[PlayStation Classic] Games Reveal & My Opinion

in #retrogaming5 years ago (edited)

PlayStation Classic is a small gaming device that comes with 20 games from the PlayStation 1 generation. Those 20 are revealed yesterday.

5z2m9g6rqs.jpg

When I first heard about PlayStation classic last month I wrote a post about the games I want to see in it. The five games that were announced at the time were of a good variety so I made my list with them in mind.

Now the games have been announced, I think they're a good choice of sony. The selection has games I anticipated were Resident Evil & Metal Gear Solid. As well as games I thought are popular enough like Rayman & Syphon Filter.


PSClassic Lineup:

Here's the whole list:

Battle Arena ToshindenCool Boarders 2Destruction DerbyFinal Fantasy VII
Grand Theft AutoIntelligent QubeJumping FlashMetal Gear Solid
Mr DrillerOddworld: Abe's odysseyRaymanResident Evil: Director's Cut
Revelations: PersonaRidge Racer Type 4Super Puzzle Fighter II TurboSyphon Filter
Tekken 3Tom Clancy’s Rainbow SixTwisted MetalWild Arms

Persona 1, is a game I forgot to put in my most wanted list and I'm happy it's in the #PSClassic. Even though there's no Crash Bandicoot or Spyro. I'm very glad.

bcprdtp9yj.jpg

Differences Between Versions:

The list above is for the western version, the Japanese version has it's own list of games which is very similar except one point that I think would make people sour about this:

Japanese version has Parasite Eve,
while the western versions don't have that game.

I think that's weird business choice as that game was one of the most wanted games. Well, the Japanese version has many differences but I think this one is significant. what do you think?

Final Thoughts

I would've liked more games to be on the console, Metal Slug will do good on this system. I haven't played the PS1's GTA but I doubt it gives a similar experience of the open world of those released in PS2 time.

Metal Gear Solid was something I expected of this console, so I'm really happy they didn't disappoint us by ditching this game.

I'm not sure how I feel that there are 3 cars/racing games but no Driver 1/2.

Other than games, the console features aren't mentioned by Sony yet. As I said in my post a month ago, I'd like to see Save States, Screen Filters & Dual Shock controllers, the last of which I think is unlikely but will be happy if it happened.

So that's what I have for today.
What do you think?
Do you agree with sony about the games


Cover image uses a Random screenshot of Metal Gear Solid & Playstation Classic promo images from its official website. As well as the last image. Youtube video is the official announcement video on youtube.
Sort:  

There are a many cool games: I really love wild arms and final fantasy 7.
But I am missing Silent Hill. Diablo would have been awesome, it was so cool because it has a 2-player mode.

Silent hill would've been awesome but I don't think they can put together with Resident Evil and I'm glad they choose RE1.

Haven't played Diablo, so I don't know about it.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Battle Arena Toshinden

Hahaha, now that is a name I haven't heard of in a while. Upvoted / resteemed.

I haven't even heard of it before!

This post has been upvoted by @opgaming. We like what you're posting, and we want to reward our members who produce quality content. Keep up the good work!If this sounds like the sort of group you want to be a part of, click the image below! We're too OP to be put down!

OPG_2.png

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations, this post was rewarded with a SteemGC Upvote!

Want to meet fellow Steemit gamers and earn upvotes yourself? Join the SteemGC Discord channel!

I'm also scratching my head about the list of games on this thing. Parasite Eve would have been a welcome addition, as would more RPGs like Suidoken and Vandal Story.

I would have swapped Toshinden for something like Bloody Roar too. And there's no shooters, which seems odd. I can't believe there's no Gran Turismo either.

It feels like a lot of this was dictated by what games they could license at a good price, while getting enough heavy hitters like FFVII and MGS to plaster all over the marketing for this thing.

Syphoon Filter & Rainbow six are shooters, or you mean "shoot em ups" if that case I agree, it needs more of that genre.

It feels like a lot of this was dictated by what games they could license at a good price, while getting enough heavy hitters like FFVII and MGS...

Pretty sure that's what they did!

Yeah, I was talking about something like the coveted Einhander. There were a lot of games in series like Darius and R-Type that landed on the PS1 that are sadly absent.

Parasite Eve would have been the perfect game for the console in the west, since it releases during the Christmas season.

No PaRappa the Rapper? Time to kill myself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87