely, drive) down the block to Safeway.


not us

Parents Who Shouldn't Really Be Parents, Part II

If you thought the story about the seven year old who had climbed twenty feet up on the shelves full of wood couldn't be topped, or that such dangerous shenanigans could only be had in a warehouse, oooooooh no, young Bucky. You'd be wrong.

So I'm checking out an entirely unrelated customer at my register near the front of the store when suddenly, I see a toddler - yes, a toddler, who was two, maybe three years old, tops - run out the front door at a breakneck speed with no adult in sight giving chase. So I told my customer sorry and ran out after him.

I literally caught up to the kid right in front of an SUV coming down the "road" within the parking lot at 20ish mph that probably didn't see him, because he was a foot and a half tall - waving my hands at them and taking the child's hand. The SUV driver was probably wondering why an employee in an apron was chasing after a kid, or perhaps they didn't, but at least they stopped.

I got back inside the store with the baby expecting to see a frantic parent, but no - still no parent to be seen. The queue was getting long since I was the only cashier, but luckily my manager had showed up to find out WTF was happening because of the line, and opened up his register and took over my customer so I could go find the toddler's parent(s).

Once again, Mom* was all the way in the back of the store, oblivious to the fact that her TODDLER wasn't anywhere near her.

Dear parents: you do know that those seats in the front of carts with leg holes expressly exists for you to put your squirmy toddlers in, right? It's not a purse shelf. But oh no, Karen thought it was a purse shelf, and didn't even look up from her product she was examining when I told her where I had found her kid.

I kindly asked the kid to stay with mommy, which he said he'd do, and prayed to the old Gods and the new that he'd make it to adulthood alive, since, you know, obviously his mom didn't care.

*title given only as a technicality.

Parents Who Shouldn't Be Parents, Part III

Oh yes, there's more, and the baby is even YOUNGER this time!

You know how people get angry about people leaving their dogs in the car on a hot summer day because they can die of heat stroke really quickly since cars get hotter than the outside super fast?

Oh yes.

Susan left her newborn in the carseat inside the car and went grocery shopping.

Which I only found out about because another customer came inside and asked me to call the cops about it. I called the manager (we were a small local chain, I didn't have a phone, and this was before everyone carried cell phones). Just as the manager was asking what car it was so he could go out and get a license plate and shit, Mom* rolls up to my register with a cart full of groceries and realizes we're talking about her kid.

She then proceeds to scream at us that we're all monsters and she wasn't in there that long (she had a CART FULL OF GROCERIES) and it wasn't that hot out and the baby is fine and she didn't want to wake them up and we were just cruel for wanting to wake up a napping baby. Yeah, it was warm out, by the way.

She does all this while I'm checking her out, hoping that she'll go and CHECK ON THE BABY if I get her out of here faster than the cops would arrive, and she's telling the manager that she's going to report him to the head office for harassing a customer. No shit.

She leaves with her groceries. Hopefully the baby was okay - the cops didn't arrive since the manager hadn't called them yet, so I don't know.

*title given with a great deal of derision.


image taken from blogspot

You Gotta Entertain Yourself Somehow

Working in fast food is generally busy, but repetitive. You gotta entertain yourself somehow. My friends and I would sing songs, dance, and all sorts of crazy shit in order to not go absolutely crazy while working. I was the drive thru cashier 99% of the time, because I was one of the few people who could count change back without the register telling you how much change to give - yes, really - and the drive thru register was the only register that didn't tell you the return change. So I entertained myself in two ways.

Sometimes I would answer the drive thru in my best operator voice like this: "Thank you for choosing (western cowboy feel roast beef restaurant). For instructions in English, say, 'one.' Para instrucciones en Español, dice, 'dos.'"

If they were paying attention at all (which often they weren't, which is why I started doing this, because sometimes you'd be backed up and ask them to wait a moment and people would just start ordering), yes, people really would answer "one" or "dos."

Sometimes I answered in Japanese: "Irasshaimase (cowboy hat restaurant), dan deshō?" (Welcome to (Go West), how may I help you?) Usually people would just order, because again, they aren't paying attention and presume the speaker is shit and hear what they expect to hear. ONE TIME, however, I got back a confused, "Whaaaaaaaaat???!"

So I said it again in English, and they ordered.

They came around to the window, and I swear as they rolled down their car window, it was like a scene out of That 70s Show where Leo would be in a van and a cloud of cannabis smoke pours out when he exits. I told them their total like normal, and they said, "DUDE! We thought you were speaking in a foreign language!!"

I told them that indeed, I had been, and they were the only ones who noticed, which they found hilarious, as did I.

So there you go, stoners: your powers of observation are great. ;)

So there you have it, Steem fam - more tales from the cash register! Ah, the joys of retail. ;) Have a good day!

