Felt Cute. Might Do Wild Shit Later, IDK

in #rewilding5 years ago

signal-2019-09-10-083704.jpg
PC: @burntoblog

Legs covered in mud that probably kept the poison ivy off. Drinking water from the creek (yeah, filtered). Finding new places. Moving in new ways. Overcoming obstacles, both physical and mental. Cuts, scrapes, and bruises too.

All part of my rewilding path so far

@burntoblog: I wonder if you could track down the owners of this place and get them to pay you to manage this place.
Me: Why? I'm gonna do it anyways.
Btb: 'Cause then you don't need your job and can be out here all the time.
Me: 🤯 #newplan

signal-2019-09-10-083704-1.jpg
Also from BTB

We found a new spot on Monday after being out shooting, smoking, drinking, and talking all night on Sunday. @burntoblog got a couple hours of shitty sleep, and I got nada. All good though, we were doing tribe shit that really needed done. Regenerative deprivation.

We went to the woods the normal route. I showed him the swimming hole and spa and the three spots I'm actively working at. Then down to the Beaver dam, which I didn't want to pass because of the fleas on the far ledge. I've gotten them on me every time I've been there, and there's not much in this world that I hate more than fleas. BTB suggested going around the other side of the dam by the peach tree. Sure enough, no fleas! New paths were paved, and new places were accessed. Lots to think on, but not much to act on yet. I'm pretty well stocked with chores in my one area right now. I've only got two to six hours a week that I can count on there.

IMG_20190906_101546751.jpg
The Dam

Last week's work was finding three wild peach trees and clearing the thorns off of them to use as an erosion guard by the creek.

Before:
IMG_20190906_095245423.jpg

Note how far that nearest peach tree springs up when freed of the thorny vines. If they were a productive plant, I'd think twice about cutting them so drastically.

After:
IMG_20190906_113933748.jpg

The retention stakes were almost hard to find, but the beaver dam had em. I gathered a few beyond my need because there'll certainly be more of the same type of project. The goal is to catch sediment and leaf litter to build soil and slow down water. I forget which OG permie it was that said something like when you slow down water, you support life. Probably Geoff Lawton, but I don't recall. That's the idea here: slow things down a bit and let em soak in instead of washing everything off the edge.

IMG_20190906_100939444.jpg

There's the ladder (complete with nails) and the big bag of trash I packed out. Before the ladder, I was having to swing around a little ledge. It was easy enough to go that route, but was contributing a little too much to erosion. Eventually that path wouldn't be usable. This fixes that and gives me an opportunity to work with some native materials.

I wonder if I could really get paid to do this...

What would something like this be called as a formal occupation? Wildcrafting? Wildscaping? Naturescaping? Natural management? Interesting to think about... Maybe one day... Until then, I can post about it on steem and get paid that way.

All action for the good of all.

Nate.


Recent projects:
Sustainable Volunteering
The Holistic Church
Permaculture Chickens Fundition

coopbadgevendor.png
Purchase sustainably produced seeds, textiles, medicines, and more for SBD from @homesteaderscoop at The Homesteader's Co-op Online Marketplace!

Adobe_Post_20190907_083742.png
Follow @naturalmedicine and join the Natural Medicine discord channel today and come grow and learn with us!

Sort:  

I like that one for sure. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @hafizullah on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Thanks for stopping by @hafizullah!

This sounds like into the wild but less dramatic; without the ( poisonous ) mushrooms and a digital diary. Inspiring stuff!

Much less dramatic! Hopefully it stays that way. Though there was a nice storm and flood while I was out a couple weekends ago. That was refreshing and a blast to observe and work through.

Posted using Partiko Android

That would be such a perfect job for you! But doing it just to do it is pretty awesome in its own right. And it sounds like so much fun!

I really enjoy being out there.

Not sure how that'd work as far as pay. $X a month? Per trip? Performance based? How would any of it be measured? If I were to seek payment though, I'd likely need to stop now and go after it. Which isn't happening :)

Maybe on a different place, after I've learned a bit about what I'm doing. I'm still super new to this approach.

Posted using Partiko Android

@nateonsteemit, It's reflecting as you've went for a Jungle Exploration session.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yessir, I like to make a little post about my forest adventures every weekend. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Enjoy your forest adventures.

Posted using Partiko Android

Looking at your crouched posture I seriously imagined you're having a wild shit! Very healthy as well! 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha! I should. I'll try it out next time :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71288.26
ETH 3580.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77