A small review of a series I have watched lately - Trailer Park Boys!

in #review5 years ago (edited)

Hello Steem people!

This will be my second post and I am very excited about it. I was really glad to see my introduction post being received well and I felt really welcome by all of the users that decided to comment! Thank you all for that. I can already see this is an awesome community.

image.png
Source

Today I wanted to talk about a series I have been watching for a while now and just recently finished. It's Trailer Park Boys. My friends have been bugging me to watch it for years already but for some reason I never started before. I feel now that it was a huge mistake because I ended up really loving it.

For those of you that aren't familiar with it, Trailer Park Boys is a Canadian "Mockumentary" which focuses around a group of friends living in the Sunnyvale Trailer Park. After I watched the series I was reading a bit about how it all started and it's all kind of interesting.

The show stars Robb Wells, John-Paul Tremblay and Mike Smith as the main characters Ricky, Julian and Bubbles. I also have to mention John Dunsworth and Patrick Roach who play John Lahey(The trailer park supervisor) and his assistant supervisor Randy.

Robb, JP and Mike wanted to make it into a series but were actually rejected by several studios before "Showcase" finally decided to order one season. Which is lucky for us viewers because now many years later we have 12 seasons together with several movies and specials.

Robb and JP didn't have almost any acting experience at all when they were making season 1 and the only one that had worked as an actor their whole life was John Dunsworth who in the series plays the infamous John Lahey. John Dunsworth unfortunately passed away on October 16, 2017 a few months after season 12 finished.

Source

The plot revolves around Ricky, Julian and Bubbles who are trying to make money from petty crimes while avoiding the cops and jail time. There are a lot of other characters involved and I will not list them all now because I feel that it would spoil the series a bit to know them all. I really feel like they have an awesome team and everyone plays a good role in the series.

As I mentioned earlier the series is a mockumentary which is similar to "The Office" if you've watched that. This means the characters are followed by a camera crew the whole time and they also interact with the crew a lot and include them in some scenes. This happens quite often though so it's different from The Office where they try to not interact with the crew at all.

After they had worked for Showcase for a while Robb, JP and Mike decided to buy the rights for the show and created their own streaming service called Swearnet which they also made a movie about later on by the same name(also worth to watch). Swearnet then moved on to partner up with Netflix to make the seasons after the 7th. They continued on to make a special called Trailer Park Boys: Out of the park: Europe and USA which are two different series where they travel and go to different countries and states. Apparently a 13th season is in the works right now and will be released later this year. However this time around it will be animated. I am not sure how I feel about that but if they make it good I believe it could really have potential.

I really liked the show because I feel like it's really original and you really just love the characters they play. I recommend anyone to watch it who likes that kind of comedy and doesn't have anything against the show revolving a lot around cannabis and some minor crimes. I will probably continue by watching the movies and specials after this.

So this is it for my second post. I hope you guys like it and hopefully there are others out here who have enjoyed watching the Trailer Park Boys. Here is a video with one of my favorite scenes.

!!!Spoiler alert if you haven't watched it before!!!

I also want to mention that it's been a long time since I last wrote this much and I realize that there might be some grammatical errors but I am very excited to continue writing and improving my skills as time moves on. There is a lot to talk about with Trailer Park Boys and I understand that some of it might have become a bit confusing from me trying to explain it briefly here. However I hope you like it and let me know what you thought in the comments.

Thanks everyone and have a great rest of the day!

LEPO!

Sort:  

A Trailer Park fan! The series is shot in my provence and have the pleasure to know (and have known in the case of John Dunsworth) a couple of them.

That is friggin awesome! :D I would love to meet those guys

Trailer Park Boys are awesome yo. Was funny to see they even went to Finland in their Europe special. And this scene is also one of my favorites. Another one is when Ricky is trying to decide who gets to arrest him when they are sitting in the river on the border.

Great post dood! Keep it up.

That was a really well written review @lepo!
You make it sound like an outstanding program, even though I've never seen it because I don't have Netflix. If I come across it I will definitely give it a watch!

Thank you that means a lot! You should definitely give it a watch and I hope you like it! Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @lepo! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @lepo! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75