My Zazzle Shop:

My Ko-fi:
Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Sort:  

The moral of this story seems to be that if you want people to pay attention, put them on dope! 😂 Maybe they should put incense burners in classrooms, filled with dope. 🤔

Posted using Partiko Android

I would say that it would be the new ADHD drug, except many people are still REEFER MADNESS!!! about it.
But legitimately, the places where it's legal (here) make it 21+ because of the studies showing that it does something different in teenage brains.

Hey thanks for the laughs this morning Phoenix. Nothing better than a retail story. Working in a shop would be great if it wasn't for the bloody customers oh and of course the bloody manager.
Our Daughters first job was at the checkout in a huge chain store.
One day a customer said to her "What's up with you today you could smile" well she hated that job and wasn't a morning person like her Mum lol.
So she said straight away "Fuck off"
And his wife who was behind him said "What did you just say to my Husband?" She replied "And you can fuck of as well"
That's my girl.....She lost her job and was banned from the store for 6 months.
She got another job shortly after to train to be a pastry chef. But clearly didn't make them aware of the last job lol.And why she left.
Have a great day and sod the customers 🤣🤣🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

LOL yeah she wouldn't survive in retail, lol. My bestie in school was grumpy in the mornings, and literally our coworkers would come to me to tell her something because I was the only one who could talk to her before noon without her getting angry. XD

Very Brave lol 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice experience you have there. Thanks for sharing.

I do agree with you especially when dealing with customers or clients that are completely out of line when it comes to their grievances. Even what they are complaining is obviously wrong in many forms, but still, they insist, maybe perhaps they want to swindle or maybe they just don't want to end up defeated. I have witnessed a lot before and the good thing here in our place, we can really defend ourselves and prove them they are wrong, even if they end up angry all that sort of things. "Customer is always right" can be our main principle but we should also maintain our dignity knowing that we are on the right side.

I also feel you when it comes to those parents who are reluctant in seeing their child during shopping or grocery. It is obvious that being a parent, you must take extra care, especially with those kids who are not there to behave if only being told so. Because if you are aren't, then maybe find someone who can look after your kid, and proceed with what you want to do. I know there are some kids who can if they are trained effectively but I don't think most of them do. And we just take pity to the child having that kind of parents. Just unacceptable and horrible.

I appreciate that you find ways to enjoy yourself during working hours. Our bosses can't blame us because it is our way to cope with the stress for the whole day's work. As long as we are just acting accordingly and we are not inflicting any harm to our clients, then that would be an awesome way to promote enjoyment in the workplace.

God bless you. I know you love your work and I hope that it inspires others to do the same. Cheers @phoenixwren!

Cheers! And thanks for the great comment.
Yeah, when I was a kid, the way my mom handled me was to make me her "helper." I had to get the item she wanted off the shelf and put it in the cart, or tell her the prices and figure out which was the better deal. In this case, the child was too young, in which case, they should have been sitting in the cart so they didn't run off, or watched closely because they were so young. The way some parents just don't care makes me ask THEN WHY DID YOU HAVE CHILDREN? Aaaaahhhhh...

Those were some good short stories, Phe, except the content made me want to pull out my hair, effing people!!!!!!!!!!!!

I liked your delivery, you made the madness fun.

Thank you, lol. Yeah, some people just inspire the thought that this world can only be cleansed with fire.
And that the world is so fucked up because these assholes keep breeding...

Some crazy stuff does happen and the sad thing is it is true. I do wonder how some kids make it through to the day they can care for themselves. I see plenty of parents who shouldn't have bred.

Back in the day the whole block of families, the parents could quasi-parent each other's kids, but nowadays that just doesn't seem to happen as much. Let alone if a stranger in a store says beans - how dare you talk to their precious smooshie muffin! - but their precious smooshie muffin has no frikkin' guidance from them at all.

Hi phoenixwren,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you! :)

Hey @phoenixwren, thank you for the nice retail story :P
Next to high school I was working as a cashier and a men's clothing consultant. With those stories I feel back to this time :)

I hope I didn't give you nightmares. 😉

This is a great title for a book, collection of stories from the cash register. I have a great deal of respect for people who work this kind of jobs. I think I'd be fired the very first day (if i get a Becky or someone like that :) ).

About cynical customers, what can we say, common sense is the least common of our senses. Cashiers deserve statues in their towns

Hahaha, yes they should have good status! 😁 It requires a lot of patience.

Sad stories about the state of parenthood today, but you told them in a humorous light, so you made me laugh about things that should just make you shake your head. I'll just say I spent several years in a management position and by the time the complaint got to me, everyone was already thoroughly pissed off. But I did NOT take customer's sides over my employee when the customer was wrong. No, I don't believe in "the customer is always right". I enjoyed your stories though, I wish they had been fiction, but I know it was real life.

Right, like I understand appeasing an angry customer, but it wasn't even our product. I was like, come on, man ...lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 24 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 172 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62187.20
ETH 3051.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79