Less Earnings, but Keep Steeming!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #rewards5 years ago (edited)
For quite some time, I have "felt" that the earnings on posts seemed less than they had previously been, but didn't bother to confirm it. So, I pulled some numbers from paid-out posts in my blog and the confirmation is definitely there. Just as one example, my "Happy New Year" post in 2018 earned $2.26, and the one from 2019 earned $0.76 (total post payouts, in both cases).

Examining the data, the turning point seems to have occurred sometime around the middle of November, 2018. Comparing mid-November through the beginning of February for the past couple of years, here is how the data looks:

Earnings.jpg

The decrease in earnings might be due to the exodus of many from the platform who were upvoting our posts. However, with fewer people blogging on the platform, there should be more rewards coming for those of us who are still here. So, that makes it rather puzzling, especially when some posters seem to consistently be earning $10 or more on every post, regardess of content and even without the use of bid-bots. I have quite a few very lengthy and complex posts in mind to write (science, math, etc.), but with smaller payouts than we previously had, I seriously wonder if it is worth spending 6–8 hours or more researching and working on posts as I once did, just to earn $0.50–$4 on them. 😕

Fortunately, the sense of community here is still strong-enough to make most of us want to stay, even with less earnings. So, heads down, Steem On, and hope for the best!

ThanksForReading--Pink.png 😊

curlydivider.png

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

PowerHouseCreativesbanner.jpg

__pearls.png

Sort:  

I would be interested to see what the overall steem / sbd payout has been for those posts in Steem. I know my usd value has been down for posts, but I feel Im earning the most Steem currently for every post and knowing that the price of Steem is going back up Im less worried about usd per post then just keep building my Steem.

I don't think that there is a big difference. You are looking at the $ value of a post, which according to me is incorrect.
The lower the value of steem is the lower the value of an upvote is.
But you need to look at the steem you will get in return, which should be more or less the same.
The closing value of steem in Jan 1, 2018 was $4.01.
So that post of back then would have giving you 0.42 steem.
The post of jan 2019 did give you 2.12 steem. The closing price of steem was $0.27.
So the payout in steem has even increased! You have to look at the steem payout in my opinion and not to the dollar value.
Calculation used was (payout / curation) / closing price of Steem

Cheers,
Peter

Howdy sir fullcoverbetting! thanks for the brilliant explanation!

Howdy @janton.
You are welcome!

I did try to catch up with you on the commenting part. But after a day of commenting I was at 75% of you. But the day after I really was exhausted! Really respect how you keep on commenting like this! You rock!

Cheers,
Peter

haha! Thank you sir and howdy this fine Friday! Well, there are days that you could match or beat me in commenting but it would take some sacrifice to beat the weekly totals that's for sure. I don't know if I'm investing my time wisely or not though, I question that most days as does my wife! lol.

What is your opinion on the long term chances of the survival of Steem and Steemit?

Each time I do look at the leaderboard I see you running away :)
The more I do think about it, the more confidence that I am getting. Don't know why. But the fact that steem.inc was stepping down did kick start some things. Which is great. The Steem Community does feel more responsible now than ever before.
We suddenly do consider it ours :)

How much time do spend per day on Steem, or per week?

Howdy tonight sir fullcoverbetting! Do you have as much confidence in Steem as you do in Steemit?

As far as the hours I spend, it's way too much but it depends on the week. For instance last week our internet went down for most of two days so I wrote the week off, thinking it would give someone else a chance to win. But it didn't go down until Wednesday and I had three really good days in. I just tried to maintain by commenting the minimal amount and put off alot the last day or two.

But it just so happened that none of the other commenters had a big week so I won accidently but I was working outside alot all week. So it just depends on what I have going on and since my wife started working I have more things to take care of so less time for Steemit.

But if I have a day that I don't have to go somewhere or work outside then I probably put in 12-13 hours which is crazy but I do get addicted to talking to people! lol. That's the fun part. It would be super easy if I didn't have to post everyday but those take too long too, 2 to 4 hours when you include the research.

What about you? And are you on any of the other sites like Weku? Everyone is trying to get me to Weku.

For me its about accumulating steem at this stage and even though USD payments are down the amount of steem you get is probably the same or better.
If you're here and cash out steem for usd or try to live from your earnings then you'll be having a tough time.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

It's a conundrum, as the LESS quality posts I read, the LESS I want to stay. I feel a responsibility to create reasonable content still. I see some good writers writing LESS which makes me sad.

Posted using Partiko Android

This story was recommended by Steeve to its users and upvoted by one or more of them.

Check @steeveapp to learn more about Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface.

However, with fewer people blogging on the platform, there should be more rewards coming for those of us who are still here.

I am confused by this as well.
I guess the question is, are there more or less overall articles and upvotes in total?

Yes and now. The lesser people are active the more Steem stays in the reward pool. But the more chance you will have that somebody will discover and upvote your post!
Each day the same amount (minus inflation) is put into the reward pool. Depending on how much SP you have, your upvote will be a part of this reward pool. So yes, the lesser people who are active, the bigger your upvote will be.
But don't forget that lot's of people maybe did leave steem but are still handing out upvote, via vote selling or automatice voting.

I wonder if there is a way to track how much auto-vote/vote selling is going on.

Guess that this will be hard to track! Vote selling maybe can be counted but I doubt it that auto voting can be tracked!

The people who are upvoting are less on sp and the falling Steem prices were resulted on low rewards...but even with downtime being regular on steem means, money is not the only reason but being with community is more interesting thing

Posted using Partiko Android

The community is indeed what keeps on going. But I really do believe that we are earning now more steem than one year ago.
The upvote values did decrease, but it is much cheaper to get steem. You can see it in my answer on this post!

Earnings in steem vs earnings in USD, depending on the units the charts look quite different.

I will also mention that I personally bought a lot of SBI shares, and so thats how I currently maintain a relatively high post value.

SBI shares are at the moment indeed pretty cheap! Enjoy the upvotes. Programs like this do keep people on board!
Cheers,
Peter

did you look at how much steem, sp and sbd were paid out in your comparison? With the price of steem down, your crypto earnings are up while your USD earnings are down. I know mine are.

100% correct. This is the easiest moment of earning Steem. I keep on telling people that they need to look at the rewards in steem not in Dollars.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17