Computer Gaming World (September 1989)

in #retrogaming5 years ago (edited)


https://megalextoria.blogspot.com/2018/11/computer-gaming-world-september-1989.html

I think without a doubt that Computer Gaming World was the best PC games magazine. In 1989 they were still covering other computer systems and the magazine was only at 50 pages but it would reach it's peak in the 1990s with the development of the 3D accelerator and the subsequent explosion of PC gaming. The September 1989 issue includes:

Features

  • SSI's "Curse of the Azure Bonds" - Scorpia Explores Another "Forgotten Realm"
  • Epyx's "The Omicron Conspiracy" - "We'd Tell You More, But..."
  • SSI's "Hillsfar" - "It Takes A Thief" To Be The Best
  • The Sounds of Silicon - CGW's Test Lab Explores IBM Sound Boards
  • "Chessmaster 211" vs. "Sargon 4" - Software Toolworks and Spinnaker Face-Off
  • It's A "Grand [Old] Fleet" - SimCan's World War I Naval Combat Game
  • SSI's "Red Lightning" Strikes Twice - Modern Warfare on the ST and IBM
  • Here Comes the "Fire King" - SSG's Action/Role-Playing Game
  • How to Plan for a Long "Journey" - Game Hints from Abroad
  • Star Saga Two: The Clathran Menace - Masterplay's New Adventure Game

Departments

  • Letters from Paradise
  • Taking A Peek
  • Conversions Received
  • Rumor Bag
  • Inside The Industry

...and more!

Read more: http://www.megalextoria.com/wordpress/index.php/2018/11/23/computer-gaming-world-september-1989/

Sort:  

CGW was really something, weren't they? I was a huge fan of Scorpia's columns, both her reviews and her hint pages, especially since I couldn't dial up a BBS and find this stuff for myself, and she covered adventures and RPGs.

I'm sure you know about it already, but for others that don't, the entire run of Computer Gaming World is available, legally and for free, in digital format from the CGW Musuem:

http://www.cgwmuseum.org/

All 268 issues of CGW, along with both issues of Computer Gaming Forum, and several years' worth of Softline are hosted in convenient PDF format. They'll even send you a DVD of all the issues in exchange for some cash if you send them an e-mail. :)

I downloaded all the CGWs back when that website first showed up. I don't think I started reading CGW until around 1993 when I got my first "PC" (before that my Commodore 64 was my only computer). I bought it pretty regularly after that. I think I finally subscribed shortly before it became Games for Windows. After that I think it only lasted a little over a year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86