Wine Review 2016 Chateau Ste Michelle Riesling Columbia Valley

in #review6 years ago

IMG_1334.JPG

When is the last time you had a riesling? Have you ever had a riesling? It is one of my favorite wines but this recommendation also comes with a caution. This wine is quite acidic so you should drink it in small doses and with food or fruit at least. If you over do it on a light stomach you may need some antacids in the morning.

This version of the Riesling is a medium. I tend toward dryer wines so I was pleasantly surprised at how much I liked it. Perhaps the sweet was necessary to offset the sour that is the first impression on the nose. It's a hard wine to describe, the label says peaches but I didn't get any of that. "Minerally" was the first word that came to mind. Seriously. I've drank water straight from creeks and caverns, water so heavy you could chew on it, and this wine brought back memories of the best natural mineral waters I've ever had. It is also sour but not exactly in a citrusy sense. Is it cheating if I say it reminded me of raisins, since those too are also made of grapes? I don't think so because no other wines remind me of raisins. The body had potential but there was an interference with an oh so slight bubbly sensation. Whether they were actually bubbles or the acidity playing games with my palate I will never know. Don't get me wrong, this is a very good wine I enjoy but others score higher on the body factor.

Food pairings I can imagine would be oysters for sure, alfredo or carbonara noodles, scallops, fruits like bananas, and just about any hors d'oeuvres .

This same vineyard also has a dryer version of this wine that I will also review and compare one of these days. I might even mix them together before I press the post button just to get a little crazy. Overall this medium Riesling gets a 7.5 out of 10. If you shop right you can find it for ~$7 which makes it a great value for the experience. Please upvote, follow and comment. Thanks.

IMG_1335.JPG

IMG_1336.JPG

IMG_1337.JPG

IMG_1339.JPG

IMG_1340.JPG

IMG_1341.JPG

IMG_1342.JPG

IMG_1343.JPG

IMG_1344.JPG

Sort:  

Interesting! Have you ever tasted Riesling from the Pfalz in Germany?

Hi Fabian, how appropriate for a German to comment on a Riesling post! Thanks for the upvote. I have not tasted one from Pfalz but I will very soon.

Congratulations @foodyinthemoody! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Notifications have been disabled. Sorry if I bothered you.
To reactivate notifications, drop me a comment with the word NOTIFY

Congratulations @foodyinthemoody! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20