[Straw Reviews] Triple Frontier (Might include spoilers!!)

in #review5 years ago

Hey everyone!

Today I wanted to review a movie I watched yesterday called Triple Frontier.


Source

It's a new movie on Netflix that was directed by J.C Chandor. It was recommended to me by Netflix and as soon as I saw who was in the movie I got interested. The characters are played by Ben Affleck, Oscar Isaac, Charlie Hunnam, Garrett Hedlund, and Pedro Pascal. It took me a while to recognize the latter two of them but I quickly remembered seeing Garrett Hedlund in Four Brothers and Pedro Pascal in Narcos.

I really felt like they had a good group for this movie and I started getting excited. I will try to explain the plot without spoiling too much but still keeping it interesting.

The plot starts in Colombia where "Pope"(Oscar Isaac) is working in to combat drug crime and while there, he finds out that a drug lord called "Lorea" is hiding in a safe house with all of his cash which is suspected to be somewhere round 250 million. After hearing this he returns to the states to recruit his old brothers from their Delta Force days. The other guys have moved on with their lives and all have other jobs by now. After hesitating for a while he successfully gets the others to join him in going to take down "Lorea" and hopefully all of his cash. I feel like I can't go any further than this without spoiling the whole movie.

I've always been a fan of Ben Affleck and Charlie Hunnam so I was expecting a lot from the movie and I have to say I wasn't disappointed at all. It had a lot of action and at some times it got really exciting where you really didn't know what to expect. I think the actors worked well together and maybe we will see more of this good combo.

I recommend this movie to anyone who likes action movies with a military twist to it. It does get very exciting at times and it had a great ending too in my opinion.

After watching the movie I read a bit about it and found out that it has been in planning stages since back in 2010 and back then Johnny Depp and Tom Hanks had entered talks to be in the movie but I guess through the years things changed and they went another way. Also it seems like Johnny Depp has enough on his mind at the moment. Poor guy. Even actors like Channing Tatum and Will Smith were in the plans but this is what we were given in the end. I have to say it could have been pretty interesting to see Will Smith or Johnny Depp in this but maybe we'll get that in another movie.

So yeah that was it for my review of this movie. I realize once again I haven't posted for a while and I've been in a weird kind of funk lately but I am trying to change that so expect more posts like this.

I hope you liked it and if any of you have seen the movie already let me know in the comments below!

Peace, Straw

footer.png

Sort:  

Watched this yesterday, was pretty good. I liked that there weren't too many "action" scenes cause that often gets boring quick if overdone.

Yeah they usually overdo those.

Right before you posted this I was like mmm what to watch and watched the trailer on Netflix of this movie and now I am even more convinced to give it a go. Pretty cool cast as well. Ever since I saw Charlie Hunnam's performance in SOA I've always kept an eye on what he has been working on.

I watch military movies quite a lot. If there is one good one that haunts me still it's Lone Survivor. Have you seen it?

Yay, keep these coming ^^

Yeah it seems I wasn't the only one Netflix recommends it too :D but yeah give it a go!

I know right? He was great in Pacific Rim too dunno if you've watched that one but.

I think I've seen that one but I'm pretty sure it was back in the day and I was probably way to stoned back then to remember it now :D Black Hawk Down has the same effect on me. Anytime I hear that one song from it I get all kinds of emotions.

Thanks for stopping by!

He was the best in Green Street Hooligans. :D

Yea that was pretty good as well ^^

I am having trouble with Netflix. I don't know if it is the variety or the way their page is set up, but lately I feel like I can't seem to find anything that speaks to me. Latest ones I guess was The Umbrella Academy and Knights of Sidonia which both were pretty good.

Maybe I am just too picky, but couldn't get into like 3 shows on there and I tried xD

Haven't seen both Pacific Rim and Black Hawk Down, looks like I am set with three movies for now ahaha

Yeah it's always like that for me aswell. I've watched too much in the past so when I get on Netflix I quickly watch through everything new and/or netflix made and when I am through that I have to go back to watching from another source. It gives you the impression that there's a lot but most of it is just bad stuff and or movies that literally everyone has seen.

Oh well give them a go :D here's the song I mentioned earlier from that movie. It's kinda weird but pretty deep at the same time. After our 90km march in the army our lieutenant decied to play this song for us at the finish line. Was pretty amazing moment lol.

Yea, I think you are dead on about Netflix. Here I thought I was the only one with the issues lol.

Wow, it's beautiful. Hans Zimmer is brilliant when it comes to creating meaningful pieces complementing films. Ah can only imagine how it must have felt. Awesome!

SHITTY NETFLIX RECCOMENDED saw it too

Haha you didn't like it? :D

I must check this out ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah it was pretty cool! Hope you enjoy it.

You got a 67.43% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @strawhat! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 60 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Sorry, not reading your post...Watching the movie this weekend and don't want to spoil it.

I hope it's as good as it looks!

😁

Posted using Partiko Android

No worries :D hope you enjoy the movie!

is that out already?👍

Yeah it's out on Netflix :D

The trailer was fantastic. I just did not expect it to be on Netflix.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17