L1R1 Smartphone Game Triggers

in #review6 years ago

Third person shooter games like Fortnite, PUBG Mobile, and Rules of Survival have taken the mobile game app store by storm. These games utilize the exhilarating Battle Royale concept that has just known exploded in popularity. (For those unfamiliar, Battle Royale is where a players fight until there is a last man standing.)

But how limiting is the touchscreen for a massively multiplayer shooter on the mobile phone?
1.jpg

Traditionally, shooter video games have had external controls that provide input to a character on a screen. For those who play shooter games on consoles like the Playstation or Xbox, users have a game controller that has joysticks and buttons that work in conjunction to provide the best gaming experience possible. Many gamers love the controller because of how responsive the controls are, as well as the ability to fine tune sensitivities for each button.

However, playing shooter games on a touchscreen is a different story. All the controls are on the screen - moving, shooting, aiming, etc. It can be extremely frustrating to move from the familiar click of a button to the greasy squish of the thumb on glass. Because there aren't any physical buttons to push or move around, I have frequently found myself to press on controls on accident (I once pressed the "Exit" button in a moving vehicle and died on impact... I meant to press the horn).

Many mobile phone players have stumbled upon the same frustrations as I have. I wasn't surprised when I saw the iconic L1R1 triggers for mobile phones on Amazon.

Screen Shot 2018-06-11 at 6.27.46 PM.png

Out of curiosity, I bought a pair for myself to try out. I mean, they're only 5 bucks!

The next day, my package arrived and I was able to install the triggers on to my phone. The triggers are plastic attachments that use a little lever to clip on to any mobile device. The user can press on the triggers which activate a magnetic hammer that presses on to the screen, which registers as a "touch".

I quickly put the triggers on to my phone, expecting my Kill to Death ratio to increase from these miracle triggers! However, the reality was that these triggers actually made my gameplay worse. There were some problems with these triggers:

  1. The left trigger sat right on top of the Power Button so the damn thing would turn off my phone right from the start!
  2. The magnetic hammers that press on the screen were not sensitive at all! Many times I would have to press down extremely hard or press very rapidly to even register a single touch in my device.
  3. The plastic covering covered a significant amount of the screen, and many times I wasn't able to touch some of the other controls because the plastic got in the way.
  4. The triggers made me look extremely "try hard", and frankly, the triggers were cramping my style

Maybe I just didn't practice long enough with the triggers on, but they were just getting to frustrating to use.
I also will admit that maybe some will actually enjoy using the triggers, but personally, they were not for me. So if you are curious and want to experiment with these L1R1 Smartphone Game Triggers, just keep in mind that Amazon has an amazing return policy!

Thank you.

Sort:  

@originalvaseline, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Congratulations @originalvaseline! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89